We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great feed, awesome atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ballarat Trading Company

The Ballarat Trading Company
Ranked #32 of 254 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$28
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A friendly pub for both tourists and locals alike, situated in the heart of Queenstown. Our aim is to have really good simple food and great service, in a welcoming environment
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great feed, awesome atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Fantastic food, highly recommend it - great location and atmosphere as well ... the ribs are a winner

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renée W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    243
    48
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“best mulled wine in town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

we only had a few drinks here but it had the best mulled wine we had tried, would go back again just for that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugo8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My friend and I went to the Ballarat Trading Company after reading the reviews here on TripAdvisor and weren't disappointed.

Upon arriving we were informed there was a 20 minute wait for a table, however we were welcome to wait at the bar until a table was available. In reality I think we only waited 10 minutes, which was just enough time to peruse the menu and order a wine! The bar staff considerately put your bar drinks onto a tab, which is carried onto your table bill.

My friend enjoyed the salmon and I LOVED the tasting platter - choc a block of cheeses, breads, meats, olives, chutney and oils. It was just what I was after - nothing too heavy, and a true reflection of the fantastic food that is available.

We shared a "wine flight" between us, which is a sample platter of sorts of small amounts of wines. We tried the pinot noir and weren't disappointed.

All of the staff were lovely, knowledgeable and efficient. The food and wine were reasonably priced, in fact some of the most reasonably priced in Queenstown. I would recommend the Ballarat Trading Company to anyone who visits Queenstown.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine food and friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We preselected a 3 course menu through a 3rd party website and it proved to be a satisfying choice for our family of 4. Starters of soup de jour, fresh NZ mussels of a bread spread got us in the mood along with half price happy hour drinks btw 5.30 & 6.30 pm. For main the salmon was a melt in the mouth treat and easily the best choice for the night. Desserts also catered for a wide range of tastes, if you can still fit it in. A pianist entertained the diners early on and it seemed a live band was due later that night. Nice ambiance and friendly but slow meal service at times.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Timeofyourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, excellent service. Had a great dinner here with friends whilst on holiday in Queenstown. I had the fillet steak which was SO delicious! One of the best I have ever had. Would definitely dine here again

Helpful?
Thank 444cassandrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ballarat Trading Company also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to The Ballarat Trading Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing