We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the journey”
Review of Kingston Flyer - CLOSED

Kingston Flyer
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
430 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Worth the journey”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The drive from Queenstown takes about 40 minutes but then you can relax and enjoy a round trip on this old steam train for a couple of hours. It has an interesting history which you can uncover at Kingston station whist enjoying a coffee in the cafe before leaving. We went into the guards van for the first leg and watched the track disappear behind us and then switched to the other end of the train for the return journey where you can actually stand outside the carriage. Pleased we decided to return straight back rather than hang around Fairlight for a few hours as there is nothing there that we could see except the station. The footplate crew are happy to let you climb up to take picture of the engine from inside and our guard for the ride, Gloria, was so friendly she helped make the trip

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    21
    11
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“ripped off”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We pre booked online and paid our money only to get a email reply to say the flyer was not working.
The email advised to contact to change the date, I emailed to advise we were only there for xmas and wanted a refund.
With no answer we decided to visit the site to get our money back
It was closed with no conact details
When we returned to Australia we rang and sent more emails and have had NO RESPONSE
Please be warned about prebooking this company

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MSH35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We were touring in the area and saw the unmistakable smoke and steam of a vintage locomotive. We were able to see the train, but not to ride this time. The station at Kingston has a very good tea room / restaurant. As well as taking the trip, you can see the servicing and turning of the beautifully restored 1927 locomotive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Steamtrain”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The Kingston Flyer is a fabulous train and beautifully restored. You can walk through the train and take pictures for a small donation. There are options to go for a ride in second class or go first class with a drink and a meal. We thought these options were a bit expensive but if you were a steam buff you would want to do it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrishCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Marvellous time”
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Mrs and I did the platter option which put us on the 1st class seats with a fine amount of finger food and a bottle of sparkling wine. The ride took us half an hour to Fairlight, half an hour stopped there and half an hour back, all the while looking at mountains and meadows from our comfortable compartment. The one thing to be careful of is filling your glass too full during the more wobbly sections of the line. An excellent trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank RogerParkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kingston Flyer also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing