We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed as a family of four for five nights over Christmas and booked an extra night prior to flying out from Queenstown on New Years Eve. We stayed in one of the lake view residences - rooms were spacious and spotless, good quality bedding and towels. Kitchen could have done with a few extra plates and cutlery. Our only complaint regarding the rooms was the lack of air conditioning - even with the sliding doors open, the rooms were very stuffy. We used the pool and spa facilities and both were excellent. We ate at Stacks Bar and we ate at the Grill twice. Both occasions the food was excellent and the staff very friendly. We did have an issue with the front of house gentleman at the Grill who spent ten minutes (we timed him) chatting to two girls in the bar area of the Grill who were having cocktails. He passed by our table several times and never once asked how our food was or if we needed anything - we had been trying to get someones attention as our drinks order had not arrived. We felt his approach unprofessional especially after spending over $400 on dinner. We also had wine and cheese in the Cru Wine Bar, again beautifully presented and very nice bar staff. The Hilton is the perfect location if you want some peace and quiet and want to avoid the crowds.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ennis41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Ennis41

Thank you for such a wonderful review.

I apologise for the incident in the restaurant and will speak to the team to ensure we deliver great service to all our guests.

We are awaiting approval to install air conditioning units into the apartments which will help with the cooling of the rooms.

Try and come back in the winter, simply breath-taking views

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,072 - 2,078 of 2,914 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I decided to spend a night in Queenstown after our Wanaka NYE trip, so staying at the Hilton was very much a last minute decision.

We stayed in a Deluxe Lakeview Guest Room and it was absolutely lovely. It has a gas fire, a beautiful view of the lake, a plush king bed and a beautiful bathroom with two sinks. Exhausted from our trip, we simply relaxed on the bed and watched the tele for several hours with the sliding door open. Bliss.

Guests have access to several restaurants (Pub dining, fine dining, Chinese, a deli and a wine bar). We dined at Me & Mee (Chinese) and the food was well priced, fresh and delicious. We even enjoyed an outdoor wine while waiting for our order.

The next morning, I used the Hilton Gym and it was well equipped for a quick workout (cardio machines, free weights, yoga mats and a swiss ball). Completely sufficient for a holiday workout. Otherwise, you have access to many walking tracks from the hotel. I caught a quick glimpse of the pool area and it looked like it could have been some sort of day spa. Simply stunning.

It was a very quick overnight trip so I didn't get to experience all facilities. However, we will definitely be booking another trip when we return in August for our annual snowboarding trip.

My only gripe is the somewhat confusing layout of the village. While the entrance to the Hilton is very obvious, the check in area for Kawarau is not. Truth be told, I had actually booked for the Kawarau Hotel but couldn't find it so used the Hilton entrance (where I was upgraded.... quite possibly by accident but there are no complaints from me!).

Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Always choose Lakeview if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feijoa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear feijoa19

Thank you for a wonderful review. I was really pleased to read how much you enjoyed the facilities in such a short stay.

When you are back in August you should sit in the Pinot Pit at the Wakatipu Grill and enjoy a glass of Otago Pinot. With the snow-capped mountains as a back drop, simply perfect.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

listen carefully to directions to your room! this place is a rabbit warren!

we have stayed at this resort several times. as we travel with kids we book a two bedroom apartment in the residence. the ground floor apartments have no opening windows, and the apartment can be very stuffy. also the air conditioning units can not be turned off, so there is noise all night long, like being on a (quiet) aeroplane. the beds in the apartments are very, very soft and the pillows very firm. if you like the combo, great, but for us, after a few nights we had back aches, stuffed up noses and rather sleepless nights.

not picking - lack of toiletries - had to call housekeeping for shampoo etc.

the restaurants, gym and pool and setting are lovely. the spa is fantastic - really special.

relatives stayed in a deluxe lake view room and it was a totally different story! fantastic room. really gorgeous. perhaps if travelling with kids, spend a little extra and get interconnecting rooms in the main hotel? we shall from now on.

staying out from town centre is pleasant. and the walking/cycling/running tracks from hotel are great too. water taxi service to town in the evening a bonus too.

great hotel - much better value for $$$ than hotels in town or on way. will stay again, but not in apartments.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauradavidgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear lauradavidgrace

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read you are a regular and will continue to visit. I understand the issues with the apartments. We are awaiting approval to install air conditioning units into the apartments that will help with the cooling.

I do agree the Hilton main hotel is very different and worth the extra to stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Booked two rooms December 24-28.
The Good: Decent rooms and bathrooms. Excellent breakfast.

The Bad: Well, quite a bit.
1. "Magic", their main switchboard, is clueless. for example, on Christmas Day, the front desk had a list of restaurants that were open but "Magic" operators knew nothing and were clueless and most unhelpful. Perhaps better communication amongst themselves would help.
2. The Wakapitu Grill: On Christmas Day, we had few options but to eat there. There was a fixed price menu, but NO PRICES WERE POSTED. AFTER A TERRIBLE MEAL( DRY TOUGH STEAK, BLAND APPETIZER) WHEN THE CHECK CAME I WAS SHOCKED- IT WAS NZD 160 PER PERSON !!!! WHAT A COMPLETE RIP OFF. THIS SHOWS A CALLOUS DISREGARD FOR ANY SENSE OF PROPRIETY!!
3. The restaurant service was poor. We had to remind the hostess to get our tea. The service staff would talk politely then forget about you.
4. The concierge had NO DIRECT TELEPHONE ACCESS- WE WERE STUCK WITH THE USELESS "MAGIC" PERSON, UNLESS WE WENT DOWN TO THE FRONT DESK.

NOT RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are quieter but , naturally more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritwick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Ritwick P

Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor experience you had during your stay. Rest assured this is not reflective of the service we offer and all of your feedback will be reviewed with the team.

Thank you for highlighting the rooms and breakfast to be a positive, we will endeavour to make all experiences a positive.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in 2 x 2 bed residences from 28th December 2013 thru to 3rd January, 2014 there was 6 adults & a baby. My husband & I have been to queenstown twice before but the two other couples had not been here, we all knew hilton was well out of town but after reading recent trip advisor member post it seemed they had well organised a shuttle, this is not the case but I will start with positives first.

Eforea Spa - had a massage & it was amazing, couldn't fault the service or surrounds, Catherine did my massage & would highly recommend her. The two bed apartments are pretty amazing well laid out with a few minor issues but they are as described. Concierge was great with getting us cabs, getting our bags delivered, arranging a cot & hi chair for our daughter, etc

Now negatives! Where do I start?! The transport to & from town simply sucks, the shuttle was booked out nearly every time I tried to book it (and I was trying the day before we wanted to use) it runs so infrequently sometimes with 2 he stretches between them, a cab cost about $100 return, water taxi cost $20 per person return & leaves really infrequently, we did get the public bus service sorted out based on a timetable reception gave us which had buses running every half hour to Queenstown however with no warming what so ever & no advice from Hilton the bus company changed the schedule they now only run to town 3 times in the AM & 3 times in the PM there is one service to twin between 8:57am & 3:57pm. We thankfully got car hire on the 3rd day of our stay but every guest we spoke to was fuming about the transportation! Next on the list Stacks pub although the food was reasonable the pub was near dead when we went to have dinner & we waited 45 mins for our meals as well as having to get our own menus from the counter (it's supposed to be table service) next our friends arrived to check in at 2:50pm (check in starts at 3pm) they were told there room would not be ready for 45 mins do best to go 'keep themselves busy' in general we found reception really unhelpful & everything was a hassle all except for one lady (an American lady we didn't catch her name)

My husband & I love Queenstown & will be back however will never stay at Hilton again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Ashleigh M

I was disappointed to read that the transportation to and from the village was not to your expectation. The complimentary shuttle service is very popular and as it is limited in seats we do have to take bookings. Due to the demand we are reviewing the purchase of another bus that will ease the issue of being able to obtain a space. I will discuss the wait for food in Stacks with the team, totally unacceptable.

It was nice to read that Catherine had delivered a great massage and thank you for pointing out some other positives.

I am sorry you will not be visiting our hotel again and do hope that you have a change of heart, we might not get it right every time but I believe we learn from our guest feedback and strive to achieve consistency.

Thank you for your feedback

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

After reading the reviews we expected to have a fuss free stay at the Hilton. Unfortunately that wasn't the case. There were a number of instances that left us wondering how a reputable hotel could be this bad.

On check-in we were told our room was not ready and would be on level 6. We were then told that we would receive a call when the room was ready, so we went into town. We didn't receive a call when the room was ready and was placed in a room on level 5 later that afternoon, which is not problem except we were placed above the bar. A quick call had this sorted and we we're put in a quiet location.

For in-room dining, making reservations and pretty much everything else there was a "magic" button we had to dial. No one seemed to be answering. On a number of occasions we had to dial at least 3x before our call was responded to.

Breakfast buffet variety was good, however service seemed very hit and miss. Some days we were shown to a table and had our coffee orders taken. Other days we had our names ticked off and left to fend for ourselves. Coffee took a long time to get made (longest we waited for was 20mins).

Our one highlight of our stay other than the view was dinner at the Grill and the great service we received from Valerie, our waitress.

Our impression is that there are many competent and friendly staff working here, but they were either under staffed to deal with the number of guests or managed badly.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank L E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear LE

I was sorry to read that we had failed to deliver a great experience for you during your recent visit. Rest assured this is not reflective of the service we offer, at times we are inconsistent which I believe was the case with your stay.

I would very much like to discuss your experience and request that you contact me at andrew.nisbet@hilton.com

I look forward to hearing from you

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in May with my husband and our 8 month old son. I found the location to be perfect, not far from town but far just enough to have nice peace and quiet. The grounds of hotel and vews were fabulous, Staff were so helpful and went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable. We ate Stacks pub a few times whch was lovely each time. We were going to try the Noodle Bar but unfortunately it was closed fo renovations or something of that nature. We were really excited about trying this out so it was a little disapointing, but thats my only complaint.We enjoyed our stay so much we are coming back again May 2014 for 7 nights, but this time trying out the adjacent Kawarau Hotel as it was a little bit cheaper than the Hilton at the time of booking. Would recommend to anyone wanting a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear SuzBrooklyn

Great review, thank you.

I am sorry you missed out on the Me & Mee Chinese restaurant. Rest assured you can look forward to a wonderful experience later this year.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,513 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £119 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, the resort boasts famous waterfront and mountain views. Each of the spacious rooms and fully-equipped residence apartments offer a gas fireplace, separate lounge area and private balcony to satisfy any travel needs. Take the complimentary hotel shuttle bus into town, rejuvenate in the opulent onsite spa facility or simply relax by the 25-metre indoor heated pool with steam and sauna rooms. While the five bars and restaurants including the signature Wakatipu Grill provide sought-after dining options in magnificent settings to complete a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing