We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made us both sick”
Review of Frankton Ale House

Frankton Ale House
Ranked #197 of 257 Restaurants in Queenstown
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hartsville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
372 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Made us both sick”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Walked over from the Hilton Hotel and ordered the special. A chicken Sand. Both of us were sick afterwards. There are much better places to eat. Avoid

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomasja37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    21
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Korolevu
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice pub grub”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

went here for our sons 14th birthday. the menu was good and the food hearty for the price. very family and quite noisy but ok for pub grub

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raenobleadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disappointed ”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

I was disappointed with the meal standard and service. Asked for Monteiths Apple Cider expected in a Monteiths glass over ice as it should be served but got in a small 12 no ice. Never asked if we wanted another drink. Blue Cod was oily and cold. seafood chowder cheap and nasty used Marina Mix instead of real seafood.

Helpful?
Thank millyjking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relaxed”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Very good meals at a very good price. Service was friendly and efficient. I enjoyed the burger (yummy chips) and hubby loved the fish

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 870AnnetteW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
“lovely chicken salad”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

decided to stop in here on new years day while waiting on the rain delays at the cricket, although it was very busy and we could see the staff were run off their feet, we were seated quickly and treated with promptly friendly service, i had the ranch chicken salad which was just delicious and made with the freshest ingredients, the chicken was cooked to perfection, my partner had the steak sandwich, once again was to die for, and looked stunning served on fresh lettuce and tomatoes with an aoili sauce drizzled on top, and the hand cut chips were just perfect nice and crunchy yet fluffy inside and packed full with flavour, would definitely come back and recommend to others

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2020fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frankton Ale House also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Frankton Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing