We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Willowbrook Country Apartments
Ranked #12 of 45 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed to celebrate a birthday weekend in June, in one of the new Units with Queen bed and underfloor heating in the bathroom. The unit was modern, good kitchen facilities & spotless and really appreciated Roy's suggestion to stay in this unit with the bathroom heating as to be honest it was cold weather that weekend, frosts. Good gas fire which heated the unit quickly when we came back home. Great position to visit Queenstown and surrounding area - quieter than in town. Had lovely meal in Arrowtown at Postmasters restaurant, suggested by Roy. Only sad we ran out of time to experience the spa pool would have been fun at night freezing outside. Next visit will experience the cottage as that looked great.
Enjoyed feeding the sheep!

Room Tip: If you want privacy the Barn would be more suited as further away from others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caro052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy L, Owner at Willowbrook Country Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your kind comments. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Hope we can accommodate you again sometime.

Kind regards
Roy Llewellyn (Willowbrook Owner)

PS The spa pool is nice in the summer too as the evenings can be quite cool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very, Very Disappointed Guests
No Wow factor here. Overpriced, Overrated and the most 2nd rate accommodation we stayed at during our ten day holiday in the South Island.
The bedroom contained a bed and little else.
We had to literally beg to get a key for the bedroom and another for the bathroom.
Both rooms were accessible from the hallway by any other guest or visitors.
We were told that if we locked the doors our rooms would not be serviced for our three day stay.
Toilet had not been cleaned and had brown toilet stains in the bowl.
Most uncomfortable bed we have ever tried to sleep in.
Heating turned off at night and room very cold.
The Bathroom facilities were absolutely abysmal.
Dirty cups left overnight in the serving area and only two clean ones available for four guests in the morning.
No milk available in the fridge in the lounge for morning tea.
No water available for the jug.
Common Lounge had extremely dated and uncomfortable furniture.
We were expecting superior accommodation! We got ripped off.
We were required to pay for three nights despite the fact we couldn’t stay there another night & left after one night and the owner Roy Llewellyn has declined our request for a what we consider an equitable 50% refund.
Incidentally, superior accommodation is available in Arrowtown,

Room Tip: Superior accommodation is available in Arrowtown,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 8Austin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy L, Owner at Willowbrook Country Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I’m sure Trip Advisor followers would like to know what led to your poisonous little tirade that runs so contrary to the vein of our other reviews.

You booked a multiple night stay at a discounted rate (in this case Stay 3 nights, Save 30%) and then expected the same discount (30%) when you shortened your stay to 1 night.

It saddens me to see your misplaced anger directed at us, an accommodation business that has been keeping guests happy for 17 years, and I am confident that the Trip Advisor community will see this review for what it is – a mean, vindictive attempt to damage the reputation of a successful business for no other reason than puerile spite.

Kindest regards
Roy Llewellyn (Willowbrook Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights in March and had a wonderful time. The Arrowtown area is much more peaceful than the three-ring circus that nearby Queenstown has become recently. We enjoyed visiting some of the local wineries in the valley and dined out in the quaint gold rush village of Arrowtown a few miles to the east. B&B hosts Trish and Tony were remarkably helpful with sightseeing and travel advice -- and served a hearty breakfast to us each morning. Their kind hospitality made our stay there especially memorable. We plan to come back here on our next visit to New Zealand. A first-class B&B stay in all respects.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy L, Owner at Willowbrook Country Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review (and for your kind comments!)

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Willowbrook and Trish & Tony's hospitality. They will be delighted to read your comments.

I do hope we can accommodate you again in the future.

Kind regards
Roy Llewellyn (Willowbrook Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I had high expectations of this place after reading all the reviews but I must say I was disappointed. The location is great if you want absolute peace and quiet. May be a different atmosphere during the ski season. The room was so-so. Maybe it was just me - I had expected what couldnt be delivered from a B&B.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 201Sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy L, Owner at Willowbrook Country Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Sheila,

Thank you for submitting a review. I'm sorry your stay at Willowbrook did not meet your expectations.
Perhaps you could let us know exactly what it was that disappointed you so we can take steps to address the issue. That is after all, one of the key functions of the review system.

Kind regards
Roy Llewellyn (Willowbrook Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A very peaceful spot and within easy reach of Queenstown and Arrowtown. Trish and Tony were great hosts. Very attractive house and spacious guest areas. Very convenient for visiting the area. Our room was quite compact but the en suite had excellent facilities including underfloor heating which was great as the weather had turned chilly.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennyannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy L, Owner at Willowbrook Country Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Jenny,

Thank you for your review and for the kind comments!

Many of our guests say that it is nice to stay in a quiet spot that is also within easy reach of Queenstown.

Glad you enjoyed the underfloor heating!

Kind regards
Roy (Willowbrook Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My brother and I stayed at the Willowbrook B&B upon my arrival in NZ 18 February for two nights. The home is lovely, and we totally enjoyed getting to know our hosts, Trish and Tony. The home allowed privacy but yet plenty of extra space to congregate with other guests. Trish and Tony were so helpful with information regarding the area, and their breakfast is wonderful. It is such a pleasant place and away from the chaos of Queenstown.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy L, Owner at Willowbrook Country Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Debbie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the 'B&B Experience'!

Do hope we can accommodate you again in the future.

Kind regards
Roy (Willowbrook Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here as two couples for the NZ Open Golf at the Hills. It's a great location to be near the golf and so much quieter than being in the hustle of Queenstown ( which is only 10 -15 mins away). The place is warm, welcoming and cosy and has old world charm being 99 years old. Bedroom and bathroom were nice. We stayed in the main house.Trish and Tony are warm, friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming hosts. Nothing is a trouble for them. The breakfast in the morning is nice and healthy and delicious and served with a smile! The spa was nice and relaxing after a day of walking around at the golf! We would definitely stay again and recommend Willowbrook to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynP1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy L, Owner at Willowbrook Country Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Robyn,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for the kind comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Willowbrook. Trish & Tony will be delighted you enjoyed their healthy breakfast (and the smile!)

I do hope we can accommodate you for the golf again next year.

Kind regards
Roy Llewellyn (Willowbrook Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
5.6 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
6.5 mi away
Sherwood Queenstown
Sherwood Queenstown
#39 of 59 in Queenstown
305 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#2 of 45 in Queenstown
212 reviews
7.9 mi away
Amity Lodge Motel
Amity Lodge Motel
#24 of 59 in Queenstown
482 reviews
7.8 mi away
Melbourne Lodge
Melbourne Lodge
#10 of 45 in Queenstown
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbrook Country Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbrook Country Apartments

Address: 760 Malaghans Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: £95 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Willowbrook Country Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and modern fully self-contained apartments in an idyllic, rural setting below Coronet Peak just 15 minutes from Queenstown and 5 minutes from historical Arrowtown. All units have deluxe kitchenettes, ensuite bathrooms and free Wifi and Sky TV is available throughout Willowbrook. Four acres of mature garden surrounding the Main House contain a tennis court, a spa pool and some very friendly sheep. We are within easy reach of ski fields, wineries and some very picturesque golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Willowbrook Country Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing