We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing scenery, super friendly guides” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours

Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours
Ranked #19 of 158 Tours in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel along N.Z's most scenic highway and view some of the most world's most spectacular scenery. Visit Lord of the Rings Locations and take a journey with us deep into Middle Earth, encounter Isengard, Amon Hen, Lothlorien Forest and Ithilien! Also visit a location from the recently filmed The Hobbit. Stories and secrets will be shared by guides who have great insight into the filming. Take in the diverse landscape of ancient beech forest, braided rivers, glacier carved valleys and towering snow capped peaks. Explore Mt Aspiring World Heritage Parks unique flora and fauna. Encounter birdlife and animals. Leave with magic memories and the most amazing photo's. - Small personalised groups - Complimentary delicious picnic - Free photo C.D - Locally owned & operated family business - Comfortable 4WD mini-vans - Departs Queenstown 8:00am & 1:45pm - Duration 4 - 4 1/4 hours - Qualmark Endorsed - DOC Concessionaire - TIANZ Member
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing scenery, super friendly guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We took this tour (myself and 2 friends) and had an awesome time. It was a small group tour (6 people in total) and we lucked out and got awesome weather for the tour. The lunch was great and they even accommodated our dietary restrictions (our group had one GF and the other set of people had someone who was GF and dairy free). I'm so used to, when there are options on things for dietary stuff, to not get my hopes up that I can eat any of the food because often times companies don't honor those requests. It was a nice change of pace.

Our guide was super knowledgeable and very nice. You can tell he took pride in the company and the tour. This isn't just a tour for LOTR fans....its a tour of some amazing scenery outside of Queenstown.

Well worth the money and experience.....A must do!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank EricaB1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PureGlenorchy, Owner at Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi Erica,

Thanks a lot for your awesome review! I have to say, you three were the super friendly ones! I really enjoyed meeting you all and showing you the area. Thanks for your comments about the picnic also, we are so glad you enjoyed it! We do take pride in the company and are very happy this shone through. Once again thanks so much for your review Erica and for coming on our tour! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay here.
Kind Regards,
Mark and Trina Holmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    46
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glenorchy - LOTR & more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Mark runs Pure Glenorchy and we had the pleasure of traveling in his SUV with our two kids (6yrs and 2yrs). The trip had amazing stops, great stories along the way...and the picnic in the Lothlórien woods was a highlight.
We stopped along the way to feed horses and our photos give you a sense of how good it can get on a great weather day.
The 'family run' aspect of the business makes it a wonderfully intimate experience and Mark is a great tour guide.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank HaritheNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PureGlenorchy, Owner at Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi Hari, Thanks for taking the time to leave such a great review. It was awesome to meet you and your family. We are really glad you enjoyed our stories and the beautiful scenery around Glenorchy. We love you photo's, especially of the library and the horses, well done. The forest is one of my favourite parts of the tour also, we are so happy you loved it.
Thanks again and Kindest Regards,
Mark and Trina Holmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We went with Alana - she was so nice and knowledgable. Not only about Lord of the Rings, but about NZ in general. Very personal tour - only 6 in our group - great tour. Tasty lunch. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AASM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PureGlenorchy, Owner at Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi, Thank you very much for your lovely review! We showed Alana and she is absolutely stoked! We try to make all our tours personal and we are so glad you experienced this. We are glad you liked the picnic also, thanks again for recommending us.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ.
Kind Regards,
Mark and Trina Holmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great deal and fantastic tour and tour guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Mark was an excellent, friendly and very informative guide on our tour! This was one of the highlights of my recent trip to NZ with my husband. I highly recommend this tour company if you're looking for LOTR tours in and around Queenstown and Glenorchy. We never felt rushed (the tour was about 5ish hours total), the group was small enough (6 total) to feel like a semi-private tour and Mark provided a tasty lunch along with tea and biscuits while we were in a forest area where some movie scenes were filmed! He was also nice enough to take tons of photos for us and the other tour customers with the amazing sceneries as our backdrop! Great experience!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PureGlenorchy, Owner at Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi Mona,
Thanks for leaving such a nice review, It was my pleasure to show you both Glenorchy and surrounds!! You were both so nice! Like you say, there is lots of time to get great photos and we are so glad you never felt rushed. We just take small groups per vehicle to try and personalise the tour and we are so happy you enjoyed this aspect of it. We loved your comments about the picnic also. Thanks again Mona.
Kindest Regards,
Mark and Trina Holmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOTR tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Had to do a LOTR tour for friends who are huge fans of the series. I myself like the films but I am not as intense a fan as some are but I am a huge fan of the beauty of this country and loved it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank docannjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PureGlenorchy, Owner at Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hi docannjd,
Thanks a lot for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your tour. You are right, you don't have to be a huge fan to enjoy the tour as the scenery is outstanding as well. I'm sure your friends cant wait to come to NZ now.
Thanks again and Kind Regards,
Mark and Trina Holmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Pure Glenorchy Scenic Lord of the Rings Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing