We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Deco Backpackers
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Queenstown
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lakeside Motel(Queenstown)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Lomond Lodge(Queenstown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
QT Queenstown(Queenstown)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
30
38
20
12
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
38
20
12
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomyoung backpackersthree roomsshared facilitiesmain buildinghostelprivacy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is our favourite place of our new zealand trip. Amazing staff which is so nice, friendly and helpful. The rooms was clean and kitchen was great and well stocked.

Things that didnt work:
Wifi was rather at times weak but ITS FREE.
Parking is limited but we could park on the street. (remember to park with traffic not against traffic)
We got a room beside front desk so it was a bit busy and a little bit noisier.
Fire alarm went off one night and a bit of a fiasco.

Will I return? YES. (4 is because of one too many hiccups but I still loved this place.)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

When we first arrived at this place, I wasn't expecting much. We were greeted by the owner (who was nice, but seemed to be busy) and shown around the place. We stayed in a double room that was separate from the rest of the facility. We were told that the wifi would only work in the kitchen area, but we managed to get access from our room! The bathrooms and kitchens are all shared, and they were both in fairly good condition with adequate room for everyone staying. Parking can be hard to come by, as there is only a small parking lot in front, but we found parking on the street nearby. Make sure you check out the garden area as well, as it overlooks a nice view of the city, especially at night!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed here for four nights and had a wonderful time. Very nice room of 4 with plenty of room for all of our stuff. The kitchen and bathrooms were always super clean. Very friendly staff and free internet! :) Would highly recommend!!

Room Tip: Enjoy your free coffee/tea outside on the terrace overlooking the beautiful lake and mountains! :)
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lexileigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here twice on this trip; once before going out on Routeburn Track and again for a few days after we returned. We really enjoyed our stay. Our private room was in a separate wing and so we shared a bathroom with only two other rooms; our shower was pretty low on water pressure, but it was hot! And the shared kitchen/dining area was clean and well-appointed. The staff were friendly and really helpful - they allowed us to leave our car there while we were away on the Routeburn, and the Manager, Tony, spent some time with us talking about New Zealand. I recommend this place and will certainly stay there again if we ever make it back to beautiful Queenstown!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CdnBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

When i checked in i got shown around the property as the layout can be a bit confusing to begin with but you soon find your way around. I stayed in a long term 6 bed female dorm room. The beds were comfortable, tidy room and it had shelves and wardrobes to use. It is out of the main town centre which means it is quiet as well.
The outside area has fantastic views overlooking the town, lake and out at the mountains. The kitchen area is one of the best i have experienced in a hostel with all the facilities you need, plenty of room to cook and spices available to use plus free tea and coffee. The internet was a good speed and hardly lost connection.
The only thing i didn't like is the t.v room it is a bit small but otherwise a great experience and that the kitchen was closed from 11pm to 7am.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L0u1se2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews