We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Hostel”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Staff were great here and room was nice and comfy. Also great, relaxed loungue where everyone could mix and meet each other. Also good location with drying room and plenty parking.

Room Tip: I had my own room outside which was great - nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    49
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
39
122
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Nice location, very helpful and well informed staff, good rooms, clean facilities, really enjoyed my stay, would definitely go back again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7SunSeeker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

A warm friendly hostel which has everything you could want. From the moment you walk in to the moment you leave it feels like home. The staff are great and helpful, the rooms well equipt and cumfy and there is fast internet and wifi. It is litterally the best hostel I have stayed in and I have been travelling for a while!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I stayed at the Flaming Kiwi for 6 nights...What can i say! Well first.. the place is so cosy. its warm, chilled out, relaxed. The dorms are great, and the facilites are brill!

Kent the owner, is a dude! really helpful, he has a great knowlege of not just queenstown, but most of the world! hes a cheeky chappy (meaning great for a laugh)
all the staff i met at flamers where awsum!

So this should already be making you WANT TOO STAY!

Other than the great hostel, great staff! there was a bounus element too this place............................... THE OTHER GUESTS!!!!! i met some of the most amazing people. I had so much fun! i didnt want too leave! I would defo stay again! i traveled all of Aus and quite a bit of NZ... the FLAMING KIWI was the best hostel!!

Id just like too say a big thank you too Kent and the gang for making my stay in Queenstown the most Awsum, memorable , Excellent, time!!! Thanks guys!!

Shane Horton

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shanex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The best place to stay in Queenstown without a doubt. Great staff especially the lovely Rosa, even if she does get your beer order wrong (two reds and a gold lol). Excellent room, get room number 2 if you can, balcony great to sit on on a cold night and enjoy a bottle of brandy to keep the chill out. Friendly guests and a great atmosphere, just the right distance from the town centre and party central. Kitchens, bathrooms etc all very clean indeed. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Room number two has a great balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peteandchris46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I stayed in the Flaming Kiwi in July 2011 and had a great experience there. The hostel is in a perfect location in Queenstown with the town center and supermarket only a 3 minute walk away. The staff at the hostel were very friendly and were always about and willing to help. The hostel provided everything you could need, internet, laundry, spa pool, lounge area, etc. The hostel offered all sorts of rooms, was very clean and tidy and was great value for money. I had nothing at all to complain about during my stay and it is definitely a place I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cian_Sisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Flaming Kiwi has been my home for about 12 weeks and it's pretty hard to leave. Kent, Rosa and Augustine are all amazingly friendly and helpful and make you feel like family. I've stayed in a few of the rooms (dorms and doubles) all are kept in great condition by the wonderful cleaners and bed-makers who always do an amazing job. Great location and value for money. Provides free internet and a nice living areas across 2 floors. Well equipped kitchens. Great spa. A very short walk to town!!

Flaming Kiwi manages to achieve a great mix of the social atmosphere that you come to queenstown for and as a place to chill out and have down time. There's both a short and long term culture, so depending on what you're doing in town it's ideal. Definetly recommend it, there's probably not to many backpackers out there that you could happily call your home for a few months.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anna2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flaming Kiwi Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flaming Kiwi Backpackers

Property: Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Address: 39 Robins Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Flaming Kiwi Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Flaming Kiwi Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing