We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best ribs EVER”

Flame Bar and Grill
Ranked #22 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$29
Cuisines: African, Barbecue, Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: With some of the best views in Queenstown, Flame is Queenstown's unique African grill-house. Flame, a small family owned steak house offers quality food and excellent service in a vibrant and intimate setting. This is a dining experience not to be missed. All our beef is grass fed from Southland and Otago and is aged for up to 6 weeks then flame-grilled in our secret basting resulting in it's unique flavour. Racks of ribs are served on a board and come supplied with a flame bib!! Seafood, chicken and vegetarian options are also catered for. Make sure you leave space for a Dom Pedro!! Flame will bring out the carnivore in you. Discover the taste of South Africa - A rare steakhouse, well done!
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best ribs EVER”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

this place had the best ribs we have ever had and i mean EVER....you must book in advance or be disappointed, we were lucky enough to get the last table available but we saw so many people turned away because there was no space so reservations MUST BE MADE......service was great they were busy but still managed to keep everyone happy and everyones meals coming out quickly

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sudall18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,500
    572
    160
    62
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ribs!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

What a meal! My first experience at Flame & deffo won't be my last! I have told many of my friends about the amazing ribs & they are a must!! Great atmosphere & service from our server Hugo. See you again soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EBozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, location and food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great service, staff were very well trained and professional. The food here is amazing. We all had the mixed grill, huge portions (we took the rest home), and the best ribs ever.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank po_tds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food, hence bookings are essential!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by a taxi driver, but it's so good there's no dropping in - you def have to book in advance! We had delicious ribs - they were so BIG my husband and I shared it with a side each. He ordered the mushrooms for entrée and said they were fabulously delicious! There's NO WAY hubby or I could have eaten all of the ribs by ourselves, but our mate did and thoroughly enjoyed it. The servings are HUGE. Our friend's wife had the steak and even though it was a small serving (very thick) she said it was the best steak she'd ever had!! It's well worth the visit if you are in Queenstown :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaisa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Back again for Queenstown's best steak and ribs”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This restaurant always delivers as a great family restaurant with great kids meals as well as fantastic steaks and ribs. The winelist has plenty of Central Otago wines and the steak are engaged and happyto be showing you a good time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrewtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flame Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Flame Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing