We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nites during our trip to queenstown for holidays. I would like to comment on our lovely experience as per the following:
1. The hotel is near to the airport, just 10-15 mins drive
2. The view is fantastic just next to the lake and overlooking scenic beauty of queenstown
3. We checked into a suite and our room was on the first floor. Even though it was a little far from the main reception, but the room was marvelous. It had large balconies overlooking the lake and one can have a panaromic view of queenstown.
4. The service was very good and the staff is friendly
5. There are multiple options for food here, various restaurants. We had dinner at one of their restaurant called the Grill. The food was good and we were surprised to see they had Indian dishes in their menu. Its just the breakfast was same all 5 days, may be they can have a little variety
6. The only drawback of this place is its away from the main city center, its about 15-20 mins drive from the main center. So it becomes a bit lonely at nite, if you wanna venture out for a walk.

Overall an awesome place to stay if in queenstown. One of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jainaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear jainaman

Great review, thank you.

I was really pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We have introduced a complimentary shuttle service into town to alleviate the issue people have with the distance from town.

Hopefully see you again soon

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,946 - 1,952 of 2,799 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Wonderful location, attentive staff, greta food and brilliant rooms with views to die for.A must stay in summer or winter, water taxi to Queenstown at your door and free shuttle service as well. Only 10 mins to International airport

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Ian D

Thank you for your review, fantastic.

Make sure you come back soon

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for 2 days as part of a surprise birthday trip to Australia and New Zealand for my girlfriends 30th.

Although I am sure people have varying experiences I must say that the customer service here was the best I have EVER experienced at the hundreds of hotels I have been in throughout my travels.

I booked a Deluxe Lakeview Room and was blown away by what was provided for the costs.
The nearby restaurants (we tried Wakatipu Grill and Me&Mee) were excellent.

The only downside (for me - it will be a bonus for some!) is the distance from Queenstown, although I must say that the shuttle bus (free) and water taxi ($20 return) are easily accessible.

If I ever return to Queenstown I will definitely be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moagster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Moagster

Great review and a great recommendation. Thank you

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Overall it was a great stay with good views and a well appointed room. However, my goat at the grill restaurant was too tough. Perhaps this meat is not appropriate for a grill menu. Were also queue's at check out which was frustrating

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famishedtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear famishedtim

Thank you for your feedback.

I will discuss your point regarding the goat with our chef. We are in the process of reviewing the items and replacing those that have negative feedback.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just had an absolutely amazing stay here. The hotel is easily accessible from the aiport, ~$40NZD total for 5 people plus luggage. On check in, we were informed that as Hilton Gold members we had been upgraded to suites and would receive complimentary continental breakfast. This was an especially nice surprise, as these rooms had been booked as award nights. The staff continued to be classy and accommodating throughout the stay.

The facilities are relatively new and top notch. Suites included a fireplace, shower with rain faucet (and a normal one too), a generously-sized tub, and some form of balcony with seating for at least 2 people. The gym area was somewhat small, but sufficient. The pool area was quite nice, with a 2- or 2.5-lane-wide pool suitable for lap swimming and a large hot tub. Separate male/female showers, saunas and steam rooms were located upstairs from this.

We ate a couple dinners at Stacks Pub, which had reasonably priced beer and excellent pizza. Breakfast was at the Wakatipu Grill. The (free for me) continental breakfast was sufficient, but I really love a hot breakfast, so I opted for the $10NZD upgrade to the full breakfast, which included made-to-order egg dishes, waffles/pancakes/french toast, and espresso drinks. It was money well spent, especially considering a latte or flat white alone was going for $7. There is also a small deli/convenience store, which also sells wine and beer. Beers were $5-6NZD/bottle for basics like Steinlager, Corona, etc. Wine seemed a bit expensive, but of good quality.

The city can be accessed by a 25-minute trip via water taxi (~$10NZD/person; do this at least once!) or free shuttle. The area around the hotel is both quiet and beautiful. There are trails for walking/running. There are also some resident ducks and other waterfowl, which was enjoyable.

Considering not only the overall Hilton experience, but also the surround natural beauty, this is a definite contender for my favorite hotel stay of all time. If I come to Queenstown again, which I hope I do, this will be my go-to place.

TL;DR: Stay here! Quiet with beautiful facilities and surroundings. Easy access to the airport and the city.

Room Tip: Get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Mike I

Wow, thank you for a great review.

To be a Gold member you must stay in a lot of hotels so to be picked as number one is great.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My wife & I stayed 4 nights here & the place is great. Great views, friendly service etc.
This hotel is a short distance out of town but the regular water taxi into town is the way to go if you are going to have a drink while in town.
Only downer was the entrance to the hotel is hidden & hard to find, could do with a big sign at the entrance.

Room Tip: Pay the extra dollars & get the lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leathal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Leathal4

Thanks for a great review.

Rest assured I am working on signage for the village.

Look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was our first trip to the South Island and the whole experience was wonderful. The hotel was all that was expected of a 5 start hotel, comfortable room, good service and a great position on the lake. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear AnthonyH

Thank you for a nice review and for choosing to stay with us.

Look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,475 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,197 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,418 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £130 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, the resort boasts famous waterfront and mountain views. Each of the spacious rooms and fully-equipped residence apartments offer a gas fireplace, separate lounge area and private balcony to satisfy any travel needs. Take the complimentary hotel shuttle bus into town, rejuvenate in the opulent onsite spa facility or simply relax by the 25-metre indoor heated pool with steam and sauna rooms. While the five bars and restaurants including the signature Wakatipu Grill provide sought-after dining options in magnificent settings to complete a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing