We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonial Village Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Oaks Club Resort(Queenstown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matterhorn Chalet(Queenstown)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arc De Queenstown(Queenstown)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Villa del Lago(Queenstown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Autoline Motel(Queenstown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
14
28
20
17
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
28
20
17
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall electric heaterupper roomsfrankton armfantastic viewsroom ratesmall balconylake wakatipu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Booked a unit in November 2013 at the Colonial Village so we could attend the Lynyrd Skynyrd concert in February through AA Travel our daughter booked the same day but did her booking by phone. Ours was $140 a night, hers was $90 a night. Our daughters partner was working in Queenstown the week of the concert, so he was able to check -in before we travelled down to Queenstown. When he arrived to check-in was told he had no booking, that only we were booked in. Asked to speak to the Manager was told he was away till Sunday, the staff at the motel offered no help what so ever in finding them other accommodation, no apology was offered either because of there stuff up. They were rude and arrogant.
We duly arrived went to our unit No. 8 the carpet was absolutely filthy, no pressure in the shower,if you were tall your head would hit the ceiling, shower curtain hadn't been changed for god knows how long, was covered in mould. Went to use cook top which you had to plug in, it was extremely dangerous as the cord dangled over the elements. If you used the toaster or jug at the same time, those cords dangled over the elements as well as there were no other power points. Flat batteries in TV remote, none of the crockery matched, glasses all different sizes, no milk in fridge which was very old, scratched and rusty. Avoid this motel as the owners are very dishonest and they are not members of the MANZ, so you have no comeback if you have problems. To get to the units you need to clamber up very steep steps. AVOID, AVOID at all costs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We set this accom up with a group and shared the unit beside the office - meaning sharing everything! The bathroom was between us and the kitchen, so therefore had to walk thru bathroom to get into lounge area or kitchen or just get out of the unit! Very old and run down, linen was clean but nothing else. Glad that we only really slept here! Not recommended for couples wanting a 'nice' place. Kept awake all night with units above our heads - people walking on the floor all night coming and going!

Room Tip: The only places that were good - are the new units up top, all other accom is backpackers - sharing toilets, sinks, kitchen, etc.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have a group of 3 people staying for 1 night. Old and un-tidy place. Very small room, can hardly walk around. And you can hear the people next door talking too...Kitchen facility is awful! There is a microwave, but no place to plug-in the power! How ridiculous is that. All kitchenware are poor quality ..Bathroom is awful as well, not enough water pressure, and we can't take a shower without banging our head to the ceiling due to it's too low. No heater or fan in the bathroom, so it's wet and slippery after shower. It;s sliding door in the bathroom, not so much privacy. You can basically hear everything happening in there...Staff is un-friendly, un-welcoming, even I booked the room via AA and pay for it online he asked me for payment on the arrival! The only thing I can be happy about is the view, due to the room is on the top of the hill we have to climb 3 flies of stairs to reach our room. You can get a nice view of the lake, but it ain't enough to compensate the disappointment of the room itself.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The room although clean was in a state of disrepair. The kitchen drawers came out in my hands. The toilet separated the living area / bedroom room 1 with bedroom 2 so if someone was in the toilets you couldn't walk across to the other side until done. Unfortunately this was my worst motel experience in nz. We left after night 1 even though we had booked for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K0shr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

As soon as we opened the door to the room we were greeted by the stunning mountains and the lake view. The bed itself was good and tidy. We spent 3 nights at this motel. It was a wonderful experience for us. The location is so convenient , all the places of attraction for us are just walking distances away. it was a joyful time here and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews