We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love love loved it”

Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights
Ranked #49 of 159 Tours in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exciting scenic flights and exclusive helicopter excursions to Milford Sound, remote locations in Fiordland and Mt Cook. We are the only helicopter company licensed to land on the Tasman Glacier at Mt Cook. Fly with the pilots who filmed the Lord of the Rings Trilogy and discover many 'Middle Earth' locations. Heliworks has exclusive landing rights in some of the most spectacular locations around Queenstown - ideal for heli-weddings and private picnics.
Port Kennedy WA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“love love loved it”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My partner promised me he would join me on a helicoper flight - he hates flying so I thought he would chicken out. Turns out he loved it every bit as I did. Heliworks are thee best, we got upgraded thanks Trish. The flight was for 45 minutes but went so fast it felt like 5 minutes. Our pilot was Mark Heyes, he made the trip, we had lots of laughs, it was a privilege to meet him. We saw him working hard the following day lifting tons of rubble. He is a true expert in his field. Dont hesitate to book with Helitours, you won't regret it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeetHW, Office Administrator at Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Great to hear that your partner never chickened out! We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“A Magical Moment”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We flew to Cecils peak from Queenstown on a stunning early afternoon in April, the view was spectacular from the mountain and sights we saw from the helicopter were simply breathtaking. Our pilot Shaun had many many hours of experience and we felt entirely safe and comfortable throughout the entire trip. We got engaged at on the mountain :) none of it would have happened without this fantastic company & pilot!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NewlyEngaged2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeetHW, Office Administrator at Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Stoked that the weather played its part for your flight and you were able to head out. Hope to see you again say for a wedding photo flight?!?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

What a wonderful experience! Great weather combined with a fabulous pilot, Mark, saw us rising over ridges, along valley, up over Mt Cook, seeing Franz Joseph Glacier, landing on Tasman Glacier to carefully walk on the icy surface. Mark was just the absolutely most knowledgeable, personable pilot imaginable. It was so obvious that he loves his job. We took the $315pp trip for 35 mins (I'm sure it was a little longer). Thankyou Mark!!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeetHW, Office Administrator at Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we will be sure to pass on your praise to Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights is the BEST!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Last week, the 5 of us (2 adults and 3 teenagers) had the good fortune to fly back from our Earnslaw Burn Glacier hike with Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights. We hiked in to Earnslaw Burn Glacier with our guide Gavin (from Creating Tracks), whom Heliworks hired for us. Gavin was very patient and supportive during our 5 hour hike. Our pilot, Dave B. was right on schedule to pick us up in his 7 seat helicopter, but not before taking some GREAT photos. I am afraid of heights but knew we were in good hands with Dave as he is very experienced and knowledgeable. The weather was great, the flight back to Queenstown was smooth and beautiful. All of us loved the flight. Whenever possible, flying with Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights is the ONLY way to go!

Thanks, Dave and Eilidh, we will be back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jrsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeetHW, Office Administrator at Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Great to hear that everyone enjoyed their hike in the Earnslaw Burn and also the scenic flight back to Heliworks!! We love showing this gem off to clients!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Absolutely jaw dropping gob smacking experience”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Our Mt Cook experience ended up our WOW factor of our trip including Milford. We drove to Mt Cook after staying at Twizel ( a lot cheaper). Walked one of the easier trecks (no.4 on their sheet) to arrive to see Mt Cook and surrounding mountains in cloud (this was just after lunch). Within a half an hour of arriving at the lookout point we got to watch the cloud clear and the mountains reveal themselves. What a majestic humbling experience. We could not have hoped for better. The weather cleared to picture perfect blue.

We decided to do a spontaneous helicopter trip around the mountain with Mark Hayes due to the weather being perfect. We did the Mt Cook Ultimate trip. Spend the extra money it is worth it. We got to see over Franz Josef and Fox Glacier that we had walked a few days earlier. We then stopped on the glacier. Mark was excellent. Took the time to talk and didn't feel rushed at all. We didn't plan this as we had booked a flight at Milford.

Best choice and experience on our whole NZ trip. If the weather is good, spend the money and have a one in a lifetime experience. Spend the money doing this rather than the raft experience to the glacier....you fly over the lake and there was very little icebergs when we flew over.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neville R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilidh B, Front Office Manager at Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
It is such a bonus when the weather plays the game on your travels!! We hope you have heaps of great photos to sort through once you are back home and will hopefully make your family and friends jealous!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights also viewed

 

Been to Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing