We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bearsden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon in February and were delighted with this B&B. From the spacious comfy rooms, to the well equipped living room and the excellent hosts, we had a lovely time. In particular we enjoyed the homemade juice and choice of breakfast every morning, and Margi and Ned always had helpful advice on where to go for the day. The B&B was that extra bit special for us due to the attention from Bruno, their lovely Labrador, and the hot tub which was a welcome respite after a bike ride round the local lake. We would highly recommend for both summer and winter holidays.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y0rkshire_R0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Hi guys
Thanks so much for your review. It was nice to meet you both and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Bruno is still going strong. I hope you have a nice winter. All the best. Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

My husband booked us a mystery long weekend away for our recent wedding anniversary, and Bearsden was the accommodation he chose. It was perfect! When we arrived late in the afternoon we were warmly welcomed and shown around. As we'd booked for 3 nights, a cheese board and bottle of wine were included in our stay, so we decided to have these instead of a full dinner as we'd had a big lunch out. Margie was concerned this wouldn't be enough, so very generously added a few extras, we were so impressed and grateful that she went that extra step. It was an awesome way to spend our first evening, sharing some delicious nibbles and wine (these guys have good taste!) in the sitting room with a fire roaring (which we had to ourselves as we were the only guests), finishing with a spa under the stars, looking out to Coronet Peak. It really set the scene for a romantic time away.
Throughout our stay, Margie was helpful in letting us know some of the local things to see and do. She also makes a mean breakfast! It's the hosts, beautiful rooms, extra touches, and privacy that really makes b & bs stand out from hotels, and Bearsden has the best of all of these.
Location wise, this was perfect. About 10 mins out of Queenstown, and about as far away from Arrowtown, Bearsden meant we could escape from the tourists and just relax. At the same time, it was so easy to get to everywhere we wanted to see. You'll need a rental car though. It also has beautiful views of Coronet Peak, and is a lovely sunny spot.
We stayed in the Premier room, which was a great size, and had a little fridge which was handy. Very comfortable bed, well appointed. The guest spaces of dining room, lounge and garden / deck are all so well decorated and make you feel just a little bit posh sitting in them! You can't go past being curled up by the fire together after a full day exploring.
Thanks so much for a fab time, sorry it's taken me so long to write!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Hi guys

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you both.
All the best for the future and we hope to see you down here again sometime.

Kind regards

Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed there recently for 4 nights and had a great time. Only planned two but loved the place so stayed for another two after we came from Milfourd sound (we were able to leave our bags there when we went away for the night). There are only two rooms and we were the only people staying so we had full use of the lovely sitting room with wood burning stove. There is also a great outdoor hot door which was underful for sitting under the stars. It is a bit out of of Queenstown (10 mins by car) and really peaceful, I did some great early morning runs from the b&b and then came back for great breakfast.

If you are sick of hotels, this is the place for a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owendublin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Hello
Thanks again for your lovely review and so soon after you travelled with us.
Ned and I hope to make it to Ireland some time and will enjoy a drink with you in the Hole in the Wall.
All the best
Margie and Ned

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

First, I have to say I've been thinking of this place for a long time because we traveled to New Zealand on our belated honeymoon in November during the shoulder Spring months, where we took advantage of some of the deals in the country, and had been looking to write a review for our hosts and didn't want to do a mediocre job because our stay was not at all mediocre...it was quite nice mostly because of our host Margie.

We arrived quite late because of our delayed flight to New Zealand and when we arrived to Queenstown, we wanted to take advantage of the daylight and see the town a little more before we drive to the bed and breakfast because it is located 20-25 minutes drive outside of town. We didn't get to the house until close to 9pm when it was getting quite dark. It was a little eerie driving in a faraway land in the countryside as it was a little drive out of town but if you have a car you should be OK as some of the sites you do need a car unless you book through one of the tourist agencies (they still pick you up and have to drive a little). The bed and breakfast is located in between Queenstown and Arrowtown (we love Arrowtown, a quiet little village with pretty cottages and friendly people and a town dog!) and a little drive away to the vineyards, canyons (for canyon tour), and to the ski resort (was closed but driving up was an adventure itself with great panoramic views). We love nature so we didn't mind getting lost finding little places to appreciate the scenary and beauty of NZ.

When we arrived, there is a wooden gate to the gravel/paved driveway...unfortunately, it was dark and I broke the wooden post that held the gate closed. I apologized to Margie, our host, and she said it was getting broken quite often...but she was really nice about it. I felt bad though as we were already late on arrival. She was very gracious and showed us the house - we couldn't see too much at night but the room was a good size (not as big as I thought but still has a queen sized bed, dresser with mirror, TV, 2 nightstands, a closet, a little nook area for coffee, regrigerator, nice shower (no tub), heated towel racks and she had a bottle of wine and local cheese and other little goodies for us when we arrived. My husband drank a little and ate most of the cheese because we were a little hungry (I couldn't because I was pregnant and lactose intolerant and didn't want to fish out my lactaid pills.)

We had the entire place to ourselves (because Margie and her husband and their dog lives upstairs) and the other guest to the other guest room (only 2 rooms) are to arrive tomorrow. So we were able to use the hot tub after hours and watch the stars at night. For the entire stay, we didn't use the rec room (reading room with TV) because we were out and about. We enjoyed the beautiful scenary, the view of the mountains around us while we have breakfast and took pictures of her beautiful roses, flowers, dog and her chicken coop (yup, fresh free range eggs from the hens). We had a selection of 4 different hot breakfast she makes each morning (you select what you want the night before or before 6:30am and she makes it ready by the time you get ready for your day.) It is always good to have a full meal before you go out exploring Queenstown and vicinity. Margie is a very good cook.

Margie used to work in a travel agency so she gave us pretty good advice on what to do in our 3 night stay there. We really like her and saw her husband one time (he is a house contractor and was busy building houses). I think you really do get your money's worth staying there - it was clean, pretty and feels like home like you are a guest in her house. (She even did our laundry free of charge!) Unfortunately, I forgot one of my prego shirt drying on a heated rack and she contacted me via email and got my mailing address in the US and sent it to us. It was above and beyond what I expected.

You will not go wrong staying there...it was our 2nd leg in New Zealand and we love it...not only for the experience and for the hospitality. Thanks Margie! (and we had a beautiful baby boy!)

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center because it is a bed and breakfast but it does have a hot tub outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gear_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

If you are in need of a true get-away vacation, one that doesn't require another "vacation from your vacation", then this is where you want to be! My husband and I stayed at the Bearsden B and B for several days in April and found it to be very clean and comfy. April is early fall in New Zealand and the leaves were beautiful shades of red and yellow. The back yard has a panoramic view of the mountain range. It was relaxing to sit in the hot tub and enjoy the scenery. At night, there is little light to block the clearest view of the night sky, Milky Way and all. It is well-located, not far from Queenstown or Arrowtown.

Margie was a gracious hostess, preparing gourmet breakfasts with local produce that was in season, suggesting and booking our excursions and assisting us with some minor issues. Our stay there was one of the most memorable ones and we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: All rooms looked clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntheWind13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed here in May when the outside temperature was minus 5 some nights, the log fires in the evening were great. The room too was warm and comfortable and we got wonderful attention from Margie and Ned.They remembered the little thingslike making a special phone call for us tha tmake you feel welcome and cared for. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gefhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Amazing views, bubbling spa, roaring fire, snuggly beds (in gorgeously decorated rooms), hearty breakfasts (fresh eggs courtesy of the Bearsden chooks), warm, welcoming hosts and Bruno to pat - we wished we could stay longer! Bearsden is luxuriously tranquil within stunning surroundings (snow-capped mountain views in front and behind...). One of the best B & B's we have stayed in - a real treat. Many thanks to Ned and the lovely Margy for a wonderful stay at Bearsden.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REBEKAH-AND-ROY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
6.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,418 reviews
6.4 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
7.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#2 of 58 in Queenstown
902 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
Central Ridge Boutique Hotel
#9 of 58 in Queenstown
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearsden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearsden Bed and Breakfast

Address: 333 Lower Shotover Road | Speargrass Flat, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: £134 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury B & B is located in a rural setting 15 mins drive from Queenstown central, yet only 7 minutes drive from Queenstown airport and 5 minutes drive from historic Arrowtown. A choice of 2 bedrooms with ensuites, views to Coronet Peak, private guest lounge, outdoor spa, free mountain bikes, espresso coffee, great hosts. Smoke free inside and out. Not recommended for children under 15 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Bearsden Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing