We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay with perfect hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bearsden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 45 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We did start the New Year with Margie and Ned and stayed for two nights. It was fabulous. Especially the bottle of champaign on day one of 2013 :-) Margie and Ned are perfect hosts. Thanks very much for the advices about the area and ideas of what to see and do - also when it is raining the whole day. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Hello again
Thank you so much for your review and kind words. I'm glad the weather and disrupts didn't spoil your experience of the South Island. Look forward to meeting you both again if possilbe.
Best wishes for 2013. Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

We stayed at Bearsden for 2 nights in December. Pretty much everything has already been said in the previous reviews, but we wanted to add yet another positive one – Margie and Ned definitely deserve it! Their effort in this B&B is amazing and guests are cared for in every possible way – spacious, spotlessly clean bedroom and bathroom, a cosy guest lounge, gorgeous breakfast with plenty of choice (thank you for the French toast with blueberries and for the corn fritters….first time I'd ever eaten salmon for breakfast!), precious pieces of advice, pleasant chats, a playful dog, stunning views... and the spa outside is a real treat, especially at night – perfect for stargazing! A huge thank you to Margie and Ned, if we ever return to NZ this B&B will be our first choice!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lara_Mattia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Hi Lara
Wonderful to get your review and hear from you. Thank you for your lovely comments. We enjoyed talking with you both and will certainly look you up when we make it back to Europe.
All the best for 2013. Warm regards Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

My husband and I spent 4 lovely days with Margie and Ned (and Bruno) at the Bearsden. We loved being nestled between the Remarkables and Coronet Mountain peaks. With wine and cheese and Hummingbird Cake for treats, we enjoyed the comfort and friendliness of perfect hosts at this delightful B&B. Bikes were readily available to us as well as information and maps for our day trips. Their spring garden was just starting to bloom and we enjoyed the lovely breakfasts made for us each morning. We highly recommend a stay here and hope others enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: Our upgraded room was roomier with a beautiful view of the garden and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Hi Lauren
Thank you for your lovely review and I am sorry it has taken me this long to respond. It is a busy time of year for us now. Thankfully we are having great weather. I enjoyed talking with you both and hearing about your home and family history. All the best for 2013.
Warm regards Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I and my husband stayed in Bearsden B&B for two nights, it is the most comfortable and relaxing B&B we had ever been, we regretted not to stay longer there~We can enjoy the beautiful view from our bedroom everyday and we can occupy the ground floor,including the sitting room and the garden, so that we could enjoy high privacy during our stay. Besides, they cooked delicious breakfast!! We can feel their "heart" in serving us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katelau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Hi K & T
Thank you for your lovely review and sorry for taking so long to respond. We enjoyed meeting you both and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You certainly covered a bit of the South Island while you were here. All the best and thanks again.
Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My husband and I began our NZ South Island holiday, staying at Bearsden for our first 3 nights.As it was raining when we arrived, Margie met us with umbrellas, showed us to our lovely spacious room and explained about various things to do and see around Queenstown. A complimentary bottle of a local pinot and a cheese plater was a lovely apertiser before we dined at their suggested restaurant. Both Margie and Ned cooked breakfast for us the next day - fresh juice, beautiful coffee and delicious corn fritters. The following evening we enjoyed an hour chatting with them in the cosy guest loungeroom. The views were superb, rooms and service impeccable and our hosts were delightful - all the reasons why we choose to stay in B&B's rather than hotels. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Hi Margaret
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for writing it so soon after your stay with us. We both enjoyed your company over breakfast and also over whisky later on-that was a real bonus for us. Thank you for choosing to stay at Bearsden. We look forward to seeing you again. In your home town or back here.
Warm regards for Christmas and all the best for 2013.
Margie, Ned and Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon in February and were delighted with this B&B. From the spacious comfy rooms, to the well equipped living room and the excellent hosts, we had a lovely time. In particular we enjoyed the homemade juice and choice of breakfast every morning, and Margi and Ned always had helpful advice on where to go for the day. The B&B was that extra bit special for us due to the attention from Bruno, their lovely Labrador, and the hot tub which was a welcome respite after a bike ride round the local lake. We would highly recommend for both summer and winter holidays.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y0rkshire_R0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Hi guys
Thanks so much for your review. It was nice to meet you both and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Bruno is still going strong. I hope you have a nice winter. All the best. Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My husband booked us a mystery long weekend away for our recent wedding anniversary, and Bearsden was the accommodation he chose. It was perfect! When we arrived late in the afternoon we were warmly welcomed and shown around. As we'd booked for 3 nights, a cheese board and bottle of wine were included in our stay, so we decided to have these instead of a full dinner as we'd had a big lunch out. Margie was concerned this wouldn't be enough, so very generously added a few extras, we were so impressed and grateful that she went that extra step. It was an awesome way to spend our first evening, sharing some delicious nibbles and wine (these guys have good taste!) in the sitting room with a fire roaring (which we had to ourselves as we were the only guests), finishing with a spa under the stars, looking out to Coronet Peak. It really set the scene for a romantic time away.
Throughout our stay, Margie was helpful in letting us know some of the local things to see and do. She also makes a mean breakfast! It's the hosts, beautiful rooms, extra touches, and privacy that really makes b & bs stand out from hotels, and Bearsden has the best of all of these.
Location wise, this was perfect. About 10 mins out of Queenstown, and about as far away from Arrowtown, Bearsden meant we could escape from the tourists and just relax. At the same time, it was so easy to get to everywhere we wanted to see. You'll need a rental car though. It also has beautiful views of Coronet Peak, and is a lovely sunny spot.
We stayed in the Premier room, which was a great size, and had a little fridge which was handy. Very comfortable bed, well appointed. The guest spaces of dining room, lounge and garden / deck are all so well decorated and make you feel just a little bit posh sitting in them! You can't go past being curled up by the fire together after a full day exploring.
Thanks so much for a fab time, sorry it's taken me so long to write!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Hi guys

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you both.
All the best for the future and we hope to see you down here again sometime.

Kind regards

Margie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
4.2 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
7.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
10.7 mi away
Kinross Cottages
Kinross Cottages
#2 of 45 in Queenstown
212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Speargrass Rise Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearsden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearsden Bed and Breakfast

Address: 333 Lower Shotover Road | Speargrass Flat, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range: £113 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bearsden Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury B & B is located in a rural setting 15 mins drive from Queenstown central, yet only 7 minutes drive from Queenstown airport and 5 minutes drive from historic Arrowtown. A choice of 2 bedrooms with ensuites, views to Coronet Peak, private guest lounge, outdoor spa, free mountain bikes, espresso coffee, great hosts. Smoke free inside and out. Not recommended for children under 15 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bearsden Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing