We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure!”
Review of The Bead Shop

The Bead Shop
Ranked #5 of 35 Shopping in Queenstown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We run our beautiful bead business from an old cottage on the outskirts of town, 2 minutes from the centre. You can't miss us - we have a colorful frontage, with large multi-colored beads hanging outside. Look for our OPEN flag and the often photographed Paua Koru on the wall out front! See you soon, for lots of fun, creativity and gifts!! Come and make your own personalized gift or simply find something beautiful that we have made.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 27 January 2014

What an amazing find this was. More beads, ebellishments and gear than you can shake a stick at - wandering the store looking at all the different things (and getting inspiration) was entertainment in itself.
A range of kits available to make your own bracelets or necklaces, but the real fun is making your own - tables and equipment is set up for this.
The kids (3 & 6) had a ball, making their own creations, and a genuine, unique keepsake of their holiday in Queenstown.
The proprietor (sorry I didn't get your name) was welcoming, knowledgable, and helped us all complete our works of art.
This is an amazing place - a real treasure - great to keep the kids (and yourselves) occupied for ages. Great value as well!
A definite 'must go back' for us next time!

Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beadlee, Owner at The Bead Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hi Mike … Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is so good to know we are still on the right track after 13 years! Being passionate about what we do is ( for me ) the main criteria, then everyone who comes in has the best experience, whether they make their own, buy one of our creations or simply enjoy the atmosphere and have a chat!
We intend to have a big clean up and make some small changes this May to enhance The Bead Shop ambiance, so we look forward to welcoming you back next time and get your feedback. :)
Cheers Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beautiful necklace"
in 2 reviews
"few hours"
in 2 reviews
"wings"
in 3 reviews
"great fun"
in 2 reviews
"jewellery"
in 18 reviews
"activity"
in 7 reviews
"keepsake"
in 3 reviews
"knowledge"
in 2 reviews
Filter

46 - 50 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Someone had told me "OMG, you're going to Queenstown?, you HAVE to go to this Bead Store". I just laughed and shook my head .. I'm in NZ why would I waste time going to Bead store? Well, between the high-adventures (bungy, sky dive, gondola, luge, zipline) ... there is a little downtime ... perfect to insert a trip to the Bead Store.

Its a great place to make a very memorable souvenir -- and price is good. Great place to hand-make gifts to take back home too.

1  Thank gogosona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beadlee, Owner at The Bead Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Happy to hear you ventured out to check us out despite the initial horror! We are constantly making sure we are full of surprises and it is even better when the customer walks away surprising themselves with hidden talent!! Enjoy the rest of your trip :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Beads galore, and findings too, with help to make something lovely on hand. A pleasant way to spend a bit of creative time

Thank KateJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beadlee, Owner at The Bead Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Good to know we are still well stocked, as I am busy overseas buying more!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Ended up in here one rainy afternoon and didn't leave until closing time! The friendly staff taught me how to make amazing bracelets and since then I have continued to go back to buy more beads and thread as they are so well stocked, friendly and have a loyalty card system so you get a good deal. Would highly recommend a visit.

Thank Justinee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beadlee, Owner at The Bead Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Thank you for that response... always good to know, that we have most things on a wish list and our smiles are genuine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I took my girls here and the loved it we made 4 necklaces. The place is well laid out and family friendly. The girls in the shop are lovely too.

Thank Myounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beadlee, Owner at The Bead Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Thank you for your comment... children are ALWAYS welcome, they are after all, our future designers and some of their creations can be hugely inspiring..GO KIDS!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bead Shop also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Bead Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing