We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We will be back.”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is a very good hotel in a unique location across the Lake from the town. That is a plus point for us as we could get the water Taxi into town which is great. Just have a drink in the "Pinot pit" have a chat with the other hotel clients and wait for you water taxi then get a boat into the wharf in town. The Wakatipu Drill restaurant was very good and I will definitely eat there again and with a pre and post dinner drink around the pinot pit it is a perfect night. The rooms are spacious and the spa pool and jacuzzi was great after a hard day biking or a not so hard day playing golf. We will definitely try to stay here every time we go to Queenstown which is a least a couple of times a year.... in fact we are going this weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaseK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear JaseK

My apologies for overlooking this reply.

Thank you for sharing your comments and I am pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves.

It is great to hear you will make Hilton Queenstown your local when visiting Queenstown.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,461
    636
    241
    112
    59
See reviews for
436
1,425
91
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We travelled from the Gold Coast to experience Queenstown in summer. We got an amazing internet 'special' deal so for the Hilton brand this was excellent value for money. We had a level 6 lakeside deluxe room with aircon and a romantic gas log fire for the chilly nights. The views were spectacular and the bed absolutely heaven to sleep on. Room Service as you would expect was spot on and the two bottles of complimentary water each night and chocolates with the turn down service were a nice bonus. All staff were professsional, courteous and efficient, however make a big point of speaking with Nathan the Head Concierge on your arrival. Nathan is a real professional and his customer service approach is first class and he takes a personal interest in designing an itinery to timing and your own specific capabilities whether you are an adrelin junky, bush walker, winery buff or couch potato. Nathan's local knowledge means you don't miss out on the 'must do' things to do in the time you have available. On a lighter note Nathan reminded us of the Concierge in Pretty Woman (for those who remember the movie with Richard Geere and Julia Roberts), he makes things happen and has great contacts. With all the Hilton and Queenstown had to offer, we rated our trip a 10 out of 10

Room Tip: Level 6 lake views are perfect in Summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanPacific_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear OceanPacific_11

Wow 10 out of 10 - thank you for such a positive review.
It was great to see you enjoyed yourselves and experienced a lovely spell of weather.

Thank you for your comments regarding Nathan. He will be encouraged to know he helped make your stay more enjoyable.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This was my second stay at the Hilton in Queenstown and it is simply the most stunning location and a truly luxurious hotel. My company uses the Hilton globally and I have stayed in a number of Hilton's and this one is right up there when it comes to luxury and location.

My first visit was shortly after they opened to hotel so service teething issues were to be expected with seasonal workers flowing in and out of the hotel before they have experience in the details of the area etc. It was however so good that I decided to return with my partner and some friends in the summer. The hotel was, as expected, fabulous.

Disappointing though is that the service appears to not have improved. All 3 the restaurants had slow service with staff that were ill equipped with knowledge of both hotel and regional facilities. That being said, a quick rundown is as follows:

Front office staff are friendly and valet was tended to promptly. Room service was painfully slow at 60 minutes on average. The rooms are well appointed and if you can, upgrade to a lakefront view. It is unreal. The bathrooms are huge and have superb baths and showers. The Wakatipu Grill (flagship restaurant) staff were poor for such an exclusive restaurant. The Cafe service was terrible as we waited 25 minutes for a coffee and a muffin when we were the only guests waiting for food and a drink. Stax's bar was busy but the service was slow again. The food was good pub fair but nothing special. We had a major incident with Me&Mee, the noodle bar on premises which I will not go into detail here but the hotel management dealt with it well and the food was sensational.

The indoor pool and gym are world class and the spa is an absolute must.

If you're expecting 5 star service you will be disappointed, but the actual hotel location and facilities make up for it.

Ideally you'll have a rental car as the hotel is a little out of the way and cab-fare to and from Queenstown is steep.

There is a jetty which can be used for boat docking.

There is also a ferry to and from QT which docks outside the hotel which is convenient.

Room Tip: Lakefront or lake view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RudiHefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear RudiHefer

It was good to see you enjoyed your second stay at Hilton Queenstown and thank you for sharing your comments.

I do apologise you found the service not up to the standard expected. I am happy to say we have implemented some new procedures to manage busy periods more efficiently. Extra training has been structured to ensure we are delivering a high standard of service consistently 100% of the time.

I do hope you will continue to stay with us when you next visit Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Excellent hotel as expected as Hilton brand.
Good -
- Free Parking
- Clean room
- Best bed ever
- Best Spa

Need improvement:
- Breakfast menu and quality and taste can be improved to Hilton standard.
- Free WiFi

Even though in other posts the management claims there is free WiFi in the lobby area but not according to the front desk staff, it costs something like 29$ /Day!
Breakfast quality of the food, menu choice and the service were not satisfactory to me compared to other Hiltons.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Dman72

Thank you for taking the time to place your review following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.
The internet is complimentary in the Hilton Business Centre and Hilton Worldwide are reviewing their internet systems and fees.

I do apologise you felt the breakfast quality was not up to standard. I have discussed this with our executive chef and we have some ideas for review. I understand it is important for guests to receive a memorable experience during their stay and your feedback is most appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom delux lake view with our 2 boys 4-8Jan. Really nice rooms, great views etc. BUT, we didn't know that these rooms don't have air con! I can't remember the last place we stayed in that didn't. If we had known we wouldn't have booked it. We were able to get two fans but unfortunately they made little or no difference and we and our two kids had 4 horrible nights trying to sleep, and were then tired and grumpy. Did they not know it can get hot in summer! Nice hotel though. Would absolutely avoid these rooms during summer months.

Room Tip: Confirm your room has air con if staying in summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Paul

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I do apologise you were not comfortable during this time. The residences you stayed in have not been used before, so all guests were informed there was no air conditioning.
This chirstmas we did experience a short unusually hot period of weather with very little air flow.
This is not typical for this area so generally air conditioning is not an issue.

I do hope you have the opportunity to return again one day and experience a more pleasureable time.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed at Hilton 17th Dec - 21 Dec in a King Hilton Deluxe Lakeview Room. Although a bit pricey, we very much enjoyed the beautiful lake views; each day a different view to wake up to. The staff was very friendly and helpful. One night we dined at the Whakatipu Grill. Food was fabulous and we had excellent service.

We also did quite a bit or running and walking along the lake on Kelvin Peninsula and Queenstown track.Great if you enjoy biking, running or walking.

If you want isolation, this is a best place to be.

For dining, the options are to go to the city or dine at the local cafes/pub or the restaurant.

We didn't have a rental car, but was quite happy to walk, bus or water taxi as we had seen most of other Queenstown attractions previously. We caught the Connecta bus and went to the city couple of times. The bus stops in front of Hilton. You need to get off in Frankton bus interchange and get onto a bus that says Queenstown - route 11.

One thing to watch out for is on your return trip, the last bus that leaves Frankton to Kelvin Heights is at 8.26pm. That means you should have caught an earlier bus from Queenstown city to Frankton bus interchange. We missed the 8.26pm bus one day and had to catch a water taxi to get back to Hilton.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are recommended if you plan to be in the hotel during the day as you can enjoy the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poundingfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear poundingfeet

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and were able to make good use of the many facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Hi,

I am a Hilton Honors Gold member so I have stayed at various Hilton properties. This was definitely one of the best. It is set in a very beautiful setting and the staff is very nice. The room had everything you expect from a Hilton. The only reason I don't give it a 5 is because the breakfast was a bit below the usual standard of Hilton. For example, there was no made to order omelette station. Not that big of a deal in an overall sense, but just the reason why it didnt get a 5 whereas Hilton Bora Bora got a 5 :).

Thanks a lot for a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Dear Sakeb

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at HIlton Queenstown.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourself and sorry to hear you thought the breakfast was not quite up to your standard.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
1,356 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kwarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing