We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful attention to detail and stunning views”
Review of 5 Star Lane

5 Star Lane
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
5 Star Lane
Ranked #33 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Warwickshire
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Wonderful attention to detail and stunning views”
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Merlin and Raymond (and their two dogs) made us most welcome, from the initial tea and (freshly baked) buns as soon as we arrived, to booking trips for us so we could pay everything in one go at the end of our stay. It is up a hill on a small road overlooking Queenstown and the mountains; take care over pulling into the parking area under the house, it may require a practice run at it – no problem when we were used to it.
We stayed four nights and had the corner room, which does not have the full-on view of Queenstown of their other room, but still has a great views from the corner window, and the patio outside is very private. Comfy bed, quiet, spacious en-suite bathroom, a lounge to look at the views, and just very, very comfortable and relaxed.
It is at the higher price end for a B&B, but we considered it was worth it, for the attention we got, the quality of the accommodation, free wifi, the breakfasts (wonderful) and views of Queenstown and the surroundings.
Merlin even shipped an electronic unit I had left behind the same day to our next B&B, so we had it before we moved on. Thanks, Merlin.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank excel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

What can I say about 5 Star Lane. It is a 4+ starred Qualmark spot but it deserves six stars in my book. The owners, Merlin and Ray Sansom, are the most interesting, concerned, and delightful hosts and they have two wonderful female standard poodles, Alice (white) and Boodi (black), who were excellent companions. The views from the guest bedrooms (only two) and the guest lounge to the lake are spectacular. The breakfasts were wonderful -- with many options and lots to eat. The house was custom built for the purpose on a piece of property that while vertiginous is well located and surrounded by lovely plantings. The property is not large, but the views more than make up for any lack of outdoor garden space, and the large deck open to the lake gives guests plenty of room to just sit and enjoy take out with a glass of wine in the evening. Ray and Merlin love the area, and know it well, and can make excellent suggestions about places to eat, things to do, activities, etc. And those poodles... what can I say, I am a sucker for well-behaved dogs and poodles are at the top of my list. As did all the best hosts in New Zealand, Ray has a short list of outstanding, reasonably priced, and carefully selected, local wines on offer in case you arrive late on your first evening and wish to purchase a bottle to drink out on the deck as the sun goes down. Alice and Boodi may keep you company -- a perfect evening.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cancertourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Stayed at several places in NZ. This one tied for the best B and B I have ever stayed at.... ever! The views were spectacular and the hosts were AMAZING! So helpful, kind, and generous. They even picked up my luggage for me and held up the bus 45 minutes for my trip to Te Anau because my flight was late. They go the extra mile in everything.

Wonderful place to stay! I highly recommend it. Yummy breakfast each morning, comfortable suites, etc. Everything is thought about here.

The only downfall is it is not right in the town center, so if you don't have a car, be prepared to do some walking (although they generously took me a couple of places as well).

Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank GoingSolo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Our stay in this B&B was 5 star true to its name. The breakfast was delicious and the rooms were clean and neat. The lounge was warm with a fireplace. The view from the deck is beautiful and straight out of a picture book! The hosts are friendly and so are their dogs. Would definitely recommend this for a stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geek-indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Merlin Raymond and the two dogs make you most wecome in their home; everything is homely and the breakfasts are home made and delicious;the setting is fabulous with The Remarkables straight out of the window and the lake below; very helpful with places to visit and to eat

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WARWICKWANDERERS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2009

A great place to stay in Queenstown. All of our expectations were exceeded, from the room and lounge area with fireplace to the wonderful breakfasts. The view from the room was spectacular. Merlin, our hostess, was extremely gracious and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperSteeler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2009

We were enthusiastically welcomed by Boodi and Alice (the family dogs) for few days stay in Queenstown. The view of lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables from the guest lounge is amazing. The rooms are comfortable and the ensuites have excellent showers. Merlin does a great breakfast with fresh scones served every morning. Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Queenstown wanting a comfortable, homely experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dj_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.1 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
Eichardt's Private Hotel
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oaks Shores
Oaks Shores
#42 of 58 in Queenstown
782 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
The Spire Hotel Queenstown
#17 of 58 in Queenstown
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Del Lago
Villa Del Lago
#4 of 58 in Queenstown
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 5 Star Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5 Star Lane

Property: 5 Star Lane
Address: 5 Star Lane, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 5 Star Lane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the magnificent view from your own special corner of our home. Your luxurious bedroom has your choice of a super king or twin beds, spacious ensuite, individually controlled heating/cooling and private patio. Make yourself at home in the guest lounge/dining room with its stunning lake and mountain views.Take time to relax and unwind after enjoying the many activities Queenstown has to offer. Make the most of our personal attention and advice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your 5 Star Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing