We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable!”

Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights
Ranked #19 of 163 Tours in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exciting scenic flights and exclusive helicopter excursions to Milford Sound, remote locations in Fiordland and Mt Cook. We are the only helicopter company licensed to land on the Tasman Glacier at Mt Cook. Fly with the pilots who filmed the Lord of the Rings Trilogy and discover many 'Middle Earth' locations. Heliworks has exclusive landing rights in some of the most spectacular locations around Queenstown - ideal for heli-weddings and private picnics.
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was the highlight of our trip to the south island. Heliworks was very helpful in the (secretive) planning for a memorable helicopter trip on the occasion of my husband's 50th birthday. I especially appreciated their weather updates in the days leading up to the proposed adventure, as well as taxi transport from/to our accommodations. We visited the Earnslaw Burn and Mount Nicholas, and our pilot, Dave, was wonderful--professional, humorous, knowledgeable, informative--all of the attributes you hope for in a pilot. As another Heliworks flight was leaving at the same time for the same locations, he and the other pilot monitored their progress to ensure that neither we nor they happened to be in the same place at the same time, which was brilliant. We always felt safe and extremely awed by the spectacular scenery. Having taken copter trips in Hawaii and South Africa, this left those by the wayside--think Lord of the Rings on steroids. In fact, we saw some of the LOTR filming sights along our way, as well as hearing many general anecdotes from our pilot about the areas we flew over. A bonus was having him pop a bottle of bubbles for a toast on Mount Nicholas. It was an expensive splurge but worth every penny. Highly, highly recommended!

Thank LisaBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeetHW, Office Administrator at Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Stoked that everything went to plan for your husband's birthday flight!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cecil peak"
in 27 reviews
"pilot dave"
in 11 reviews
"milford sound"
in 25 reviews
"ultimate paradise"
in 3 reviews
"hanging glacier"
in 3 reviews
"mt cook"
in 6 reviews
"private picnic"
in 2 reviews
"memorable tour"
in 2 reviews
"an experience we will never forget"
in 3 reviews
"mt nicholas"
in 6 reviews
"snow landing"
in 6 reviews
"great pilot"
in 7 reviews
"private charter"
in 2 reviews
"valley floor"
in 2 reviews
"ground crew"
in 2 reviews
"new zealand"
in 15 reviews
"landing site"
in 2 reviews
Filter

145 - 149 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

My partner promised me he would join me on a helicoper flight - he hates flying so I thought he would chicken out. Turns out he loved it every bit as I did. Heliworks are thee best, we got upgraded thanks Trish. The flight was for 45 minutes but went so fast it felt like 5 minutes. Our pilot was Mark Heyes, he made the trip, we had lots of laughs, it was a privilege to meet him. We saw him working hard the following day lifting tons of rubble. He is a true expert in his field. Dont hesitate to book with Helitours, you won't regret it.

Thank Linsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeetHW, Office Administrator at Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Great to hear that your partner never chickened out! We will be sure to pass on your kind words to Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We flew to Cecils peak from Queenstown on a stunning early afternoon in April, the view was spectacular from the mountain and sights we saw from the helicopter were simply breathtaking. Our pilot Shaun had many many hours of experience and we felt entirely safe and comfortable throughout the entire trip. We got engaged at on the mountain :) none of it would have happened without this fantastic company & pilot!

Thank NewlyEngaged2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeetHW, Office Administrator at Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Stoked that the weather played its part for your flight and you were able to head out. Hope to see you again say for a wedding photo flight?!?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

What a wonderful experience! Great weather combined with a fabulous pilot, Mark, saw us rising over ridges, along valley, up over Mt Cook, seeing Franz Joseph Glacier, landing on Tasman Glacier to carefully walk on the icy surface. Mark was just the absolutely most knowledgeable, personable pilot imaginable. It was so obvious that he loves his job. We took the $315pp trip for 35 mins (I'm sure it was a little longer). Thankyou Mark!!!!

Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeetHW, Office Administrator at Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your kind words, we will be sure to pass on your praise to Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Last week, the 5 of us (2 adults and 3 teenagers) had the good fortune to fly back from our Earnslaw Burn Glacier hike with Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights. We hiked in to Earnslaw Burn Glacier with our guide Gavin (from Creating Tracks), whom Heliworks hired for us. Gavin was very patient and supportive during our 5 hour hike. Our pilot, Dave B. was right on schedule to pick us up in his 7 seat helicopter, but not before taking some GREAT photos. I am afraid of heights but knew we were in good hands with Dave as he is very experienced and knowledgeable. The weather was great, the flight back to Queenstown was smooth and beautiful. All of us loved the flight. Whenever possible, flying with Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights is the ONLY way to go!

Thanks, Dave and Eilidh, we will be back!

Thank jrsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeetHW, Office Administrator at Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Great to hear that everyone enjoyed their hike in the Earnslaw Burn and also the scenic flight back to Heliworks!! We love showing this gem off to clients!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights also viewed

 

Been to Heliworks Queenstown Helicopter Flights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing