We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colonial Village Motel
Ranked #38 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2014

As soon as we opened the door to the room we were greeted by the stunning mountains and the lake view. The bed itself was good and tidy. We spent 3 nights at this motel. It was a wonderful experience for us. The location is so convenient , all the places of attraction for us are just walking distances away. it was a joyful time here and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Large family group, Stayed at this property, some in one of the 3 bed apartments & some in the motel. While the apartment was very well appointed & the view magnificent, the management was dishonest, deceptive & uninterested in any form of customer service. The motel rooms were substandard & the electrical appliances downright dangerous.
We were promised a certain number of beds in the 3 bed apt but when we arrived we were 2 beds short which the manager didn't want to know about it, then told us we could only have 1 extra mattress, finally gave us 2 but tried to charge us again for the 2 extras when in fact they had been paid for. The four in the motel rooms were told on the 2nd last day that they had to either pay $60 extra or move into the backpacker accommodation. We stayed for 4 days & every day came with a new drama accompanied by more attempts to get us to pay more. I strongly advise against staying here.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This is just like a cottage view style. View is mega great. Service was excellent as I was about to go into town, the manager there took me there by car. Even though room was very old, room was very clean and tidy. Very cheap! A great bargain

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

What a run down shabby room. The overhead lights were plugged into a very old rusty wall plug hanging half way up the wall, the towels were stained and the bed sheet had blood on it! The ceiling in the bathroom was mouldy, and the whole room needed painting. I think there are plenty of other nice clean modern places to stay in Queenstown other than this one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The motel struck me as quaint at first as it looked rather old but sturdy on the hillside leading to the beautiful lake. "budget" because it was among the low-cost ones that my wife and i encountered in our 3-week trip of the North and South Islands. But we didn't regret a bit as we stayed in self-c0ntained studio units that overlooked the serene lake and of course, ample photo opportunities!

Room Tip: Choose, of course, rooms with panaromic views of the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hofmeister952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed here with my family and it was great!the staff was very friendly and suggested many tourist attractions and booked for me. He also offered to help me carry our bags to our room. Although the place was old, room was tidy and clean, especially when our room had just been carpet cleaned!View was fantastic. I don't know about you guys, but for me and my family, it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahwikson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here in mid November 2013 & although the room had spectacular views it was very shabby. That would have been tolerable except things got worse - a dripping tap, a heater that looked broken (and was), an old, old TV that didn't work & the last straw; when we were cold we dragged a duvet out of the wardrobe only to find it was dirty & covered with hairs! The manager baulked at giving us extra coffees & milk & expressed surprise when we asked for fresh towels. This hotel was way below par for New Zealand. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
3.7 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#28 of 59 in Queenstown
637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melbourne Lodge
Melbourne Lodge
#10 of 44 in Queenstown
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#2 of 44 in Queenstown
201 reviews
2.9 mi away
Asure Queenstown Gateway Apartments
7.7 mi away
Willowbrook Country Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Village Motel

Address: 136 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: £76 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small motel situated just a 15 minute walk from the centre of Queenstown. 12 available rooms that can sleep between 2 and 5 people. All have their own bathroom and kitchenette, allowing you to cook if necessary.Unfortunately there is stairs to get to all rooms. There is breath-taking views visible from all rooms, this improved by the balcony and huge windows. We also offer a booking service for different tours and activities around the area and can book an airport shuttle or taxi if necessary. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Colonial Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing