We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aspen Lodge Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
116 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We only spent 1 night in Aspen Lodge Backpackers, nice reception, clean, well located in town. We had a double room which bathroom is only shared with another room. And there are 2 kitchens and common rooms in 2 different bldgs (dorm / private room) so it would not be crowd at anytime. The only cons would be no view as other backpackers that located next to the lake.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tofudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    33
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
57
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed in Aspen Lodge for 3 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We think that we got our money's worth. Since we stayed there during a not so "peak" a season, we stayed in a 5-bedroom dorm paying for the rate of a 10-bedroom dorm. The hosts/ receptionists were very kind and gracious. They were very helpful whenever we had requests and questions. Aspen lodge also has a very good location. It is near the town center, about a 5 min walk, yet far enough to be quiet and kind-of isolated so you can have good nights rest. The bathroom is clean. Beds are comfortable. There is enough space in the room that is furnished with a fridge and kichen sink and cupboards. The separate kitchen area/lounge is very nice and clean. Tea, coffee sugar is supplied for everyone. In conclusion... stay here people!! haha It's a very good backpacker accommodation! We recommend it highly!
--Iza from Philippines and Thanat from Thailand

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cin262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noosa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Thanks to TA we found this great place. Mandy and Sally are the most welcoming hosts, full of info and so passionate about helping their guests in every way possible. One of our kids got sick and they changed the whole ski day trip we had already booked and paid for to another day, which meant calling 3 different places last minute. No problem for those 2 girls! They even lend us warm cloves so we didn't have to hire them. There was no other place in Queenstown we could have stayed for under $140 for 4 people. We had 2 separate bed rooms and shared a toilet/ shower between the 4 of us. Kitchen was shared with only a few other guests. The dorms are in a different building with another kitchen. Also very nice. Everything you needed was supplied. Fresh kitchen towels and bathrooms cleaned every day - in a back packers! It felt more like a 4 * hotel. No noise. Perfectly located within walking distance between town center and the big local supermarket and wonderful Mediterranean Market. Thank you for making our stay in Queenstown special!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schatzieNoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed at Aspen for four nights and has been a very pleasant stay.. Located within walking dist to the town.. Most importantly, Donna, one of the duty manager has been really helpful and friendly.. Assisted us with the bookings of the trips and activities and gave detailed recommendations on what to do, eg the Nevis bungy which I did!! Was a good one (thanks a lot Donna!!) :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonN82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I have stayed here twice in both my visits to queenstown and i ll definitely be back. We stayed in a double room and the bed is huge! There is more than enough space in the room and i liked that we have bathrooms for every 2 rooms. Having 2 separate buildings with kitchens and common rooms for dorms and the rooms is a great idea as our stay was so comfortable and the kitchen/common room wasnt crowded at all! We cant believe we paid backpacker rates for hotel quality rooms! The receptionists are really nice girls and one of them even remembered me during my 2nd stay. We loved this place and will recommend our friends to stay here!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get the double room/twin rooms. You only share bathrooms with another room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keiliiliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We got a very nice warm welcome, Sally really take good care about us when we arrived, very helpfull and let us easy borrow things we missed for free. The room was big and nice bedm you can see they think very well in detail for the room as well for the bathroom.
The shared room and kitchen (there are 2) had a warm feeling beautifull view on the mountains. felt home and wanted to live there. Definately comming back there, Chris and Tong

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank incobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I was really impressed by how clean the bathrooms were and just how warm the heater was. Even in snowy weather, I was super warm in the rooms and the heater dried my socks in 10 min. The lounges are very warm too. The people at the front desk are super nice! They had knew the Queenstown tours and activities inside and out and had great recommendations. The free internet with each tour booking was a major plus too.

Location-wise, it's great. It's only a 2 min walk into town, which makes it easy to take your luggage to the bus stop (don't take the $20 airport shuttle, the bus is only $6 to the airport).

The other guests here were super awesome. It's a small hostel with rather small lounges so you get to know everyone really well. They were very nice, respectful, interesting people. My stay here was probably the best hostel experience I've ever had. I loved how everything was on such a personal level, something you don't usually get with some of the larger hostels. Next time I'm in Queenstown, I'm definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eskimopie155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#6 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hippo Lodge Backpackers
Hippo Lodge Backpackers
#48 of 90 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Lodge Backpackers
Alpine Lodge Backpackers
#74 of 90 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Backpackers

Property: Aspen Lodge Backpackers
Address: 11 Gorge Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Lodge Backpackers offers clean, comfortable accommodation in a warm friendly environment. Situated in the heart of Queenstown we are ideally located for supermarket, shops and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aspen Lodge Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing