We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stayover lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aspen Lodge Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent stayover lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Really great lodge. Basic but clean and comfy rooms and excellent lounge facilities. very friendly staff and reasonable rates. Would definitely recommend as a base to explore Queenstown and the surrounding areas..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    32
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
57
35
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Great location close to the center but quiet
Clean rooms and facilities
Great recommendations about activities
I will come back and recommend the lodge to all my friends
Nice staff and managers willing to help and answer any question

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TZ111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

This hostel was probably one of the best hostels we've stayed at in New Zealand! The double room was located in a separate building away from the main hostel, which housed the dormitories. Not only did we have a bathroom that we shared with only one other double room, but we also had our own kitchen and lounge area! The hostel was immaculately clean at all times and the kitchen was incredibly well stocked with good knives/pots and pans. About the room itself, Two words: KING SIZE BED! Plus the room itself was huge. The red book located in the room with activity recommendations was a huge plus. Bravo guys!

Our hosts were incredibly accommodating and allowed us to store our luggage and come back later to pick up our food that we stored in the refrigerator. The staff can help you with booking recommendations and will even give you some free wifi if you book activities with them!

The staff at Aspen lodge know what they're doing. 5 stars!!

Room Tip: The double room is a great value if you're traveling as a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonandPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I stayed at Aspen Lodge for 3 nights and it was great. Its in a good location, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Queenstown and all the attractions. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - it was mostly Mandy when I was there and she goes out of her way to help people and is always smiling. I had a double room with shared bathroom (shared with only one other room) which was very comfortable and clean. The only problem, as someone else has pointed out, is the self-locking door, so you always have to remember to keep your key with you. The private rooms are in a separate block to the dorms and have their own kitchen/lounge area. This was really nice and not too crowded. The kitchen was fine, except the fridge didn't have a freezer compartment. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend Aspen Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Located far enough from the city center not to be involved into night life, this not so big backpacker is the youth inn definition.

The location is perfect : not far from the supermarket, not far from the city center, not far from the hill, not far from the bus.

The rooms - I was in a 6 beds dorm - are relatively comfortable, and the private fridge and bathroom is a nice touch. Maybe a bit noisy, but nice. Nice as the price, which is very cheap for Queenstown.

Sadly, the kitchen seems too small, and seriously lacks of decent pans and cooking pots. Well, not a big deal, but making pancakes becomes seriously tough.

But the staff is helpful and friendly, and there you can book for some of the numerous activities Queenstown has to offer. Everything is clean, and the WiFi is cheap (12$ for unlimited 7 days access is very nice). A nice stop if you're just passing by Queenstown, and not staying for long.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solomai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ziqim, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Pros:
1. Superb location - two blocks from the i-site and city center.
2. The staff is friendly and helpful.
3. Discounts \ benefits when booking attractions from reception.
4. Free parking space, we were allowed to park beyond checkout time.

Cons - mainly small annoyances:
1. The rooms are self-locking. This means that you must take the key with you, even for a night latrine (in double-bed shared bathroom). If you forgot it, you're locked outside your room - and the staff isn't on premises at night.
2. Uncomfortable mattresses.
3. The double bedroom shared-bathroom suites have a small kitchen above the room, shared with the other suite. The kitchen floor is made of squeaky wood, and the steps of the other guests making early breakfast woke us up early.

All in all - it's a nice place, don't feel bad about going there for a night or two - but beware of the small inconveniences.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamMatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

This is a great spot in Queenstown. We had a private room ($70) and stayed several nights. There are two lounges and kitchens - a large one for the dorm rooms and a smaller set in a separate building where the private rooms are. This was great because the private room area wasn't very crowded. Everything was clean, there are lots of movies to watch on rainy days and its located just a few blocks from the center of town - 2 minutes to walk to everything you need, including a grocery store. Mandy was extremely helpful by storing our bags and helping us plan adventures.

Room Tip: For two people the private room at $70 was worth the few extra dollars compared to a dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#6 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hippo Lodge Backpackers
Hippo Lodge Backpackers
#46 of 90 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Lodge Backpackers
Alpine Lodge Backpackers
#74 of 90 in Queenstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
#10 of 90 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Lodge Backpackers

Property: Aspen Lodge Backpackers
Address: 11 Gorge Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Lodge Backpackers offers clean, comfortable accommodation in a warm friendly environment. Situated in the heart of Queenstown we are ideally located for supermarket, shops and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aspen Lodge Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing