We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to see the sights!”
Review of Glenorchy Air

Glenorchy Air
Book In Advance
More Info
US$293.13*
and up
Milford Sound and Glaciers Fly Over Tour from Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Operating out of Queenstown airport and flying across the Southern alps on one of the most spectacular short scenic flights in the world, Glenorchy Air is a family business owned and operated by Janet and Robert Rutherford. We operate daily fixed wing flights in which everyone has window seat for unimpeded views.These include fly-cruise-fly, overflight, helicopter and coach options into and out of Milford Sound and have been doing so for 20 years. Glenorchy Air run regular flights to the Mount Cook region, to Mount Aspiring, Queenstown's local glaciers, Stewart Island, Otago's East Coast and to Fiordlands Doubtful Sound. As we worked on the "Lord of the Rings" movies we have a unique insight into movie locations with various flightseeing options and personalised tours on offer.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best way to see the sights!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

After an amazing trip to Milford Sounds on a coach, we decided to fly back with Glenorchy Air and I am thrilled we did because it wad an amazing experience. Our pilot, Mitchell was very experienced and had a witty sense of humour. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip with him! The scenery was breathtaking and such a different perspective from the air! Highly, highly recommend!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Potatau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for this lovely review and recommendation. Even if you initially coach into Milford Sound you can still decide to fly back with us, then you get to experience traveling in and out of Milford Sound from all perspectives. Finishing a great trip with a breathtaking scenic flight back, seeing the beautiful Mount Aspiring on the way. And yes our witty pilots will tell you all about the breathtaking scenery that you experience on the flight. Thank you again for your review from all of us at Glenorchy Air.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    27
    1
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service; quality operation”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our family felt safe at all times; pilot Robert was terrific and showed us a lot. Recommend them very, very highly. The flight to and from Milford sound was as rewarding as the visit to the sound itself!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravel499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for this kind review and great recommendation. Safety is our number one priority, all our pilots are fantastic at reassuring passengers and providing a very enjoyable flight for all. Thank you again from all of us here at Glenorchy Air.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very memorable!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I agree with everything Sam P says in his review. Scenery was outstanding, our pilot, Robert, very experienced and very knowledgeable about the area. We flew from Queenstown to Milford Sound where we walked around and had a coffee while we took in the view. We them flew South towards Mt Cook, flying over Gorge River Robert decided to pop in and see Robert And Catherine Long, affectionately known as NZ's remotest family. Due to a minor technical glitch we ended up spending an hour our two in their company. A really nice and welcoming couple. What a treat for us. We then took off and flew to Mt. Cook with every important nook and cranny being pointed out to us. MT Cook and return journey were stunning, with some interesting "bumps" along the way! We landed back at Queenstown just as dark was falling and viewed a beautiful sunset. Unbelievable adventure! Well done Glenorchyair!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LordHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Owner at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
It did turn into an adventure didn't it. However spending time at Gorge River visiting with Robert (AKA Beansprout) and Catherine Long was a bonus. Thank you for the great review even though things didn't go quite as planned. Next time you are down this way call and see us, even better would be to fly yourself down from Auckland. Then we could explore some more interesting back country airstrips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best thing to do in Queenstown”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

being born in the area I have visited Milford a number of times, and love visiting. This was the 1st time I have ever been by air, and it blows me away. The scenery is almost indescribable if you think its beautiful from the ground you need to see it from the air. Glenorchy airs, based in the airport were great. The pilot was knowledgeable keep you informed of where you are any interesting facts on that area but at the same time not over commentating. An outstanding trip which I am sure I will be doing again someday soon.
This would be my number one recommendation for any one visiting the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for this fantastic review, and for recommending us. It is great for us to hear how much you enjoyed your flight with us, especially from a local who has enjoyed the beauty of Milford Sound many times before. It really is another experience flying into the area, to driving in. Giving you a completely different perspective, flying over endless panoramic views of lakes, forested river valleys, waterfalls, jagged razor backed ridge lines and snow covered peaks along the way to Milford Sound. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best way to view New Zealand!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked a tour with Glenorchy Air to Milford Sound, where we also went for a cruise.
The flight alone was as exhilarating as the views and our pilot Mackenzie was a great guide and even better pilot. The weather was amazing and the vast scenery was mind blowing. In one trip we saw glaciers, snow covered mountains, the sea, waterfalls, seals and forest! We had great fun and came away with some lovely photos and memories from this trip. Don't rush this trip - its a well spent afternoon!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a valuable and lovely review. We are all happy you enjoyed your trip to Milford Sound with us. The views you get from flying in a small aircraft are indeed mind blowing. The plane is able to fly lower in amongst the mountains giving you an amazing experience seeing the spectacular scenery and beautiful glaciers. Thank you again for you review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenorchy Air also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Glenorchy Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing