We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so 5 star after all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Had the good fortune to be able to stay at the Hilton Queenstown during the Christmas period. My expectations were of course very high as we paid top dollar for the room by the lake.
My gripes:
1. All waiter staff at breakfast were interns, students and all foreigners. We were served tea in a mug!
2. Used the tea bags and some toiletries in the room and these were not replaced the following day after the room was made up.
3. No wifi in the bedrooms, quite disappointing as most overseas hotels, even cheap ones in Italy, provide free wifi!

Doubt we will ever stay there again especially at the price they charge!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jochebed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Jochebed

I was dissapointed to read your review and am sorry we failed to meet your expectations.

We strive to improve in all areas and take all feedback on board to enable us to achieve consistency and deliver great experiences.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,034 - 2,040 of 2,879 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

we loved our stay at Queenstown Hilton, so glad it is not in the heart of queenstown because there were so many tourists and cars and it was frustratingly busy in the town centre. Hilton is located about 15 minutes but easily accessible via water taxi and car. We loved it, we had a lakeside room, the kids fed the ducks every morning and at night we enjoyed the gorgeous pool. The hotel is pristine, clean with a hampton's feel in the rooms. Breakfast was amazing, so fresh and the chef's are constantly making fresh food to order. I would definitely stay again and would not dare stay in the town centre. There were way to many backpackers in the town centre whilst returning to hilton after out travels each day was peaceful and tranquil. i was completely refreshed and am missing the place already!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Pejman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Pejman T

Great review, thank you.

I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the tranquillity of our village, it truly is a great place to stay.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our third stay at this resort. Each time has been fantastic. The hotel shuttle service to Queenstown has been reinstated and makes the travel mush easier. The overall staff was very friendly. The setting is beatiful and quiet compared to downtown Queenstown. You are also now able to rent bikes at the facility. FANTASTIC trails attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Douglas B

Thank you for a great review and for choosing our hotel to stay at when visiting Queenstown.
We receiving great feedback regarding the shuttle service into town, it makes travel so much easier.

Look forward to welcoming you back again

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed as a family of four for five nights over Christmas and booked an extra night prior to flying out from Queenstown on New Years Eve. We stayed in one of the lake view residences - rooms were spacious and spotless, good quality bedding and towels. Kitchen could have done with a few extra plates and cutlery. Our only complaint regarding the rooms was the lack of air conditioning - even with the sliding doors open, the rooms were very stuffy. We used the pool and spa facilities and both were excellent. We ate at Stacks Bar and we ate at the Grill twice. Both occasions the food was excellent and the staff very friendly. We did have an issue with the front of house gentleman at the Grill who spent ten minutes (we timed him) chatting to two girls in the bar area of the Grill who were having cocktails. He passed by our table several times and never once asked how our food was or if we needed anything - we had been trying to get someones attention as our drinks order had not arrived. We felt his approach unprofessional especially after spending over $400 on dinner. We also had wine and cheese in the Cru Wine Bar, again beautifully presented and very nice bar staff. The Hilton is the perfect location if you want some peace and quiet and want to avoid the crowds.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ennis41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Ennis41

Thank you for such a wonderful review.

I apologise for the incident in the restaurant and will speak to the team to ensure we deliver great service to all our guests.

We are awaiting approval to install air conditioning units into the apartments which will help with the cooling of the rooms.

Try and come back in the winter, simply breath-taking views

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I decided to spend a night in Queenstown after our Wanaka NYE trip, so staying at the Hilton was very much a last minute decision.

We stayed in a Deluxe Lakeview Guest Room and it was absolutely lovely. It has a gas fire, a beautiful view of the lake, a plush king bed and a beautiful bathroom with two sinks. Exhausted from our trip, we simply relaxed on the bed and watched the tele for several hours with the sliding door open. Bliss.

Guests have access to several restaurants (Pub dining, fine dining, Chinese, a deli and a wine bar). We dined at Me & Mee (Chinese) and the food was well priced, fresh and delicious. We even enjoyed an outdoor wine while waiting for our order.

The next morning, I used the Hilton Gym and it was well equipped for a quick workout (cardio machines, free weights, yoga mats and a swiss ball). Completely sufficient for a holiday workout. Otherwise, you have access to many walking tracks from the hotel. I caught a quick glimpse of the pool area and it looked like it could have been some sort of day spa. Simply stunning.

It was a very quick overnight trip so I didn't get to experience all facilities. However, we will definitely be booking another trip when we return in August for our annual snowboarding trip.

My only gripe is the somewhat confusing layout of the village. While the entrance to the Hilton is very obvious, the check in area for Kawarau is not. Truth be told, I had actually booked for the Kawarau Hotel but couldn't find it so used the Hilton entrance (where I was upgraded.... quite possibly by accident but there are no complaints from me!).

Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Always choose Lakeview if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feijoa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear feijoa19

Thank you for a wonderful review. I was really pleased to read how much you enjoyed the facilities in such a short stay.

When you are back in August you should sit in the Pinot Pit at the Wakatipu Grill and enjoy a glass of Otago Pinot. With the snow-capped mountains as a back drop, simply perfect.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

listen carefully to directions to your room! this place is a rabbit warren!

we have stayed at this resort several times. as we travel with kids we book a two bedroom apartment in the residence. the ground floor apartments have no opening windows, and the apartment can be very stuffy. also the air conditioning units can not be turned off, so there is noise all night long, like being on a (quiet) aeroplane. the beds in the apartments are very, very soft and the pillows very firm. if you like the combo, great, but for us, after a few nights we had back aches, stuffed up noses and rather sleepless nights.

not picking - lack of toiletries - had to call housekeeping for shampoo etc.

the restaurants, gym and pool and setting are lovely. the spa is fantastic - really special.

relatives stayed in a deluxe lake view room and it was a totally different story! fantastic room. really gorgeous. perhaps if travelling with kids, spend a little extra and get interconnecting rooms in the main hotel? we shall from now on.

staying out from town centre is pleasant. and the walking/cycling/running tracks from hotel are great too. water taxi service to town in the evening a bonus too.

great hotel - much better value for $$$ than hotels in town or on way. will stay again, but not in apartments.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauradavidgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear lauradavidgrace

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read you are a regular and will continue to visit. I understand the issues with the apartments. We are awaiting approval to install air conditioning units into the apartments that will help with the cooling.

I do agree the Hilton main hotel is very different and worth the extra to stay.

Look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Booked two rooms December 24-28.
The Good: Decent rooms and bathrooms. Excellent breakfast.

The Bad: Well, quite a bit.
1. "Magic", their main switchboard, is clueless. for example, on Christmas Day, the front desk had a list of restaurants that were open but "Magic" operators knew nothing and were clueless and most unhelpful. Perhaps better communication amongst themselves would help.
2. The Wakapitu Grill: On Christmas Day, we had few options but to eat there. There was a fixed price menu, but NO PRICES WERE POSTED. AFTER A TERRIBLE MEAL( DRY TOUGH STEAK, BLAND APPETIZER) WHEN THE CHECK CAME I WAS SHOCKED- IT WAS NZD 160 PER PERSON !!!! WHAT A COMPLETE RIP OFF. THIS SHOWS A CALLOUS DISREGARD FOR ANY SENSE OF PROPRIETY!!
3. The restaurant service was poor. We had to remind the hostess to get our tea. The service staff would talk politely then forget about you.
4. The concierge had NO DIRECT TELEPHONE ACCESS- WE WERE STUCK WITH THE USELESS "MAGIC" PERSON, UNLESS WE WENT DOWN TO THE FRONT DESK.

NOT RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are quieter but , naturally more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritwick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Ritwick P

Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor experience you had during your stay. Rest assured this is not reflective of the service we offer and all of your feedback will be reviewed with the team.

Thank you for highlighting the rooms and breakfast to be a positive, we will endeavour to make all experiences a positive.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,233 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £127 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, the resort boasts famous waterfront and mountain views. Each of the spacious rooms and fully-equipped residence apartments offer a gas fireplace, separate lounge area and private balcony to satisfy any travel needs. Take the complimentary hotel shuttle bus into town, rejuvenate in the opulent onsite spa facility or simply relax by the 25-metre indoor heated pool with steam and sauna rooms. While the five bars and restaurants including the signature Wakatipu Grill provide sought-after dining options in magnificent settings to complete a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing