We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treble Cone ski Flight - Fantastic!”
Review of Glenorchy Air

Glenorchy Air
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Glenorchy Air flies from Queenstown airport and everyone is guaranteed a window seat. We are a family business which is owned and operated by Janet and Robert Rutherford. We have been operating for 25 years. We fly fixed wing aircraft in which everyone has window seat for unimpeded views. These include fly-cruise-fly to Milford Sound, as well as overflight, and coach options into and out of Milford Sound. Glenorchy Air also runs regular flights to the Mount Cook region, to Mount Aspiring, to Queenstown's local glaciers, to Stewart Island, to Otago's East Coast and to Fiordlands Doubtful Sound. As we worked on the "Lord of the Rings" movies we have a unique insight into movie locations with various flightseeing options and personalised tours on offer.
Reviewed 18 August 2011

What an amazing way to go skiing from Queenstown. A Stunning scenic flight over the snow capped mountains of Queenstown into the Motatapu valley and into Wanaka, then transport up to Treble Cone incl your lift ticket for a day of skiing. Treble Cone was a great mountain with jaw dropping views but the value of this whole day out at just $249 pp was brilliant. To see so much of NZ in one day was a real bonus, Robert was a great pilot and we felt totally safe and relaxed in the 6 seater plane - 100% reccommend this trip to everyone that is an intermediate skier or above, beats the bus!

Date of experience: August 2011
1  Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waiatoto, Owner at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Thank you for writing this complimentary review of our Treble Cone Flight and Ski package. We appreciate you taking the time and for flying with Glenorchy Air.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"milford sound"
in 516 reviews
"scenic flight"
in 61 reviews
"fly cruise fly"
in 58 reviews
"new zealand"
in 87 reviews
"great flight"
in 33 reviews
"southern alps"
in 35 reviews
"seater plane"
in 18 reviews
"return flight"
in 23 reviews
"great pilot"
in 26 reviews
"queenstown airport"
in 19 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 27 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 29 reviews
"window seat"
in 17 reviews
"mount cook"
in 10 reviews
"informative commentary"
in 18 reviews
"tasman sea"
in 15 reviews
"points of interest"
in 11 reviews
Filter

898 - 902 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

The first surprise was the tiny plane which only fitted the pilot, Ray, us 2 and our skis! It was fantastic fun, and luckily for us the day was very calm so the flight was smooth over the mountains. The Treble Cone airfield us just that - a field. There is only a windsock to give a hint, no buildings or single other object.

The herd of deer (200+ at a guess) running alongside (200 yards away and slightly slower than the plane - so no danger) as we took off to come back to Queenstown was a real treat.

Fantastic value ski day, transfers, flights and a day lift pass. Recommend it...

Date of experience: August 2011
1  Thank mbicknell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waiatoto, Owner at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed the novelty of the trip to Treble Cone. We pride ourselves is making the inaccessible more accessible for our clients and this Fly-ski-fly option, in conjunction with the Treble Cone Ski field, does just that. We really appreciate you taking the time and for flying with Glenorchy Air.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I wa lucky enough to fly from Milford Sound back to Queestown on a glorious day and I have to say that the view was amazing and the trip ws well worth it. I reay enjoyed flying over the mountains and looking don on the glaciers and the snow capped mountains it was totally different experience to ust driving past them, and in the plane you get to be so close to them it brilliant. It is run by lovely people too wo tell you about the places as you fly by and are realy nice. Thank s again :)

Date of experience: July 2011
1  Thank Mauzze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waiatoto, Owner at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your tour with us and your flight to Milford Sound. We really appreciate you taking the time and for flying with Glenorchy Air.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We booked a 7.30am pick up at Queenstown hotel. We were taken to Queenstown airport and flew direct to Treble Cone ski fields; transferred to sno, skied all day, transfer back to plane, then back to hotel. All for NZ$260p.p. (incl. lift tickets for day).
The flight was smooth and the view unbelievable. The organisation was spot on. The staff were so friendly. I felt safe at all times - very professional.
The cost of a lift ticket worth NZ$95! If you took the bus it would take is 3+hrs return.
One of the best things I did in Queenstown. I cant recommend this enough - if you can afford it do it!

Date of experience: July 2011
Thank CKE80Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waiatoto, Owner at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

What a great review. Thankyou! As a family run business we depend on satisfied customers like yourselves taking the time to write reviews. This is our second year operating this service to Treble Cone and it is becoming very popular.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I did the Three Ring Trilogy Trail tour in July 2011. A great adventure for LOTR fans and for everyone else, too! Our pilot was very experienced and actually flew members of the cast and crew to locations so he was happy to share some stories with us. The scenery couldn't have been any more breathtaking. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who wants to experience an adventure that will never be forgotten. Thank you for the experience!

Date of experience: July 2011
Thank daidalos05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waiatoto, Owner at Glenorchy Air, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We really appreciate it. Glenorchy Air had the honour of flying cast and crew, of the Lord of the Rings film team, all over the South Island for 2 years so we are glad to share our wonderful scenery and behind the scene stories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenorchy Air also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Glenorchy Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing