We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine dinning?????!!!!!! really!!!!!!!!?????”

Gantleys Restaurant
Ranked #68 of 261 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fine dinning?????!!!!!! really!!!!!!!!?????”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

the most important thing the place is beautiful, remiends me mugartiz in spain.
when we arrived they offerd as a drink, we choose french bubbles( no bubbles and $30.- each glass)
the dinner: we went for the 6 curse degustation menu ( SORBET IS NOT A DISH!!!!!!!!!!!!!, so it was really 5)
the table we sat, the window was mash, first the gave me the wine list and 10 min later the food menu!!!!
they put all the forks and knifes togueter, the table was completly full of things
never intruduce the wine and never explain the food
the food: not clasic, old fashion is the rigth word, and the dessert, hahahahah terrible, ice cream not home made in a fine dinning, not acceptable!!!!!
so i am not going back

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustavo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    62
    33
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice to get out of the Queenstown "scene"”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We wanted to have a nice dinner with my Mom outside of the Queenstown CBD, and read about Gantley's - nice setting, good food and Wine Spectator -awarded wine list.Great! We arrived and were greeted by the owner and promptly asked if we would like to go right to the table or relax at the bar first. We opted for the bar. My husband ordered a martini- he said it is the best tasting and size he has had in NZ!- and as Mom doesn't drink, she was offered a virgin cocktail of her choice - nice. I opted for a glass of wine. The restaurant was quiet, which was fine with us, and we enjoyed the time to chat before dinner.
Upon seating, we were offered the winelist (big book!) and time to review that and the menu. We never felt rushed. The lowlights and highlights of the food were this: Lowlights = Mom and I split the caesar salad, and it was absolutely the worst one (and I have had MANY all over the world) we had ever had - it wasn't served using romaine (baby cos) and even worse was the dressing - absolutely no taste- no egg, no anchovies, no garlic, nothing! We should have sent it back, but didn't. On the other hand, the highlight was Mom's lamb (I had a bite). It was absolutely perfectly prepared and tasted amazing (and I'm not even a big lamb fan). Also on the highlights, the red wine was served at the proper cellar temperature - a rarity not only in NZ, but in many countries. It's always appreciated when a restaurant gives as much care to their wine as they do to their food. I would definitely recommend the restaurant for a relaxing, tasty change from the Queenstown scene.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winegirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but didn't live up to expectations”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Living in Queenstown, I'd heard great things about Gantleys for months before we tried it. It was very good but did not live up to the hype. We'd gone to celebrate our friends anniversary and didn't really feel the restaurant went the extra mile like some other high end restaurants in Queenstown do. The service was very average, the food was good and the atmosphere was awful so all in all not the best experience for a celebratory meal.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Taylor635536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well beyond expectations”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We got married in Queenstown and Gantleys catered both our wedding venue at our reception dinner. In both instances we were surprised if not stunned with the professionalism and generosity of the service.

Brent was easily and efficient to deal with and incredibly straight up. I imagine he’s seen more weddings than he cares to remember but still made a huge effort with ours.

The service at the wedding venue was impeccable – with generous quantities of canapés and efficient professional staff. I suspect they left our wedding venue in a cleaner condition than they found it.

For the reception our plan was simple – to stick to what Gantleys did best – the 5 course degustation with matching wines. We weren’t disappointed. The service - once again top class. Each course came out at the same time for all 70 guests. Timing between each course was perfect- not too long, not too rushed .

Water and wine glasses were always full – while we suspected we were given more wine than we had originally agreed … we never saw this on the bill. Each course - beautifully presented and consistently high quality….

On time, under budget and exceptional quality. What more could we have asked for?

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MacPacTrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Best place in Q'town if you've got some$$ to burn”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Our evening was completely perfect. 1 Couple from NYC, the other1/2 in NZ & 1/2 in the states. It was a delight.did the degustation menu, it was incredible.our waitstaff was new to the job, but her charming way overcame her flaws, if any.we loved every course, & asked not to be pushed so we could enjoy the evening( they followed our wishes perfectly) would recommend this over so many other $$$$ places in Q'town. Free transport from town, as well. They just need to advertise more.we only found it cause we drove by.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hafkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gantleys Restaurant also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Gantleys Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing