We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Canyons B&B
Nearby Hotels
US$283
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azur(Queenstown)
US$1,028
US$997
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$247
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Heartland Hotel Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Oaks Shores(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$171
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Queenstown(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$139
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Peaks Lodge(Queenstown)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
86
0
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
0
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshotover rivernew zealandoutdoor jacuzzicoronet peakbusy queenstownfirst morningperfect stayroom was largehot tubbreathtaking viewstwo nightsminute drivevisiting queenstowneach morningmilford soundlodgejennie
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

There are very few places in the world, that can compete with the stunning location/views and luxury of this lodge. From the moment we arrived and were so welcomed by Sarah (the manager) we felt right at home. (we wish this place was our home!) The house itself is beautifully presented, masculine in style, but has all the luxuries a lady could want too. Soaking in the claw foot bath while looking out at the misty hills was just spectacular, and what better way to spend time with your family than by sitting by the fire together after an amazing days skiing, sipping wine and relaying the adventures of the day. Sarah was so helpful and lovely, it felt like we had known her for so much longer than having just met her. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The Canyons Lodge will take your breath away; the incredible view, the log fires, the Jacuzzi, the friendly service, the master bedroom and did I mention the view... the list goes on!!
We held our Wedding on the lawn in May and the Autumn colours were spectacular. It is just so peaceful, serene and relaxing. We will definitely be heading back there again soon to take it all in again.
Coralee, the lodge manager, could not do enough for us, she even went into town to pick up our dinner so we didn't have to leave the lodge!
Only 5 mins drive from Queenstown it is the perfect place to stay to relax, unwind and be at one with the best view nature has to offer!

Room Tip: The Master bedroom is huge, luxurious and offers uninterrupted views - you would never want to get out of bed with a view like that!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Although there are so many hotels in Queenstown itself to choose from, we chose Canyons Lodge (which is just a five minute drive out of town) because of the views and because of the peaceful, private location. The photos speak for themselves really. After staying here (and visiting neighbouring Arrowtown, which is so pretty) we found we much preferred the canyonlands, Arrowtown and surrounding area to Queenstown itself, which was a suprise.

With only three guest rooms, it never feels crowded. The only meal provided onsite is breakfast (which is quite a family affair, with all of the guests sitting together and getting to know each other) yet this isn't a problem, since the lodge is so close to Queenstown and all of its amenities. Also there is a large kitchen that you are allowed to use, should you wish. Other facillities include a well equiped laundry room and an outdoor hot tub with stunning views. Again, the photos speak for themselves.

The owners, Andy and Mel (who now live offsite in Arrowtown, but are around each day), and also their onsite manager Coralee were all lovely and the lodge had quite a relaxed, informal feel about it. We were offered lifts into town, and also offered the use of their 4 wheel drive vehicle at one point, which we were very surprised by (never had that at any hotel before!!). We liked the wine and cheese on the terrace on an evening, this was a nice touch and a good way to get to know the hosts and other guests.

It's really hard to pigeon-hole this accommodation, since it is so unique - is it a lodge, a b&b, a self catering property or are you a guest in someone's home? Well, it's a bit of all of those things really. I think that ultimately this property offers a friendly, laid-back experience, with good company and stunning views, which I think is what a holiday in New Zealand is all about.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommo5434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed at the Canyons Lodge at the start of our month long trip. Andy is very knowledgeable about area attractions and willingly booked these for us. The breakfasts were delicious. While we were there one of the other guests was vegan. The onsite manager researched recipes to be able to accomodate this guests needs. It is a peacful spot to come to after a day of adventure. The view was awesome from the guest rooms and the dining room. We were fortunate that the weather was warm while there and we enjoyed the patio and views.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

To say that my wife and I feel fortunate to have been able to stay in this beautiful setting for five nights with nobody else around is an understatement. Queenstown is one of my favorite cities in the world and to be a part of all the adrenaline riddled activities is amazing, but to be able to escape it all by driving a mere five minutes leaves you with the best of both worlds: close to Queenstown, yet in a tranquil setting, overlooking the Shotover River. We liked this piece of property so much and if we were to actually move to Quennstown, you would be hard pressed to find a better location. The owners, Andy and Mel, are super nice, helpful, and just have a great spirit about them. They are the type of people my wife and I would love to hang out with. The worst thing we could say about the place is that we had canned peaches. However, we'd take this everyday of the week given the daily bottle of wine and cheese spread offered to us. Bottom line is that we loved this place and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The "honeymoon suite" on the 2nd floor is simply spectacular (we were able to see it, even though we ended up staying in one of the 2 rooms downstairs).
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews