We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Advance Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I haven't been here yet but reading the comments below seems good overall. I am excited to see queenstown as well. I hope all goes well with my stay here. Expect the unexpected but anyhow I am not fussy with any accommodation. Bungi Backpackers & staff, see you very soon! :)

Stayed: July 2014
Thank g0ldengreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoha C, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your advance review g0ldengreen. This is a first for us, but we appreciate it. Please do let us know what you think of the hostel once you've stayed.

Thank you again and enjoy everything that Queenstown and Bungi has to offer.

The Bungi Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

had to spend just the one night with bungi.. and they were super friendly and had free soup :) very clean and very helpful staff too. would definitely recommend this place for friends and would come again Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dinoulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoha C, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you dinoulis, for your review. We are all glad that you had a nice stay with us and that you enjoyed our free homemade soup. I will also pass your lovely review onto the other members of staff.

If you're ever back in Queenstown again we would love to have you stay here.

Thank you again,

The Bungi Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Booked a cabin type room online, and wish we'd paid the extra $ to stay at base. It was freezing. The heater barely worked, was noisy and stank the room out. No insulation, the door didn't fit the frame, and the windows were poor. The shower was awful and not clean, no pressure and went cold when using it. I hope things have changed since last winter or else you're in for a shock

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Foodlover438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoha C, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you Foodlover438, for your review.

First off I'd like to apologise about your experience here at Bungi Backpackers. I don't know if you mentioned these issues to the staff at the time, but we do have oil heaters, electric blankets and fan heaters which we could have placed in the room for you. We also double up the duvets over the colder, winter months, which helps a lot.

The shower was an issue that we were aware of, which was resolved shortly after your stay with a new heater and tank, so this now maintains the power and heat. We have also renovated our showers since your stay, so they are nice and modern now. This also goes for the cabins windows and doors which you mentioned.

Thank you again, and next time you're in Queenstown we hope you'll come back and see the big improvements that have happened here.

Regards,
The Bungi Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in bungi while we found our feet in Queenstown and the staff, TK and Will were more than happy to help. The friendly laid back atmosphere made you feel comfortable and like you were able to kick off your shoes and the company for the other guests. The tasty free soup as a great added bonus! We couldn't have asked for a better stay... Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoha C, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for you very nice review Emma. We are all glad that you enjoyed your stay here. Enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown.

The Bungi Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Bungi was our first port of call to Queenstown. Its a real laid back funky hostel and great value. Both TK and Will on reception were exceptionally friendly and played an invaluable part to the start of our 'queenstown' social life. They introduced us to new people, bars and activities to do in town. Having the free soup in the hostel everyday was also a great perk. Unlike other hostels this place is very unpretentious and I really felt at home :) Thanks Guys

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniedowning1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoha C, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Anniedowning1, thank you for your lovely review. We also like the fact that Bungi is a funkier hostel than most and that you felt at home here.

I will let Will know that you said this and I would also like to thank you. It is always a pleasure to help people settle in when they first get to town as it can sometimes be a daunting challenge.

Enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown and if you even need to stay again, just give us a call.

Thank you again, The Bungi Crew.

PS. Thank you for your picture as well. If only we could still sit outside at the moment, but this cold weather is making that very hard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed at the hostel for 10 days whilst finding accomodation for the season. We had stayed in YHA & Base first due to Bungi being fully booked and were so happy to finally get our room "The Gondola."

This hostel is extremely sociable and everyone there is really friendly. The reception staff helped us out with activities to do in Queenstown, shown us MANY bars on a night out & were great for a general chat - they know everything about queenstown.

Free soup for when your broke like we were, movies, wifi & amazing views over the mountains. Price wise it was cheaper for us than all the others in town too, but the experience was way better. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurahewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoha C, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review Laurahewitt. We appreciate your feedback.

All of the staff at Bungi try to make everyone feel at home and make sure that they get to see all the amazing things that Queenstown has to offer. We also love the soup here, although it's rare that we get to eat it as it's usually gone very quickly.

Again thank you very much and we hope you enjoy the winter season.

The Bungi Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great place, great atmosphere, the guy behind reception, tall blond hair, maybe Phil? Great with the popcorn machine. The employee Charlie was unfortunately very moody and troublesome at times, but since he's a cat, I think I could look past this! Overall great place.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrcuddles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoha C, Manager at Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Mrcuddles1, we appreciate your feedback very much.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our lovely little hostel and that you had a good time with us in Queenstown. We try very hard to make sure there is a good atmosphere in the hostel.

The man is called Will and I will pass these comments onto him. And the popcorn is very nice to have around, it makes the reception smell very nice.

Charlie, the cat, is currently on a trial period and I will pass this message onto him :)

Thank you again, The Bungi Crew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.2 mi away
Haka Lodge Queenstown
Haka Lodge Queenstown
#4 of 93 in Queenstown
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 93 in Queenstown
386 reviews
3 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers

Address: 15 Sydney Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: £11 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sir Cedrics Bungi Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing