We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Inviting, Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Warm, Inviting, Comfortable”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

If you are looking for a warm, friendly, homely environment for your stay in Queenstown then look no further. We stayed at Bungi Backpackers for just over a week during mid July 2013 and we couldn't have asked for a better place to accommodate us. The combination of friendly, helpful staff alongside the welcoming fellow backpackers who we shared our many kiwi experiences with, was a combination that was unbeatable.
Clean, comfortable bedrooms with a cosy lounge area just down the hallway where many travellers gather together for movie marathons, board games or just simply to hang out or, for those who are keen for a night on the town and want to listen to music, a sun room conveniently placed just steps away from the fully equipped kitchen.
PLUS, FREE SOUP EVERY SINGLE NIGHT! What more could you want!?
I can confidently say that Bungi Backpackers is a place I would return to and refer to fellow travellers in the years to come. Thanks Bungi!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie_G_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Well what can I say apart from thanking you for being amazing guests. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your stay here in Queenstown and having you here at Bungi. I absolutely love the photo of you all at our front door of which, on any of your returns to Queenstown we would welcome you through with open arms. Guests like you are what makes our job so enjoyable. Thanks again from all of the Bungi Crew ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    50
    28
    23
    16
See reviews for
3
42
62
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Great value for money, cheapest and friendliest place in town. Good facilities, although kitchen and bathroom were outdated and old (recommend to use shower nearest the tv room-its the best one) they were kept clean. Not recommended for the flashpackers, come here to meet the real travellers. Staff were really helpful and always polite, especially lisa on reception. Free tea and soup were a godsend. Only a 3 min walk to town. Stayed here a few weeks last winter aswell and i wasnt cold once, radiators in all the rooms and halls so was toasty all night and day.

Room Tip: i stayed in the 7 bed dorm - nursery. its the cheapest one that isnt outside so you dont have to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, all feed back just helps us to make Bungi an even better hostel so we really do appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and decided to return. Our radiators really do keep us all nice and toasty which makes a welcome return after a cold day out and about in Queenstown during winter. That, along with our delicious free soup and a cuppa really sets you up for the evening. We are currently doing lots of renovating here at Bungi and improvements are in motion on a daily basis. We would welcome you back to experience an even better stay with us any day of the week ;) Thanks again, from all of us here at Bungi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Originally I had wanted to stay in a different hostel in Queenstown that I had stayed in previously but it was booked out so I went with Bungi backpackers as it was within my budget. I have to say that I don't think that this hostel is for everyone. I've been travelling in New Zealand for the past few weeks and I think that bungi backpackers is the poorest hostel I've stayed in so far.

We decided to stay in a double room and were put into one of the "cabins" outside which is not what I had originally booked. This was tiny and freezing, and it's actually quite noisy because it's close to the road. The bathrooms and showers are in the main building which was a bit annoying. When we asked if there were any other rooms/dorms available, the staff member didn't seem particularly interested in helping us and we ended up staying put. My negative experience of this hostel could just have been down to the freezing room out the back and I can't comment on the other rooms though.

The other main problem I had was that I thought that overall the hostel was not clean. This may have been down to there being just one staff member on at the time who was on reception and preparing rooms. The bathrooms were pretty dirty and on at least two occasions toilets were blocked/overflowed. In comparison to other places I've stayed, it's pretty tight on space in their rooms and also in the kitchen area. It's also a pretty old building and could do with a bit of a revamp especially the bathroom and kitchen. The lounge area was pretty nice and quirky. Overall, I think that you would be able to find something better in Queenstown for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your review.
The period that you stayed was one of our busiest times of the year and without a doubt, if we could have accommodated you and changed your room then we would have. Unfortunately we were fully booked, as was the rest of Queenstown.. Our cabins are classed as double rooms so if you booked a double room you were placed correctly, they also contain heaters, electric blankets, extra duvets and at reception we have hot water bottles free of charge so we do try our best to make winter here in Queenstown as comfortable as possible for everyone. The staff member that you are talking about was certainly not alone, we are proud of our team of cleaners here and take the cleanliness of our hostel very seriously, with regards to the blocked toilets to my knowledge this is not a common thing and if brought to any of our staffs attention would have been dealt with immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in the Shotover Room, we were 2 ppl and there were 2 beds so we had the room to ourselves. The people working there (Rachael and Debbie) were fantastic and we ended up pubbing with them on our last night there.

The showers were ok, the beds were good and the noise level wasn't bothersome. (Even if it had been loud, it's a hostel, so we didn't expect it to be as quiet as it was while we were there). We didn't use the kitchen so I can't comment on that, but all in all this is one of the places I'd love to come back to some day :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakoyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are so glad you had a good stay at Bungi. We are constantly improving our hostel and would welcome you back for an experience even better than the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox Glacier, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here at Bungi. The hostel was funky and had loads of character. The staff were amazing and when we had our luggage delayed off a flight they could not have been more helpful. Just what you need when you are far away from home. You also get free eveing soup which is great to warm you up after a day out in the cold. Excellent! Thanks Bungi, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so glad you had a good stay here at Bungi. We pride ourselves on our staff and always try to go that extra mile so I am extremely pleased we were able to help with your luggage. Our soup is very popular and yes, perfect on a cold day! We look forward to hosting your stay again if you are ever back in Queenstown. Thanks again, The Bungi Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morzine, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Myself and a friend stayed in the Bunji Backpackers Hostel, Queenstown, for 4 nights. As veterans in customer service and the travel and tourism industry we were appalled by the level of customer service provided by one of the reception staff. we were more than polite, as we are to everyone, however it didn't seem to make a difference when she had an issue with people staying in the hostel. On our first morning there I was up very early (jet lag), so helped her clean quite a few of the dirty dishes left in the kitchen. The following morning she burst into our room and accused us of not washing up after dinner last night - when in actual fact we left a fair amount in a pan to enjoy at breakfast, which of course she threw away.

Our biggest shock came after we had been on the house hunt all day and found an ideal place to move into permanently. That evening we approached her to ask about checking out early to, which she said no problem, and that we could have a full refund. This made us very happy as we needed money to live until we found jobs. That night around 30 people had a small pre-drinking party in the downstairs dorm. Granted it was rather loud, however we had ALL left for town by 11PM, we left sooner.

The next morning when we came to check out we were greeted by what i can only describe as the most pointless, fake, ridiculous excuse not to give us a refund for our last few days. We were told, by the same reception girl, that we had been a "nightmare" to have in the hostel and that we were being official kicked out - despite already been checked out of our room. She blamed the noise complaints on us and said we have become a bad influence on the rest of the Hostel. I would like to make it know that my friend and I had been jet lagged for at leave 3 of the four days we were in the hostel, and the only night we wernt in bed by 11:30/12:00 was our last night.

We were confused and very annoyed and managed to get HALF our money back. We were also told that others would be kicked out of the Hostel as she knows others were involved. NO SUCH THING OCCURRED. I have a very close family friend staying in that hostel who kept us up to date with what happened after we left. We were the only ones "kicked out"

My friend and I run high-end ski chalets in the european winter and know exactly the kind of attitude you must have towards paying guests. We were bewildered by how awful her attitude was to us and the rest of the Hostel. I'm sure you will be receiving many more complaints from the long-termers that have recently been asked to leave the hostel for no apparent reason but to make room for holiday makers. Is their money not as good or something?

It seemed to arise that the reason we were asked to leave is that it was still early-season, so beds were harder to fill. And now the season is picking up the hostel has 'no need' for long-termers as holiday makers will be passin through the hostel.

I have never written a complaint letter in my life, mainly as i know the consequences of them from working in customer service. However in this case i simply could not hold back.

Thank you Bunji Backpackers for ruining our first ever week in New Zealand. You should be ashamed of yourselves. Our advice - find better staff.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelFitz1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, we take each review very seriously.
Unfortunately the week in question was filled with disruptive behavior from our guests at the time, that resulted in a serious complaint, as you have already written in your review the said party was the cause of this serious complaint. Unfortunately here at Bungi our first priority is for everyone to have a good experience at our hostel and party's are only fun for the people involved. I am sorry that you have been misinformed by you friend but you were certainly not singled out.

In regards to the misunderstanding over your refund, accommodation agreed for and paid up front does not entitle you to one.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown and have a better experience in your new house share, unfortunately rules do need to be in place at our business in order for us to run it well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Everyone was friendly and helpful, the hostel is clean and spacious (and there's free soup at 6pm!) and the beds are clean and comfy. Good location for seeing what Queenstown has to offer, bit of a con having a steep hill to walk up but it's totally worth it when you get there. Home away from home, really hated leaving!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We are so pleased you had a good stay with us. Yes that hill can get your blood pumping, Queenstown is full of them unfortunately but with it also comes some beautiful views over the mountains that we are very lucky to have on our doorstep. Bungi certainly does that home away from home feel so if you are feeling homesick we would love to have you back!! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 90 in Queenstown
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Laughter Backpackers
Southern Laughter Backpackers
#38 of 90 in Queenstown
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Sheep Backpackers
The Black Sheep Backpackers
#28 of 90 in Queenstown
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
#6 of 90 in Queenstown
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers

Property: Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
Address: 15 Sydney Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing