We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cozy hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson/Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really cozy hostel”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is a great wee hostel in Queenstown. Unlike others, there is always a kitchen open so it's great to cook whenever you want. It's also kept very clean.

It's just slightly out of town which is ideal because you don't get the all-night noise that central town has, and it's right around the corner from the main supermarket.

A few reviews down talked about the need for new furniture - well, they've upgraded and it's awesome!

It definitely is quite crowded at the end of the day, but it is nice how communal and friendly it is.

The spa and bikes are a great bonus. I really love this hostel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria_newzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    49
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
39
129
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed in a double room here in early June as a couple on a break from South Island. Overall it was a positive experience and I would definitely recommend the Hostel for others looking for accommodation in Queenstown. There were lots of positives - really friendly staff which is always appreciated; we found the Hostel to be very clean and well maintained with comfy beds. Also there was unlimited free wi-fi which was great and a spa tub which we didn't use. One negative for us was the sheer number of people in the hostel compared to the amount of communal space and facilities. If it is full you won't get a relaxing or chilled out stay and there was a bit of a scrum for sofas, kitchen and bathroom facilities. It seemed to be a really social place for groups and backpackers, many of whom seemed to be long-staying, but we felt a little crowded out as a couple.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourLeaderLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I liked this hostel but it doesn't get a five because as another reviewer put it the furniture, fixtures and fittings were generally shabby or uncomfortable.

The owners should spend a bit of money and replace the rubbish furniture in the front room and upgrade some of the kitchen appliances, even with some decent second hand stuff from Trade Me.

Apart from this almost everything here was very good. Most importantly the staff who ran the place. They were friendly and helpful with any questions or queries I had. And the place feels quite homely.

I was in room 4 which was a little bit cramped, but acceptable. It was directly across from one of the bathrooms. The bathrooms were always kept very clean as were the kitchens. Some hooks on the wall for clothes would be good to have in all the bathrooms.

I didn't use the spa so I'm not sure how good that is. They had a few communal areas where you could mix with other backpackers.

It's about a 6 or 7 minutes walk from the main bus drop off points in the centre of town. I would recommend this place and would stay here again in the future. The free wifi was good but as we're talking about New Zealand it was obviously slow (only really fast in the big cities if you are lucky).

Room Tip: Speak nicely to Chris or one of the other managers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Just like home away from home!! Close to town, close to the supermarket and the friendliest staff I've ever met. Kent, Chris and Adam were the managers, they helped us with suggestions on which places to apply for jobs, what to do in town and traveller tips. I have never been in a hostel with three kitchens!! lockers with power points in them for each person in the room and free UNLIMITED wifi.
FREE BIKE HIRE ASWELL

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evanelforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The good points about this hostel are that you get free unlimited wifi and the bed linen was cheerful and the pillows were comfortable. On the downside I found the place generally shabby, with uncomfortable, lumpy sofas, and tired dreary decor. I didn't enjoy spending any time there so the free wifi was a bit wasted. I stayed over the weekend and to my dismay one of the guys in my room was sick on the carpet after having too much to drink on Saturday night. It was cleaned up the next morning after I informed one of the girls working there. I can't imagine this happening in some of the nicer hostels I have stayed in, and whilst the staff were friendly, I don't think they had enough of a presence in the hostel or made it clear that this kind of behaviour would be unacceptable. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princessepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hostel is lovely for a stay in Queenstown. Away from the noisy centre but well within walking distance to shops, bars and the lake. The manager is a great guy and there are night porters for late check-ins and other issues. Free unlimited wifi is a big plus. Two kitchens to choose from, a living area and cabins away from the main building for double rooms. The only reason that this hostel received a 'Very Good' and not an excellent is because the cabins are absolutely freezing! A heater is provided but the middle of the night is close to unbearable. I did see that other cabin had hot water bottles so maybe we could have asked for one. A tip for the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britsticker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Amazing place to stay. Just away from the crazy noise and antics of Queenstown central with pristine clean dorm rooms, kitchens and bathrooms no matter what time of day. Plenty of space in 8 bed dorms so you don't feel like a sardine, and lots of windows for fresh air and light. Wood fire and comfy lounge chairs and big TV. Best backpacker I've ever stayed in. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohaniT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tahuna Pod Hostel
Tahuna Pod Hostel
#3 of 90 in Queenstown
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
#1 of 90 in Queenstown
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Absoloot Value Accommodation
Absoloot Value Accommodation
#7 of 90 in Queenstown
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Queenstown Holiday Park & Motel Creeksyde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flaming Kiwi Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flaming Kiwi Backpackers

Property: Flaming Kiwi Backpackers
Address: 39 Robins Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flaming Kiwi Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Flaming Kiwi! We are situated 5 minutes walk to the town centre and 3 minutes walk to the supermarket. We are friendly, cozy hostel with lots of great stuff for our guests to enjoy! Take our bikes (free of charge) for a cycle around the lake, borrow some of our Frisbee golf discs and try them out at the Queenstown Gardens course, or indulge in our FREE UNLIMITED Wi-Fi. Our three fully equipped kitchens have a great layout for cooking and meeting other guests and they are all stocked with free tea & coffee. We also have a BBQ grill, games, books, puzzles, a TV, & lots of DVDs. All of our dorm rooms have personal lockers with built-in power points so you can charge your electronic gadgets in total security. We can book all your buses, tours, & activities and our friendly staff are more than happy to give you advice and information about the local area and the rest of New Zealand. Cheers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Flaming Kiwi Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing