We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic if you have your own transport”
Review of Mantra Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We splashed out and booked the 2 bedroom apartment right on the lakefront. The view was amazing and the apartment had everything we needed including a well appointed kitchen so that we could self cater for breakfast. We ended up cooking a couple of nights as well. Although the bus stop to Queenstown is right at the door it was a bonus to have a car. We used the bikes at the hotel to ride into Queenstown one morning - about 1 hour round trip on a flat lakeside bike track. A very pleasant trip. Although you need to drive into Queenstown, on the plus side, we were already out of town to do lots of our day trips and didn't have to get into the traffic in town. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Book a lakeside room as these are away from the road with no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was more than a hotel. We stayed here 3 nights and by the time we arrived it was toward the end of our very busy vacation so we were ready to settle into the large 2 bedroom condo with full kitchen, laundry, roomy with modern furnishings & a patio. Right on Lake Wakatipu with a view of The Remarkable Mts. The hotel is located about 5 minute drive from downtown Queenstown but an easy drive. Although they weren't in the best condition, they had free bikes to use on the biking/walking path along the lake. Bought some groceries at the market a couple kms away and were able to take a couple nights off from eating out at restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Booked this hotel for 2 nights and was disappointed since the time we checked in.

Pros:
1. Clean rooms.
2. Helpful staff - we got locked out of our room at 2 am (the magnetic key stopped working!), and the on-duty staff came in within 15 minutes of us placing an after-hours call.
3. Lakeside - beautiful!
4. 5 minute drive to the Queenstown Airport.

Cons:
1. Noisy! It's right by the main highway that leads to Queenstown! 80% of the rooms get the traffic noise. Book a lakeview suite if you don't want the noise!
2. Far from the city center! Even though it says it's in Queenstown, it's really in Frankton! The town that's right after Frankton, and about 5 kms from Queenstown city center.
3. Unreliable key technology! So after hanging out with our friends on our second night, we get back to our room at 2 am, only to see that our key stopped working! We called the on-duty manager using the Call button outside the Reception and luckily for us, our call was answered after a couple of attempts and the guy came over to reset our keys! Glad someone came to our rescue, but the time we wasted and the inconvenience wasn't as pleasant! Thanks to whoever it was who was on duty on the night of 9th Jan! :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aztravelernew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful time! We had a 2 bed room apartment with a fully equipped kitchen and laundry unit. It was more like being home than in some hotel!
The apartment had a lakefront view which was the icing on the cake.
The slight negative is that it is about 10 minutes drive away from downtown. But everything about this hotel more than makes up for the distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vrk26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

These are great apartments for a stay in Queenstown. They are a handy drive from both Queenstown and Frankton, with bus stop right outside. Apartments are lovely, spacious, well appointed and clean with daily servicing. Best are the ground floor lake front two bedroom apartments.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khrdng123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We booked this hotel as one of the "Airlines special" during the period 19-21 December 2013. And I could honestly say that I got the best value for my money with this hotel. Spacious, clean, fully equipped, well appointed and boy, the views are magnificent. They provide you with nice coffees, etc . My family is so happy with the accommodation. We were able to do everything that we planned to do in Queenstown and when it comes to relaxing, we were able to do so in the hotel, nice and comfy beds, free Wi-Fi, good TVs. It is a bit of a distance from the proper town which did not bother us as when we had to go the activities we had to take the car anyway . But the location is close to the Remarkables Shopping centre and other small eateries/take away shops. So if the distance does not bother you, it is for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emiwillseetheworld11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at the marina for 3 nights and were completely satisfied. The vistas were beautiful as the hotel sits on the lake. Hotel personnel were very warm and helpful in planning things to do while in the area. Cannot say enough about the hospitality.
Hotel is located about 5km from center of Queenstown. Easy drive and or bus ride. Down the road is a lovely café that sits on the water. Great people!!

Room Tip: Ask for lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
4.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,515 reviews
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Marina

Address: 875 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range: £94 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Marina 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront of Lake Wakatipu, surrounded by the breathtaking Remarkables Mountain Range, Mantra Marina Apartments doesn't only offer luxury Queenstown accommodation, it offers an experience. Mantra Marina offers two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments all with balconies and plush king size beds. All rooms are ultra modern and feature luxurious soft furnishings, quality linen and personal amenities. Perfect for families, couples and singles looking for a relaxed getaway, our rooms are all lake facing offering privacy and space to ensure complete comfort during your Queenstown holiday. On-site there are plenty of landscaped gardens to wander thorough as well as barbecue facilities and first class guest services including complimentary parking, in-room internet access, child minding and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Marina Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing