We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, a bit scruffy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Centrally located hostel with clean rooms at cheap rates.
The backpacker its self is a bit scruffy and the crowd is young, which is a positive if you are looking to make new friends and looking for a place to stay for just a few days.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VinceW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiki W, Marketing Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

HI there. Thanks for the nice review. We are about to give our little backpacker a 'hair cut' to trim away the scruffy bits. We are very proud of the youngest Manager in our team and her commitment to making her guests stay the best she can. Arohanui (with much love)

Wiki Walker
Marketing Manager
on behalf of Bungi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were worried about the reviews saying the water was scalding--the shower faucet is sensitive, but there is a happy middle ground. We stayed in a private room that cost the same as the cheapest dorm! Great value. There were some rather boisterous guests, but they didn't keep us up. Very helpful and friendly staff!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waynea91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoha C, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for your positive review. We are happy to know that the effort that we put into providing a comfortable stay in the hostel is appreciated. This provides the motivation and inspires us in the work that we love. Arohanui (with much love)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I booked on internet 2 nights in a dorm and when i arrived there, my dorm room was already occupied by 3 guys: the bedroom smelt so bad and it was really messy, clothes and papers everywhere, no space at all to put my backpack. Common areas are dirty, and the place is really noisy, even after 10pm, and from 6am, some people speak lound in the common area. No respect for others customers. It's only a place for young people who just want to drink and have party....

Room Tip: go other hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thomas_pele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoha C, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

We are sad that you did not enjoy your stay at our backpacker. You are correct that our guests are mostly younger and tend to enjoy more of the laid back atmosphere and homely comforts of our hostel. We remain oneof - if not the cheapest backpackers in Queenstown and have somewhat of an iconic status here in town and around the world.

We are a dry hostel and do maintain that the noise settles from 10 pm onwards which most of our guests respect , however we do appreciate that some people are light sleepers and of a sensitive
persuasion. I hope you find accommodation more suited to your nature and wish you a happy new year. Arohanui (with much love)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Super nice and helpful staff! Manager just changed and gives the hostel a warmly touch.
Showers, Toilets and Rooms are Clean. Kitchen is fully staffed. Free Salt, Pepper and Sugar. Every day at 6pm free and tasty soup. Hostel is especially good for longtime stayers, feels like home ad very quiet during the night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoha C, Frontline Sales at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you very much Elli B for your kind review.

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Takoha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the "Expendables" room. The beds had marker writings and that just felt wrong, like in prison or something like that. Fridges smelt weird and looked dirty too... I guess YHA would be a better choice ...

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiki W, Public Relations Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

We encourage our guests to tell our staff about any issue they may have about their stay at our hostel. The hostel Manager of Bungi is very particular about the level of cleanliness and actually welcomes any feedback and comments to make sure that issues are addressed promptly. It is unfortunate that your experience with this great little place was not up to your level. I hope that your future accommodation experiences are happy ones:) Arohanui (With much love)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Me and my friend booked a twin room. It was tiny and the bed was very noisy. In the end, she moved her mattress onto the floor and slept better there. The rooms are separated by some cheaply made DIY wall from a dorm. Our room had a shared heater with the dorm next door. With next door being a tiny room with a bunch of guys, they got quite hot in there and kept turning the radiator off. This meant that our room was freezing, literally freezing so we could see our breath. We complained countless times to staff who were nice and told them to stop turning it off and turned it back on for us. They also came in the room and then gave us free hot water bottles. Sadly the people in the room next door kept turning the radiator off at 22.05 so reception had just closed and we had to have a night of being cold and it wouldn't be turned on again until we complained. This went on for the whole week we stayed. It wouldn't be an issue in the summer, but in winter it is cold in Queenstown.
Only bonus is free vege soup (which it appears every hostel in Queenstown does) and the staff were friendly.
Also this hostel is located up a steep hill.
Would recommend you stay at a hostel in the centre which are pretty much the same price!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bekaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoha C, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your review and we cannot apologise enough that this problem was reoccurring throughout your stay. I'm glad that you found our staff helpful in this matter and it is unfortunate that you didn't bring this to the attention of our night porter as he is on duty from 10pm until 8am..To my knowledge this has not been a problem before as guests generally do not play with our heating system and instead open a window if they are too hot. Thank you for bringing it to our attention though and we hope that our yummy free soup, friendly staff and the promise of a different twin room will be enough to tempt you back if you are ever in Queenstown again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I've stayed two nights here on two different occasions in two different dorms. It was quite welcoming and first impressions were good. Loved the free vegetable soup in the evening, the lovely lounge, the cool kitchen, facilities were clean and there are lots of interesting and quirky pieces of artwork to look at. I would definitely stay here again. No free internet, but the free soup makes up for this. Niggle #1 the spa pool is always out of order Niggle #2 and truly a minor one, the door of each dorm makes a loud clunk sound when it's closed, so I was woken several times in the night. I am a light sleeper tho, once again, this is a minor niggle as I think it's good that the door automatically locks itself.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for choosing to, on your return, stay with us again, we pride ourselves on our returning guests. Really glad to hear you enjoyed the free soup, it certainly goes down well here at Bungi and we're glad you enjoyed the hostel facilities too.
Yes unfortunately our Spa has been out of order due to a lengthy repair problem but we do offer all our guests the opportunity to use our sister hostel's spa which is just down the road, I am sorry if you weren't made aware of this. Like you said, our doors do lock behind themselves which is a much better security precaution, but like you, I am also a light sleeper so understand your grumble. Best investment I have ever made for travelling and staying in hostels is some moulded ear plugs, I highly recommend them for an uninterrupted nights sleep! We hope to see you again if you ever return to Queenstown, Thanks again, The Bungi Crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.3 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
379 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,494 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
0.4 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers

Address: 15 Sydney Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: £11 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing