We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pretty souvenier”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bead Shop

The Bead Shop
Ranked #4 of 31 Shopping in Queenstown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We run our beautiful bead business from an old cottage on the outskirts of town, 2 minutes from the centre. You can't miss us - we have a colorful frontage, with large multi-colored beads hanging outside. Look for our OPEN flag and the often photographed Paua Koru on the wall out front! See you soon, for lots of fun, creativity and gifts!! Come and make your own personalized gift or simply find something beautiful that we have made.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A pretty souvenier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This little shop was over the road from Amber Lodge where we were staying and we passed it a couple of times intrigued. So we dropped in one afternoon to make our own bead bracelets.

There is a HUGE selection of beads in all colours and style you can imagine, the beads are all individually priced (a few cents each, or for a bulk number) so you know how much you will pay at the end. You can choose from different types of chains too and the staff will attach your clasp and make sure it fits before you leave.

We loved making ours, the shop staff are completely laid back and as much as the shop is small there is a good amount of room to sit and create your jewellery.

A hidden gem as it is a little out of the town centre but definitely worth visiting, for yourself or for a unique one of a kind gift to take home.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miss_VLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

What an amazing find this was. More beads, ebellishments and gear than you can shake a stick at - wandering the store looking at all the different things (and getting inspiration) was entertainment in itself.
A range of kits available to make your own bracelets or necklaces, but the real fun is making your own - tables and equipment is set up for this.
The kids (3 & 6) had a ball, making their own creations, and a genuine, unique keepsake of their holiday in Queenstown.
The proprietor (sorry I didn't get your name) was welcoming, knowledgable, and helped us all complete our works of art.
This is an amazing place - a real treasure - great to keep the kids (and yourselves) occupied for ages. Great value as well!
A definite 'must go back' for us next time!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beadlee, Owner at The Bead Shop, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hi Mike … Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is so good to know we are still on the right track after 13 years! Being passionate about what we do is ( for me ) the main criteria, then everyone who comes in has the best experience, whether they make their own, buy one of our creations or simply enjoy the atmosphere and have a chat!
We intend to have a big clean up and make some small changes this May to enhance The Bead Shop ambiance, so we look forward to welcoming you back next time and get your feedback. :)
Cheers Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rookie Beader Loved It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Someone had told me "OMG, you're going to Queenstown?, you HAVE to go to this Bead Store". I just laughed and shook my head .. I'm in NZ why would I waste time going to Bead store? Well, between the high-adventures (bungy, sky dive, gondola, luge, zipline) ... there is a little downtime ... perfect to insert a trip to the Bead Store.

Its a great place to make a very memorable souvenir -- and price is good. Great place to hand-make gifts to take back home too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gogosona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beadlee, Owner at The Bead Shop, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Happy to hear you ventured out to check us out despite the initial horror! We are constantly making sure we are full of surprises and it is even better when the customer walks away surprising themselves with hidden talent!! Enjoy the rest of your trip :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“More beads than you can shake a stick at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Beads galore, and findings too, with help to make something lovely on hand. A pleasant way to spend a bit of creative time

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KateJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beadlee, Owner at The Bead Shop, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Good to know we are still well stocked, as I am busy overseas buying more!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well stocked and very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Ended up in here one rainy afternoon and didn't leave until closing time! The friendly staff taught me how to make amazing bracelets and since then I have continued to go back to buy more beads and thread as they are so well stocked, friendly and have a loyalty card system so you get a good deal. Would highly recommend a visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justinee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beadlee, Owner at The Bead Shop, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Thank you for that response... always good to know, that we have most things on a wish list and our smiles are genuine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bead Shop also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Bead Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing