We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hot chocolate”
Review of Les Alpes - CLOSED

Les Alpes
Cuisines: Delicatessen, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Your Tastiest Restaurant Experience In Queenstown: A French Culinary Journey Passionately Combined With The Unique Taste Of New Zealand Produce. A rare experience for any restaurant in Queenstown. What do you think about discovering how New Zealand Wines enhance French food and how French Cuisine enhances New Zealand produce? For example, try New Zealand Lamb cooked the French way! Les Alpes restaurant will allow you to experience authentic fine French food, cooked only with fresh ingredients, come and try our homemade products ! Our restaurant offers gluten free and diary free and vegetarian options. If you are a wine enthusiast, you will marvel at the 80+ wine references that bring you the regions of Burgundy, Champagne, and Provence, as well as the best wines New Zealand has to offer. Les Alpes can provide at once a cosy atmosphere for romantic dinners and a friendly ambiance for functions (80+ groups). Experience our Live music venues every Friday & Saturday,enjoy at the same time a gourmet dinner and a jazzy concert !
mold
Level 6 Contributor
636 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“hot chocolate”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

after a windy autumn drive up to lake moke stopped of here for refreshments afterwards

really good french atmosphere and super hot chocolate

we were told the the owners/mangement was changing at the end of the month so cannot say what it will be like in the future but it was very good on our visit

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    75
    19
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food didn't meet expectations”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We were a bit disappointed by the food Les Alpes delivered. The expectations set by the menu were very high, but the food didn't meet these. Atmosphere was great though with a live band playing on Friday night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EBinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not sorry it's been sold!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I used to go there to interview clients but after my guests were charged $9 for a bottle of water, I didn't go back. Three times, my coffee order was wrong, service was never good and the female owner was very offhand. Today, my friend and I thought we would go and try some pastries. There were none and we were told it was because they are closing tomorrow. They are not actually, it is Saturday that is their final day. Just a poor excuse. If they didn't have food, why even both opening. Waitress was sullen and couldn't be bothered. We left and went to Vudu which frankly, is the best cafe in town. Good riddance les Alpes, Queenstown has no place for crap like this.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A mini pocket of France”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We went here a number of times. The place is just so French. Food is awesome. Service with a hint of Parisian attitude. Loved it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pie_is_epic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worst service EVER”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had breakfast over the Easter Weekend. Since the rest. has now been sold it seems that service has gone downhill. The French waitress was rude, ungracious, not friendly. I just hope that the new owners coming in will not hire her, it will be their downfall. The omelette was delicious & scrumptious, my hubby actually ate half of mine as it was large and tasted great. Coffee was the biggest cock up. While we were there a couple walked out and there was confusion regarding orders.
This Restaurant has been sold it will not longer be a French Rest.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elvis707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Alpes also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing