We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown
Ranked #34 of 262 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$27
Cuisines: Southwestern, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, cosy atmosphere and decent food. Am at QT local but only ate here for the 1st time a few weeks ago and have been back twice since! You can find cheaper eats in QT but it's worth spending the extra few $ and coming here! My new favourite I think!

Thank Peache5ncream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 531 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Have never been left disappointed after visiting Lone Star for a quick meal, and this time was no exception - fantastic food, great atmosphere, and one of the best, friendliest waitresses I've ever had!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie C, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi Matt,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Lone Star Queenstown. We have been proudly serving up our fantastic meals for over 22 years. Our aim is to create a relaxed, fun and unpretentious environment where our guests can truly unwind and enjoy the atmosphere.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we delivered great friendly and efficient service. We hope to get the pleasure of looking after you again should you return to Queenstown.

Many thanks,
All the team at the Lone Star Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I loved everything about this place. the cocktails were awesome, the staff were all incredible (and appeared to have been recruited from a modelling agency - they were all considerably hot) and I managed to walk away satisfied after sharing one meal between 3 people - the meal sizes are monstrous!

Get the ribs, even if you don't like ribs they are sublime.

1  Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie C, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi Dean,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience at the Lone Star Queenstown.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our cocktails, the ribs and our fantastic staff! We love having fun with our guests and endeavor to make your experience at the Lone Star Queenstown a 'stand out' of your trip.

We hope to get the chance to look after you again on your next trip to Queenstown.

Kind Regards,
All the team at the Lone Star Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had dinner here and it was a good experience. Great service, tasty food, lovely atmosphere. Would eat here again.

Thank Bec L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellie C, Manager at Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Bec,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the relaxed & friendly atmosphere at the Lone Star Queenstown as well as our high quality, well portioned kiwi feed!

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Queenstown.

Kind Regards,
All the team at the Lone Star Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I intended on having dinner here while we were in Queenstown. We were greeted warmly on arrival and the restaurant was busy as was the bar. We were directed to the bar area to wait for our table.

This is where it all turned south. The bartenders were flirting with dirty old men over the bar. One bartender had a tied up vest and had more skin visible than covered.

I had my 14 year old daughter and 12 year old son with me and I felt embarrassed as they perceived the place to be like hooters. This is supposed to be a family restaurant.
We had one overpriced drink to not be rude and left.

After reading further through your reviews there is a popular trend of bar patrons reviewing more about the bar and staff during April and May than any other time. Conveniently this is pre-peak season. When everyone is mapping out their NZ holiday
Most definitely illegal

Nice work Lonestar Queenstown. I will know not to visit any other of your sub-standard food halls again. Hardly a restaurant.

3  Thank Hobo4u2nv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Lone Star Cafe & Bar - Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing