We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The outdoor spa was heaven after a day on the slopes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The outdoor spa was heaven after a day on the slopes”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We spent 4 nights - we had one of the relaxation rooms on level 1 which had an outdoor spa. The room was great - with a fireplace as well. Wakatipu Grill was a great dining experience. We had breakfast there which was buffet style with the usual mix of cooked and continental . I recommend the Apre ski menu for dinner - available from 5-7 pm. Gives you a great meal at a good price. The only downside was service - which could be slow- on a number of occasions the reception and "magic" numbers would ring out without an answer. Don't bother with room service - takes too long. The spa is good - had a meditation massage - 90 minutes of bliss . Highly recommended! If they could lift their game on service - it would get a five star rating.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psha24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Psha24

Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I am pleased you enjoyed your room and the dining options available.

I appreciate you bringing to my attention some areas for improvement and am sorry to hear that you experienced some difficulty with service. Please be assured that all feedback is greatly appreciated and assists us in improving our overall guest experience.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again sometime in the near future

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,580
    672
    257
    118
    63
See reviews for
485
1,520
106
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My wife & I only had the chance to stay in Queenstown for one night & we are so glad we stayed at the Hilton. It only took 10min on a water taxi to the hotel from central Queenstown & it was bliss.
We stayed in a Relaxation room which was perfect with a spa outside.
There was an error with a booking I made at the hotel spa for my wife but the staff were very apologetic & offered a complimentary treatment which I was told was devine by my wife.
The food was outstanding at the grill but it was the staff that truly made the stay... especially a girl named Ashleigh.. She truly made us feel welcome.
The staff had brains & made an excellent hotel an exceptional hotel....

We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwerido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Edwerido

Great to hear you will be back!

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at the HIlton Queenstown.
I was so pleased to see we exceeded your expectations and thank you for mentioning Ashleigh. She will be delighted to read your positive comments.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I spent 5 glorious days in Queenstown, celebrating our wedding anniversary. We laboriously pored over various websites and Tripadvisor reviews to select our hotel. We had a lovely stay but I have to say it wasn't as stellar as some of the reviews--probably we had our expectations a little bit too high. As far as hotels go--you can't get more high end than this one in the Queenstown area though, that's for sure. We found the layout of the hotel very quirky (you go up, you go down, you go through hallways,etc....a bit of an interesting journey to your room.) We loved the ocean front suite views--I wouldn't stay at any hotel here without a view of the lakes and mountains--because, what's the point of coming all that way not to see the glorious views? The staff is friendly and hard working--especially the gentleman in the Wakitipu Cafe--he was there early and always there late as well--(he may have been the manager)some of the other staff didn't seem to have that same ability to make us feel looked after--for example every morning the hostess asked us again if it was our first day there--this was a bit humorous to us--but we took it in stride. The bakery items on the buffet were fresh and always delightful--we enjoyed them so much...also the freshly made sesame bagels were fantastic as well. We loved the entertainment in the bar area in the evening--really spectacular. I guess the downfall was that we weren't expecting the 1-bedroom suite to be so tiny...it was really more like a medium sized hotel room that had been divided into two rooms. We would have loved to have sat together in the "living room" but there were only the smallish chairs in front of the TV. A small sofa and a chair would be much better. There is also only one closet--which is not a big deal in the summer, but in the winter--we had all the ski clothing and hardly any place to store it. The bed is comfy and the linens perfect. The only other two things: no glasses or bottles of water--in the exceptionally dry air it would have been nice to have a glass and a bottle of water either in the bathrooms or on the bedside tables. Instead, you had to dig around in the mini bar area for a glass just to get a drink of tap water. Not a big deal--but one of those things that is irritating in the middle of the night, and usually provided regularly by 4-5 star hotels. We were a bit surprised also at just a hot water kettle, and not a coffee maker, for those early mornings when we wanted a cup in our room before breakfast (and not instant coffee). The other nit is that someone next door to us had a dirty room service tray outside their door which we had to pass by frequently, that stayed there for over a day. I finally called and asked for it to be picked up. We were also expecting a little fruit basket or wine or something to commemorate our anniversary, as is a usual procedure at a hotel of this caliber, and instead on check in, we received a little note with 3 tiny--smaller than bite-sized, chocolates in a plastic bag. A little cheap, we thought, but it still didn't keep us from having a wonderful time and a lovely stay. In spite of the few irritations, I would still recommend this for those coming to the area, especially if you have a car, which we did. Go for a 2-bedroom suite or a bigger hotel room, that's what we'll do next time.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor...and ask not to be next to the elevator. We were on the 4th floor, but our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeemarieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear DeemarieSingapore

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at HIlton Queenstown.

I was so pleased to see you had a wonderful time and thank you for pointing out a few issues you found.
I understand it is important for guests to receive a memorable experience and your feedback is much appreciated. This enables us to concentrate on areas that require extra training and attention.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

A really stunning hotel tucked away at the bottom of the lake. The staff are really exceptional, down to earth and engaging, its what I call intelligent customer service. Congratulations Hilton your selection process is working well. The rooms are fabulous, great big bathrooms with a fabulous bath and seperate shower, lots of room in the main area and so nice to have an incorporated lounge area with a fire place. You really felt you could relax without feeling claustrophobic. Food was excellent in your main dining area, we had a delicious meal and generous selection for breakfast, something for everyone. If you want to bevery close to town and within easy walking distance of all towns amenities then this is not the place for you, but if your not bothered the Water Taxi ride into town is really novel and you get great views. We did walk into Queenstown, so for the eager it takes around 1hr 15mins at a good pace and you can bus or taxi home.

Room Tip: See if you can get one of the front rooms overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Rodney

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.
I was so pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for your kind comments about our team members and their service.
I understand it is important for guests to receive a memorable experience and your feedback is much appreciated.
I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Wow.... This one is amazing and completely flawless.... Thank you firstly to all the staff that we meet during our stay, you all truly made our stay enjoyable and made us feel right at home.

We stayed for a week at the start of the ski season, so got to know the hotel very well and had plenty of time to take it all in and truly relax and recharge to 100% again.

The rooms are amazing, I stayed in a deluxe lake view room and was not disappointed, the view was amazing and the room was even better. A nice lounge area with fireplace, study desk and big cupboard to unpack. The bathroom was massive with 2 sinks, bath and shower (with rain shower head). To save the best till last The BED, WOW... I had the best nights sleep of any hotel here at Hilton Queenstown... I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud and no adjustments where required.

The hotel is around 10minutes out of the heart of Queenstown which is great, I would recommend a hire car as it is nice and easy to drive back and forth when you want to, if however hire cars are not for you they do have a bus that travels between the hotel and the city at a fee off $8nzd return, or a water taxi.

There are numerous places to eat on the complex so plenty to take your pick from, and there is a great pool, spa, sauna complex with great change & shower facilities.

The carpark is located under the Kawara village, about 50metres from the Hilton, or there is valet parking for $10 per day ($30 for the week). Wireless internet is also available throughout the hotel at a cost of $120 per week (shorter usage is available).

All in all it was the best place in Queenstown to stay for me, true luxury and old style service.

Thank you Hilton Queenstown for an amazing holiday!!! I will return.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aus_Trav_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Aus_Trav_88

Wow... Thank you for a wonderful review!

I am so pleased you had an amazing holiday and were able to experience so many of our facilities within the village.
Thank you also for pointing out the ease of travel into Queenstown. It was great that you found your room so enjoyable.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My husband and I took advantage of Jetstar's $7 airfares and spent two wonderful nights at the Hilton in Queenstown. It is a beautiful property, the decor and amenities are wonderful, the indoor pool area is reminiscent of a resort and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Prior to our arrival the manager emailed us to see if we needed anything, and offered us a half price upgrade to Lake View, which we took and were very pleased we did. The gas fire in the room was wonderful and the views amazing. The breakfasts were the best we've ever had in any hotel and the juicer available to make up your own freshly squeezed juices were another fantastic touch. To celebrate my husband's birthday we dined at The Grill and are we glad we did!! The food was amazing, local ingredients and very NZ, homegrown and nothing fancy but just great quality ingredients. Our waiter Jarryd looked after us so well, and made it a very memorable evening for us. Yes, the Hilton is a bit out of Queenstown, but we liked it for that. Peace and quiet, away from the excitement and business that Queenstown is. We walked into Queenstown, approx 1.5hrs, it was such a beautiful walk around the lake and took the watertaxi back. As there is a perfectly good bus service and a water taxi service, we really don't see the location as a problem - its a plus! We'll definately be back at the Hlton Queenstown!

Room Tip: Go for any upgrade you can afford - you'll be glad you did!! And make sure you take some time t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oaties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Oaties

I am so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay with us at Hilton Queenstown and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are very lucky to be situated on the shores of the beautiful Lake Wakatipu.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding Jarryd, he wil be very encouraged by these words and to know he helped make a very memorable evening for you.

I am glad you will be back and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moab
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Everyone treated us like we were royalty and the room was fantastic. Bathroom was huge with separate shower and bath plus two basins. Nice big bed with separate small lounge. We used the pool which was lovely and clean. There's a sauna as well. The reception staff helped us find a babysitter so we could go to one of the bars in Kawarau Village. No need to go downtown as it's all right next door. We can't wait to go back again. Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greengrassmoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear greengrassmoab

Thank you for sharing your positive comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

It was great to see you enjoyed yourselves and found everything to your liking.
It was a pleasure to have you and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,138 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,451 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#28 of 58 in Queenstown
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing