We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for monay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak
Ranked #47 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for monay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

One night stay during my holidays to south. Hotel includes all basic amenities and value for money, if you are holidays and just looking for the place to sleep its one of the best place. Te best thing about this hotel is hotel has Bowling you can have a chill next to the bar if you feel bored in your room and its the only place in queenstown where you can enjoy bowling not sure if available somewhere else). Quite far from the CBD area. Best locatopn for the people come for skiing in queenstown. Had nice stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anand2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissBelResortGM, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to write your positive review. Thank you!!
We pride ourselves on our location nestled into the side of Coronet Peak and so close to both the world famous Shotover Jet, bike trails and Ski field. The short 7 minute drive to the CBD is a pleasant rest from the busy life of Queenstown center, but we have the complimentary shuttle to take guests to and from the resort also. Once again we appreciate you taking the time to post your experience online.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    64
    58
    35
    23
See reviews for
57
78
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was an interesting fusion of exceptionally professional, friendly and accommodating staff and the outdated, a bit shabby facilities begging for remodeling. Overall, it was a good value for us. It’s a lot cheaper than anything similar we could find in town, and it’s only 10 minutes away by bus in a very picturesque place. Tips: do take advantage of the free shuttle bus to and from Queenstown center (you have to book it, which was never a problem; leaves motel 10 minutes before the hour, leaves Queenstown on the hour; very reliable). Otherwise, there is an infrequent city bus service from the town center with interesting characters working as bus drivers. You need route number 8, but it’s typically combined with number 10 and is marked as 8/10 on the electronic display on the bus.
Motel has a special arrangement with the taxi company, and any ride is $20, which is a significant discount no matter where you go.
Another perk you may want to use is the outside spa. You have to reserve it, even though it’s always available, and you’ll enjoy it in the fenced privacy with just the people in your party, and no one else will get anywhere near you. Do not attempt, though, to use the adjacent shower (or sauna). Do not even go there. (Don’t ask.) Just use the shower in your room. You’ll thank me later.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeronicaLasovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissBelResortGM, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback so thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is great to read of the professional service and I will pass these comments onto the team as we are continually looking to provide the best service to all of our guests. We are in the coming couple of weeks commencing a full hotel renovation which is fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

On first impressions the hotel appears fantastic however once we arrived inside the building the disappointments began. When I booked the room we advised we would be arriving late, approximately 930-11 at night but were reassured that this was fine and room service would be available and to book the spa once we arrived for our convenience. On arriving at 10pm we were informed that the spa shut at 10 so was unavailable. We could understand this so decided to book it for the next night. On leaving the foyer the first thing that stood out was the ripped, stained carpet which had matching wallpaper. I have never seen a hotel so poorly maintained and began to worry about what we had signed up for. Unfortunately things only got worse once we got into our room.

After walking into the bathroom I soon spotted used toilet rolls and hair under the mirror - how a cleaner missed this I have no idea. The shower wasn't any better with hair stuck on the walls. After seeing this I stripped the bed which to my relief appeared clean however the pillows had stains. We then decided to have a look at room service, given it was valentines day and thought we would treat ourselves to a late dessert only to not be able to find a menu. On calling reception we were informed room service was not offered. At this point we were considering leaving but given all other accommodation in Queenstown appeared to be sold out - Gibbstown Valley concert was on that weekend - we regrettably stayed.

I was woken up at 6am by another quest banging on a locked door next to the foyer and reception desk, this carried on for 45 minutes before the staff then began smashing glass out of a window in the room next to ours. On getting up and making a compliant at reception I was informed a window had been broken and staff were smashing out the remaining glass. In disbelief I asked why it had to be done before 7 in the morning only to get a shrug before the attendant walked off. No apology or further explanation.

We then got up and left for the day. On returning that night the window was still broken with the remaining glass sticking out so I am still questioning why it needed attending to so urgently only to then be completely ignored.

At this point we were seriously considering cutting short our weekend away but after being informed we would have to pay in full for the second night regardless we begrudgingly stayed. The bathroom had been cleaned but the hair and toilet rolls on the floor and shower were still present. The next morning, $280 latter we have never left a hotel so early and will never be back. Not only that it appears these hotels are worldwide so we will most certainly checking any package deals we may purchase to ensure this hotel is not included.

Room Tip: You would be better to sleep in your car than to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaGrace87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissBelResortGM, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your extensive comments.
I have been brought in to manage the hotel through an extensive refurbishment which commences in 4 weeks. This will see the property raised to a top level 4 star resort.
Unfortunately the property was owned and managed privately for twenty years and little revenue was put back into the property to effectively maintain it. Swiss -Belhotels is dedicated to turn this around as the location of the resort nestled into the mountainside beneath Coronet Peak is fantastic. In regards to the room window being broken next door, the guest for this room was on an early flight and the key barrel for the room door failed. As all the guests belongings were inside after they had dined at breakfast, the staff broke the window which was the only possible solution.
All the glass had to be removed for a staff member to crawl through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Queenstown hotels

Paris, France
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We just stayed 3 nights in this hotel and our impression is mitigated. The shuttle service to Queenstown downtown works very well (if you make sure to book it in advance, and specifically the return to the hotel...) and the staff does its best. But this hotel is not up to its rank and is too expensive for what you get.
Here is what I sent to the manager, hoping that other visitor will get better rates!. Thanks
------------
Dear sir,
We stayed 3 nights (19 to 22 Feb.) in your hotel in Queenstown, the Swiss-belresort Coronet Peak and I wanted to share with you my disappointment.

Whilst your staff on site is doing its best to accommodate the customers' needs, they are clearly not enough. For example on Thursday 20, getting back in our room at 18:30 we found the towels were missing!! Still in the dryer were we told...!
Also, breakfast is a great moment. The poor staff is running around to cope with the affluence of tourists flooded by buses taking their breakfast at 6:30...

But more unacceptable is the state of the hotel. It clearly requires a serious lifting.
- In our room, 329, the fan, and the air conditioning unit, was not working. You say in the hotel description that "Climate control is amongst the conveniences offered".
Your staff kindly found a portable fan.
- the refrigerator was missing!
- the spa-pool is located in an abondonned area, absolutely not maintained. Sauna, showers and changing room are not operational. It looks more like taking a bath in a tub somewhere in the bush rather than in a spa in an hotel.
How can you still advertise this sauna in your site?This is pure lie!

What really makes me un satisfied is that I had to pay NZ$163 average per night for that!!! I am sorry but your facility does not match with the image the company displays in its brochure. The renovation that should take place in the next months is more than necessary.
Again your staff did their best.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philippe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissBelResortGM, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
HI
I have replied directly to your comments in return email. Thank you for sending this to me personally giving me the opportunity to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We looked for a reasonably priced, well-located hotel in Queenstown. Sadly, there isn't one that we could see. We drove many miles out of town to save money and stay at the Coronet Peak. No one ever seems to be at the front desk. Finally got our rooms and was disappointed to see lots of cobwebs and stains in the hallway. The room was large and slightly cleaner than the hallway - but the dated place was rather depressing. We bought a one-hour wifi card which timed us out at 20-minutes. After complaining we got a card for 30 more minutes. Yes, we saved money and for that we were grateful, but we recommend the hotel? No.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth_Joe_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissBelResortGM, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. I sincerely apologise that you found the hotel dated and sighted some cob webs and scuff marks. I have the team currently repainting the hallways and tidying up these areas. The resort is situated only 7 minutes from central Queenstown and we find our location slightly out of town is an advantage in many ways including the tranquility of the 24/7 hustle and bustle of Queenstown CBD as well as the clear night skies free of light pollution making Star gazing absolutely fantastic. The complimentary shuttle service we provide also allows guests an easy transit to and from town without the hassle of the expensive and limited public parking in the town center. The wifi charges apply in both time limit, but also as with all hotels a data cap limit applies to this also, so I can only suggest a larger plan purchased would have eliminated this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel was absolutely disgusting. The staff were incredibly rude and unhelpful. Every request was met with disdain and difficulty. On arrival I was given a double room when a queen was booked and paid for. It took 20 mins of discussion before they even agreed to see if they could get me into the room booked. No refund/gesture of goodwill was offered. It is very inconveniently located up a mountain 10mins from town. The hourly free shuttle in to town has to be booked in advance. If you don't book, or it is full, you simply miss out. Taxis are $30 each way. The decor and layout is very dirty and unkempt. Overall a very disappointing experience. Not worth the price, bad location, very dirty and extremely unprofessional and rude staff.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AnnaTheGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissBelResortGM, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
It is very disappointing to read your comments, especially in regards to the rude staff. This is out of character and something I will address with urgency. We pride ourselves on our unique location 7km outside of Queenstown center as the surroundings boast tranquility and great elements of nature. In regards to the complimentary shuttle service this seats a capacity of 11 guests and bookings are only required through the extremely busy festive season. This is obviously the time of year guests want to celebrate, head into town and not worry about the logistics of a safe return to the hotel via our service. I do apologise for the issues you have raised and would be happy to discuss this further if you would like to email me directly gmsrcp@swiss-belhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Nice friendly staff, accommodation is dated but you get what you pay for I guess, I booked well in advance on a special and got 5 nights for $500 which is pretty good for Queenstown. The facility needs an overhaul, but new management has just taken over, so I hope this will result in a freshen up.
Suggestion to management - keep young teens groups away from families please, particularly noisy over the New Year period, which is to be expected.
Suggestion to management - please brighten up your reception area, first impressions are so important, when you walk through those doors you need and wow/welcome factor, at the moment it is dull and to be honest a little depressing. Also another small thing that can be so easily fixed and just bugged me was all the makes on the walls in the restaurant/bar and the corridors, it made the place feel unloved, just a little more attention to detail would make such a difference.
Restaurant - food was always good. A fairly basic menu but everything was very good quality and at reasonable prices. The most expensive item on the menu is the rib eye steak at $22 and it was cooked to perfection. They also do excellent pizza's, burgers and fries.
Shuttle service - good. Travels to and from town once an hour, just need to book on at reception.

Room Tip: Request a room away from teen groups if you are a family or couple. Teens go to Queenstown to party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleur h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissBelResortGM, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We appreciate both your honest remarks and helpful suggestions. We have commenced repainting and touching up all of the scuff marks in the Restaurant and corridors. It is great to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful. Yes I agree teenagers can be noisy and we did have a number of young guests during the festive season, which is always a challenge to manage. I apologise if these party goers did disrupt your stay at times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
#25 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
3.1 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#41 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
3.4 mi away
Coronet View Accommodation
Coronet View Accommodation
#46 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak

Property: Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak
Address: 161 Arthurs Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak is a 3 star resort with 75 guest rooms, all with private bathrooms. Located just 7 minutes from the lively downtown Queenstown. It is the perfect location to escape the nightlife and recover from an adventurous day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing