We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Queenstown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The B & B on the Hill
Ranked #10 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Queenstown”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

As a server in a restaurant said, "How can you have a bad day in Queenstown?" However, our stay at the B&B on the Hill made a perfect start to our New Zealand trip. The view is amazing, our room was spacious and our host, Sue, made us feel right at home. The 20-minute trek to the town center is exercise, but it also helped work off the delicious breakfast. All in all, a great choice.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank blue74Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble of writing a review, it is much appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at The B & B on the Hill. Kind regards, Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
80
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Our stay with Sue Wilson at her superb home, high on the hill overlooking the town and water, was just a total treat. The view will take your breath away. She has done a brilliant job renovating the home, and we so appreciated how crisp, clean and modern it was. Our lake facing room was supremely comfortable with everything we could want, including a little fridge. Sue's breakfasts are delicious, and boy, we loved that muesli too ! And we got the recipe :-) She is also a wealth of knowledge, and there to help if you need it. Thank you very much Sue - you made this part of our trip, one of the highlights of our New Zealand walkabout !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Well thank you very much for being so complimentary and for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I recently stayed at this stunningly located B&B.The breakfast with homemade muesli well worth getting out of bed for.
It was indeed a home from home made by the owner Sue, who with her local knowledge made my visit memorable. Look no further, you will not find better and there is only one Sue Wilson to make a visit to Queenstown the highlite of your stay in N.Z.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you Mike for taking the trouble to write such a glowing review. Confession it's Mrs. Bartletts toasted muesli straight off the internet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We recently had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at the B and B on the Hill in Queenstown. To be honest, we were feeling a little sad after leaving Wanaka, which we'd completely fallen in love with, and where we'd had a great stay at a fabulous b and b - well it turns out we need not have been worried! This place is fabulous. Sue was not in on our arrival, but the keypad entry system made it very easy to get in and out, and she had left us a handwritten note and a map inside with everything we needed to know. The first thing that hits you when you enter the living room is the stunning vista of Lake Wakatipu. Just spectacular! We made ourselves a cup of tea and relaxed on the sofas for a moment to take it all in. Sue soon arrived home with some old friends who were staying in the second room during our stay. We hadn't yet stayed at a B and B with shared living areas, so we were just hoping that our fellow guests would be easy to get along with - and we could not have been luckier! Both Sue and our fellow guests were delightful to be around and made our time in Queenstown even more special. Sue provided us with lovely breakfasts, enumerable cups of tea, and lots of great stories and local advice. We also thoroughly enjoyed discussing the ins and outs of international rugby, cricket, and tennis - and followed a local golfing grudge match with much interest! We would highly recommend B and B on the Hill if you are planning a stay in Queenstown - it's so easy to get into and out of town - the rooms are fabulous, complete with suitcase racks and beautifully renovated bathrooms. The shared space is also super cosy, with a woodburner and some lovely sofas to relax on and enjoy the spectacular views. Sue is a super host - she has that perfect balance of being available but still allowing you the space to feel very at home - she even hung out our washing one day so we could head out and explore Queenstown - a most generous gesture that we certainly did not expect!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellieTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for writing such a lengthy, lovely review. I emailed your fellow guests (my relations) your review in order to thank them for their help! Derek (the subject of the grudge golf match)responded as follows:-
'You clearly haven't seem my input to Trip Advisor yet!
'' Sue, our host, is an ultra competitive sportswoman who delights in challenging innocent guests to golf on a nearby course then arranges with the local golf professional to hire-out clubs to her guests with a built-in hook, thus ensuring that all her guest's shots swing violently to the left. When the unfortunate guest is completely demoralised, she then condescendingly offers to disregard the score thereby adding insult to injury!.''

The banter goes on, the not so uncompetitive man did have a bad day!! ..................enjoy your travels and thank you for choosing The B & B on the Hill for your stay in Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

susan is amazing! she is not only hospitable, but is extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area. the room is very clean and has amazing views of queenstown. it's about a 5 minute drive to town center. the breakfast is delicious! at an affordable rate, this is a great find!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spatel365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time in Queenstown, it's very busy at the moment celebrating the New Year. All good wishes to you for 2014. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I could spend all day just sitting in the common room looking out the sliding glass doors. Absolutely breathtaking. This a very reasonable place to stay for Queenstown (land of the overpriced!), so we were thrilled that it was available on the dates we wanted. Sue was very helpful yet gave us plenty of privacy, which we greatly appreciated. Breakfast was plentiful (toast, croissbats, fruit, yogurt, cereal) with unlimited tea and coffee. Hiking trails are right out the front door, and the main street is a 15 minute walk down the hill. Walking back up the hill was great exercise after dinner! We stayed 3 nights in the Earnslaw room, and it was super clean and comfortable. Will definitely try to stay there if we're in Queenstown again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
I enjoyed meeting you and would be delighted to host you another time if you make it back to Queenstown. thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Thank you " nurse" Susan! We arrived midday, and me, not feeling well, and proceeded to take a 15 hour nap! Susan made us feel at home, letting us make soup in the kitchen, and just allowed us to relax and recuperate from our long journey. Doing laundry while there makes long term travel so much easier also. It,s a bit of a hike up the hill, so one might consider taking a taxi, but the view is definitely worth the effort. It is breathtaking! even in the rain! We were in the room with the lake view, so even in bed, one could enjoy the outsides! there is a balcony if weather permits. Susan provides a complete continental breakfast to start the day. Susan made the airport shuttle reservation for us on the day we left. That was as convenient as a taxi, and much more economical. There are only two rooms, so do make your reservation early!

Room Tip: lake room has sweeping views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exit63terrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
So glad you were refreshed for the rest of your holiday. Tired legs can always catch a taxi back up the hill. Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review it's much appreciated. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,386 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dairy Private Hotel
The Dairy Private Hotel
#3 of 58 in Queenstown
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
1,439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scenic Suites Queenstown
Scenic Suites Queenstown
#24 of 58 in Queenstown
880 reviews
0.6 mi away
Queenstown House Boutique Bed & Breakfast & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The B & B on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The B & B on the Hill

Property: The B & B on the Hill
Address: 1 Earnslaw Terrace, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The B & B on the Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2010 this home offers well equipped accommodation where you have two options:- - The Lake and Earnslaw double bedrooms offer bed and continental breakfast accommodation at 1 Earnslaw Terrace. These bedrooms have ensuite shower rooms, safe, small fridge, tea/coffee making facility, Sky TV, the Earnslaw has a Queen double bed, the Lake a superking double bed which converts into twin beds if required. There is a comfortable sitting room for guests to use, from which the wonderful views can be seen, in winter cosy by the log burner (the Lake bedroom also has the panoramic views). Maximum occupancy 5 people in total. Minimum stay 2 nights. - The Self catering apartment at 1A Earnslaw Terrace. This accommodation offers two double bedrooms (with superking double beds which convert into twin beds if required), a spacious sitting room, large, well equipped kitchen/diner, large shower room, separate laundry. Maximum occupancy 4. Mininimum stay 3 nights. Access is down a flight of stone steps. There is off street parking, free Wi-Fi, 100% cotton linen and towels, Manuka Honey Body/Hand wash Shampoo/Conditioner. The walk into the centre of Queenstown takes about 20 minutes, so all the many activities the area offers are close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your The B & B on the Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing