We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Real Journeys
from US$333.10
More Info
from US$137.00
More Info
from US$73.00
More Info
from US$103.60
More Info
Reviews (956)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveller rating
585
151
20
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
151
20
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doubtful sound bbq lunch walter peak farm tss earnslaw sheep shearing overnight cruise milford mariner lake manapouri day trip lamb nature guide steamers tasman sea te anau sticky date pudding nature cruise boat ride
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 783 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After days of research we settled on Real Journeys to take us on the Milford Sound tour. I’ll run through the benefits of this tour company and hopefully it will help you decide which tour to take.
Real Journeys have their very own coaches, unlike some of their competitors. Another aspect which should be seriously considered is their glass roof coaches, which have views above both rows of seats (again a lot of other companies have glass above the aisle only) which expands your viewing area. The seats are angled towards the side windows, again to give every single passenger the best ever view.
Several viewing and toilet stops, great commentary.
At Real Journeys choose the Nature Cruise which is worth the extra money for a larger vessel, limited number of people, a delicious, healthy packed lunch, free tea & coffee, a closer look at the magnificent waterfalls, seals sunning on the rocks and even dolphins! An added bonus takes you further into the Tasman than others do. We were lucky enough to see all of the above. We cruised on the Milford Mariner and it was perfect. Plenty of room for everyone to sit, stand, inside or out and lots of photo opportunities.
Real Journeys organised a taxi to collect us from our hotel at no extra charge, and drive to their meeting point at the Real Journeys Office.
This was an amazing and positive experience, I have no hesitation in highly recommending Real Journeys.
Loved it!!!!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 550Frances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

Was looking forward to this overnight cruise and Milford certainly didn’t disappoint. Unfortunately Real Journeys and the Mariner could have been better. We chose the coach option on the basis of it being a 5/6 hour trip. It turned out to be a painfully slow over 7 hour trip. The coach driver was excellent but had we known how frequently it stopped ( close to two hours at Te Anau on the return trip waiting for people from Doubtful Sound) we would have driven ourselves. The boat was lovely however the room was very hot and had no ventialation. The ability to open a window or put on a small fan would greatly help this. Our neighbours were very noisy talking loudly all night- the crew could address this as part of there introductory talk. As a result of a stifling and noisy room not much sleep was had. Would still recommend but drive yourself if you can and be prepared for little sleep.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Karen0167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Anytime we are visiting Queenstown and want to do an excursion we always use Real Journeys. The staff is always polite and always look for the best deal going. This time that got us an amazing deal with the Helicopter Line. Highly recommend the Real Journeys Company

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank JazzbabyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We took the real journeys bus trip to cardrona. Told the buses were a little better than competitors. BUT the seats are made for people only about 5ft 4inchess at most. The reason is the headrest, built into the seats starts to curve forward very low such that the head test starts just below your shoulders. I'm only 5'8. And it was uncomfortable...and I've been on many buses.
Based on this we didn't pick real journeys bus tours...maybe they have different seats. But wasn't going to take a risk.

Otherwise the service was ok.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank xshaun3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

We took the overnight trip to Doubtful Sound, starting from Queenstown. Two hours on a coach to get to Lake Manapouri, one hour on a boat across that lake (very beautiful and atmospheric after rains) then another bus trip before boarding the overnight boat. We booked a private double cabin on the boat, which was fine but in short supply. Others who ended up in shared bunk accommodation were not so pleased. Food was fine. Views were superb. Crew were friendly. Our only real problem was that we had been told beforehand that we could leave our large luggage in their Manapouri office (because you can’t take large luggage on the overnight boat) but when it came to it, they said this was not possible. We ended up having to leave our luggage in a hotel in Queenstown to which we were not returning but who kindly agreed to keep it.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We booked a Fly and Cruise tour to Milford Sound with Real Journeys and when the weather decided to not play nicely the staff went out of their way to try and accomodate us on other tours. They were all so polite, friendly and helpful and on our last day when the weather gods were still sulking they got ups on the coach tour. Barry our driver was incredibly knowledgeable and an all round nice guy. When the weather cleared up at Te Anau we had a coach full of very happy people. We had an amazing cruise with gorgeous sunshine but the best was still to come with Barry waiting for us as we docked saying there was a plane ready and waiting to fly us back to Queenstown. This was just the most perfect day of our trip to New Zealand and I can’t thank Kendall and the team in the office enough for making it happen for us. The scenery is spectacular and I highly recommend Real Journeys for your trip to Milford Sound.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank travelbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews