We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved this place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bumbles Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bumbles Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loved this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Me and boyfriend was here in the summer,had such a great stay! We loved the living room so cozy and homely and the kitchen is sooo clean. Rooms are also nice and we loved the balcony bit outside with the barbeque :)

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank holly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    58
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
6
53
64
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed in Bumbles during the winter time and by far the warmest I stayed in as well.
Really nice clean rooms stunning view out of the room and really cosy lounge area.
The staff is really friendly and helpful.
Plus Free WiFi :)
I just can recommend it to everyone how is planning to stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hostel is a great place to stay, its just out of Queenstown itself but by no means out of the action, its a max 10 minute walk to the snow bus stop and all the action. The room was great, we stayed in room 3's double room, nice bed and warm room. However the bathroom situation could be better with only 1 shower and toilet for our room and the adjoining 6 bed dorm. overall good facilities and friendly staff

Room Tip: all rooms are great, room 3 dorm has great views, the double has no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melbstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

It was quite cold as I stayed here in the winter. But the room was very clean, decent beds. Depends on what type of room you get but the one I stayed in had an amazing view of the lake, its own bathroom, and it was cleaned daily. Great place to stay with friends. Good kitchen, helpful staff. Ten minute walk to town, and it was nice to be in a quiet spot away from all the crazy nightlife. Overall good experience here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and another one night a few days later in room 3, the twin room. As it was winter it was REALLY COLD in queenstown. It did not help that the room only had one small wall heater (those stuck on ones which only radiated within a 5cm radius). I was still cold under 3 layers of blankets and with full gear on including gloves and socks. The room was really NOT soundproof as well, voices carried over really loudly and clearly, and it did not help that someone decided to play the guitar at 11pm on one of the nights. Not good if you have to wake up early the next morning to do milford. The room was also pretty small, after putting two luggages in it there was barely space to walk. The mattress was also really sunk in. However towel and toiletries(packet of shampoo and a soap bar) was provided which was great.

The bathrooms are also located outside the complex (the room has its own separate entrance in the building. Hence going to the toilet involved stepping out of your room into the cold, going down a short flight of steps to get to the bathroom. It has no shelter as well so be prepared to get wet if it decides to pour.

However, although there were only two toilets and two showers, I have never had to queue and never saw anyone else using the toilets at the same time! My favourite shower was the one at the end which was HUGE, and it had a really good heater as well which was great in winter.

On the plus side, the staff (Fiona) was really good. She organised our check in on our last night as we were arriving late, and she wrote a small note for us in the envelope with our keys and wifi vouchers.

The atmosphere at the backpackers were mostly young people, and it seemed quite a party as compared to a cosy/quiet kind of settings. There were also girls from the nightclubs and bars entering out dining areas on certain nights to give up vouchers for the clubs etc. If you are not a party or social animal it does feel a bit awkward. We barely stepped into the lounge when we were there as well as it was a bit rowdy with all the drinking and all, and there were too many people - it just felt too intimidating.

Location wise, it was great. On the edge of the lake, and it is just a few minutes walk to the bus stop where you can catch the bus straight to the airport. It takes about 10-15mins walk to the Naked bus stop at Athol street.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayymine197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Even if you get a private room you'll need headphones to drown out the drunken screaming. Rooms are cosy enough. In the mornings you'll need navigate your way through mountains of bright underwear, old sandwiches, tubes of acne cream and cheap make-up - bring a compass and a stun gun.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

One thing we loved the most during our five nights stay at Bumbles is the beautiful scenery of Lake Wakatipu. Lake Wakatipu is just across the street. The location is considered good as most of the places such as Central Queenstown, Fergburger, park, and Skyline Queenstown etc. can be reached in walking distance. Queenstown is never dull, it is so lovely and lively.
We stayed in private room, Room 3, and it had its own entrance - we found it more convenient, unlike other private rooms which shared entrance with the dorms. The room was small yet clean and lovely. One drawback is that the kitchen was so crowded most of the time. However, plenty of dining options available in walking distance from Bumbles. The complimentary free WiFi access upon booking activities with Bumbles appeared to be slow at certain hours. Overall, it worth staying as the room price is really affordable and reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#20 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#6 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#16 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumbles Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumbles Backpackers

Property: Bumbles Backpackers
Address: Cnr of Lake Esplanade & Brunswick Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a small, relaxed & friendly place to stay in Queenstown with spectacular views, a waterfront location and free Wi-Fi, this is it! Just a 2 minute stroll to downtown, we are a small laid back place to stay where you'll some meet great people and get some sleep! "This popular hostel is colourfully decorated. Its prime lakefront location near the heart of town ensures excellent views and easy access to the best of Queenstown. It's an easy going spot, with a quieter more laid back vibe compared to other larger hostels around town." Lonely Planet ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing