We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Interlude”
Review of 5 Star Lane

5 Star Lane
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
5 Star Lane
Ranked #33 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Delightful Interlude”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Hosts Merlin and Ray were as warm and welcoming as their lovely home when we stayed here in September 2011. The views were quite spectacular. Every comfort and every amenity had been thought of down to the lovely toiletries and any personal preference requested. The food was delicious, wholesome and the choice amazing. Merlin and Ray were very knowledgeable and couldn't have been more helpful especially with activity reservations to which they had access. Merlin is even prepared to provide a laundry service which is most welcome when on a long trip but maybe the charges might bear review as they don't at this point include ironing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisb5491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at the 5 Star Lane, Queenstown NZ in September 2011. The location was fantastic and the views stunning. The accommodation was excellent as we had access to the lounge with a warm fire and TV access. The room and ensuite were of a very high standard. Merlin and Ray were excellent hosts and gave us extremely good local knowledge. The breakfasts were extremely delicious. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise_Y255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

I stayed here in April 2011 with my husband and our 16 month old daughter. The house itself is lovely and is in a great location, especially if you are travelling with a small child as it is just outside of the main town. The views are spectacular. The house has everything you will require and you have a main living area generally to yourself, although I imagine this changes if more than one room is occupied. The breakfasts were satisfying and the hosts were more than accommodating. Our bed was very hard which my husband did not like but I found this fine and some of the furniture was perhaps in need of updating, I think a DVD player with a selection of DVD's would be highly recommended for the lounge area, but this is coming from a couple who have a young child so could not go out in the evenings once she was asleep and prefer not to watch TV, we would have loved the opportunity to watch a DVD (rather than a video).

Overall we enjoyed our stay in Queenstown and were generally happy with the accommodation at 5 star Lane, I think we were perhaps somewhat spoiled during the rest of our trip and this may have clouded our judgement a little.

Merlin and Ray were always extremely helpful and were wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carleywhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

This is an exquisite house, phenomenal view (it'w really as good as it looks on the Internet, but better when you are actually there), fabulous hosts, great food. It is the best. Don't miss staying there.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pybmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

The view of the water and the mountains from the shared living area and huge deck of this lovely bed and breakfast takes your breath away. The hosts, a husband and wife, and their two standard poodles are very welcoming; they make you feel at home immediately. They are very knowledgeable about the area and suggest fun things to do and can recommend good restaurants in Queenstown. Their breakfasts are great; eggs if you want, plus other tasty and healthy treats. The rooms have wifi, and are spotlessly clean. We extended our stay at 5 Star Lane by a day because we didn't want to leave. We vacationed in New Zealand for almost a month and it was an incredible trip; 5 Star Lane was one of the highlights and we will definitely stay there again, and for a longer time. We've stayed in many B&Bs and highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StormyandMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Merlin and Raymond (and their two dogs) made us most welcome, from the initial tea and (freshly baked) buns as soon as we arrived, to booking trips for us so we could pay everything in one go at the end of our stay. It is up a hill on a small road overlooking Queenstown and the mountains; take care over pulling into the parking area under the house, it may require a practice run at it – no problem when we were used to it.
We stayed four nights and had the corner room, which does not have the full-on view of Queenstown of their other room, but still has a great views from the corner window, and the patio outside is very private. Comfy bed, quiet, spacious en-suite bathroom, a lounge to look at the views, and just very, very comfortable and relaxed.
It is at the higher price end for a B&B, but we considered it was worth it, for the attention we got, the quality of the accommodation, free wifi, the breakfasts (wonderful) and views of Queenstown and the surroundings.
Merlin even shipped an electronic unit I had left behind the same day to our next B&B, so we had it before we moved on. Thanks, Merlin.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank excel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

What can I say about 5 Star Lane. It is a 4+ starred Qualmark spot but it deserves six stars in my book. The owners, Merlin and Ray Sansom, are the most interesting, concerned, and delightful hosts and they have two wonderful female standard poodles, Alice (white) and Boodi (black), who were excellent companions. The views from the guest bedrooms (only two) and the guest lounge to the lake are spectacular. The breakfasts were wonderful -- with many options and lots to eat. The house was custom built for the purpose on a piece of property that while vertiginous is well located and surrounded by lovely plantings. The property is not large, but the views more than make up for any lack of outdoor garden space, and the large deck open to the lake gives guests plenty of room to just sit and enjoy take out with a glass of wine in the evening. Ray and Merlin love the area, and know it well, and can make excellent suggestions about places to eat, things to do, activities, etc. And those poodles... what can I say, I am a sucker for well-behaved dogs and poodles are at the top of my list. As did all the best hosts in New Zealand, Ray has a short list of outstanding, reasonably priced, and carefully selected, local wines on offer in case you arrive late on your first evening and wish to purchase a bottle to drink out on the deck as the sun goes down. Alice and Boodi may keep you company -- a perfect evening.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cancertourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
1.1 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,072 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5 Star Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5 Star Lane

Property: 5 Star Lane
Address: 5 Star Lane, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 5 Star Lane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the magnificent view from your own special corner of our home. Your luxurious bedroom has your choice of a super king or twin beds, spacious ensuite, individually controlled heating/cooling and private patio. Make yourself at home in the guest lounge/dining room with its stunning lake and mountain views.Take time to relax and unwind after enjoying the many activities Queenstown has to offer. Make the most of our personal attention and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your 5 Star Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing