We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing hotel on the edge of the beautiful lake with everything you need.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An amazing hotel on the edge of the beautiful lake with everything you need.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

On the edge of the lake this place is very peaceful, extremely well appointed ad everything you need at your finger tips. If you want the lively queenstown township, simply hope on a water taxi (8min) bus or drive road (15min). Excellent location for coronet peak and remarkables ski fields.

The spa rooms are simply the best. Just relax out side in your own private spa and watch the clouds and mountains reflect in the pristine lake :) perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear LeeDonold

I think your last word sums it up, perfect!

Thanks for the feedback, it is much appreciated

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,497
    649
    243
    113
    59
See reviews for
452
1,451
95
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A surprise for my birthday, we stayed two nights at this beautiful hotel. The decor is really nice and our apartment was perfect. The service was excellent and staff always said hello when you saw them in the lobby or elsewhere on the property, from front of house to the house keepers. Unfortunately there was one staff member that didn't quite meet this standard and this was a girl by the name of Elizabeth that we came across at breakfast. We weren't sure what to do when we first arrived for breakfast and stood waiting for someone to help, she looked at us and ignored us so we went to sit at a table and then thought should we sit down ? So my husband approached her and she said we need to see the Maitre D. We did not see her smile once whilst we were at breakfast. The opposite though was Suzy, she was so smiley and friendly a real asset to The Hilton. Also friendly were James and Ana.

Room Tip: The apartment we had was a really good size, included own cooking and laundry facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Rayner4

Thank you for your great feedback

I am sorry that Elizabeth let the team down, I will address with her.

It was great to read the positives of which I will share with the team.

Come back and see us soon

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Very beautiful hotel. We stayed in a relaxation room which was on the ground floor with a private wooden deck with an amazing spa and grass yard. All of the staff were polite. The room itself was so cosy. I loved the fireplace and the standing closet. The huge bed was so comfortable it was very hard to leave! Beautiful bathroom with large bath also very nice. A few cons including just a few minor design issues such as the drive way to the lobby, only one walk way which you can't see very well so most people just walk through the valet area. This is very difficult in heels as the drive way is uneven concrete. The glass door for the shower is in an awkward position. There is limited towel racks in the bathroom and no ventilation so it steams up easily. Secondly, the room service menu is very overpriced, especially breakfast and not very good options. We went the the Wakatipu grill for breakfast, who offer the same option for $10 less. The cooked breakfast consists of all greasy options (scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, hashbrowns, etc) you would find at a cheap buffet. If you want a bit of fruit you have to pay $10 extra to add on the continental breakfast.. Take note of how the Stamford Plaza in Brisbane does a buffet breakfast it is to die for! The dinner menu is very good but also overpriced and the meals are a little on the small side which is not very good value for money and the service was less than satisfactory. The only other issue is the fact there is no complimentary wifi available in your room.. At +$300 a night this should be expected at such a well developed company's establishment. Most hotels and even cheaper motels have free wifi IN ROOMS and in communal areas and at $29 a day at the Hilton, I'm sorry but you need to review this. Other than that we had a lovely 4 night stay and will stay again. Thankyou.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluke101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Fluke101

Thank you for your feedback. You have raised some great points all of which we will address to improve the quality of the service we offer.

I won’t respond to each point now but rest assured we will make the improvements and take the feedback on board.

Let me know when you plan to visit again, andrew.nisbet@hilton.com, I would really like the chance to show you what we have done to improve. Summer is better than winter!

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

On of the best Hilton hotels. Very friendly staff. Gasfire in the room, bathroom was just gorgeous, and a good bed. Hotel have a nice homey feeling, which is very special for a big hotel. We highly reccomend this hotel and a visit to Queenstown.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle170669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Danielle170669

Thank you so much for the lovely feedback. I agree that although a big hotel and village we do have a homely feel.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I must warn you that i am a fellow hospitality worker of 16yrs and have managed 5 star properties myself so i am critical but fare on judgement of where i stay. Arrived approx midday and were told our room wouldnt not be ready till 3pm, even though we were part of a a very large conference our room still would not be ready. However after i voiced my concern and expressed myself our room then became available, its sad that one has to get upset or angry to get service espically in a so called 5 star hotel. Got to the room and a very beautiful view and i will say the room was beautiful, everything you could want, i rang front office to organise a dvd player, it was there in 5 minutes, ( note during our full stay front ofice could not have done more for us, i will say that the front office team, conceige were fantastic ), went to have dinner in the hilton restuarant and as we didnt have a booking we were told we would have to wait, this i completly understand and accepted, we decided to have drinks in the bar and once again the barman went out of his way to look after us, cocktails were amazing, however after an hour and a half of waiting and seeing other people seated before us who got there after us was upsetting, after speaking with the restuarnt manager and even the barman said it was very poor that we had not been seated, he then went and got a table for us. The restuarant manager seated us and told us a waitress would be with us shortly, 10 minutes had gone by then we finally got a menu, we ordered and waited for our meals. Got our meals, the food was unbelivable, it was out of this world, so yummy, however during our meal not one waitress or restuarant manager seen us, i had to get up to the bar myself and get our own drinks, the restuarant manager was to busy getting drinks for the kithen staff to be bothered to attend to us. Yes i know my review maybe seen has harsh, but as i have mentioned i to work in the hospitality sector and have done for 16yrs, just like anyone who goes on holiday my time off is very important to me, so when i stay at a 5 star hotel i expect that level of service and what other customers may miss due to the fact they dont work in hospitality i certainly do pick up on and judge, so as a hospitality worker i will never stay at this 5 star hilton hotel when frankly i believe after the service i got it should only be a 3 star, its a shame a the location is amazing, food amazing, front office amazing, restuarant very bad

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hospitality1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Hospitality1981

I was very disappointed to read your feedback and that you felt the service from the hotel let us down. Your feedback has so many positive notes regarding the service so it is a shame that this incident in the restaurant has marred your overall stay.

Thankfully, as you can read in previous feedback replies, your experience is not indicative of the service levels we offer. At times we are inconsistent, of which I am sure after 16 years in the industry you will of come across in your own operation.

I understand that our Operation Manager did manage to speak to you and your partner to personally apologies for the service levels you had experienced in the restaurant..

Thank you for the feedback it is much appreciated.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a Business trip and had a room with doors that we could see the lake from. The room was spacious and so clean and looked brand new. Gas firplace creadted a great atmosphere. The rooom had 2 TVS one inthe living area and one in the bedroom area. Bathroom was sensational - double basins and a bath and a great big shower. Food at resort was great - good breakfast with lots of choice and the Bar/pub was friendly with good food and a greta outdoor area with a huge open fire. The water taxi came to the resort Jetty. Local bus came as well. Staff were great. Great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkpGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear MarkpGeelong

Thanks for the great feedback. It's a great village we have here and the rooms are fabulous.

You should plan a break in Summer and see the beauty of the place with all day sun, amazing!

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We took up the opportunity of a special pre-ski rate. Glad we did, it was wickedly good. With the cold weather outside the personal; gas fire in our room was welcome indeed. Service was quick and efficient. Facilities great, view good, food excellent, staff friendly. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor-TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear TrevorTJ

Glad you enjoyed you time with us. Keep an eye out for some special deals for the Spring and Summer and take advantage of living so close.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#21 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 58 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kwarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing