We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and comfortable, what more do you need?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable, what more do you need?”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

yes it is out of Queenstown and you do really need a car, but on the upside it is quiet. we stayed 4 nights and used it as a base for the attractions Queenstown has to offer, the family used the pool everyday. it would have been helpful if we had been told of the underground access to the pool and carpark only found them by mistake! we made use of the kitchen in the apartment and the supermarket is only 5 min away so saved a lot on food costs. went to the lakeside restaurant one night, as to be expected at the Hilton it was expensive. one good find was the free Theatre, yes free! more like a big home theatre but most enjoyable. room cleaning was a little rushed each day and they usually missed something to be done, not a big deal and when we rang it was dealt with quickly. overall enjoyed the lake views and space of the apartment.

Room Tip: get a room on the lake, worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steamworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Steamworks

Thank you for a great review.

I will address your feedback regarding communication and quality of the room servicing with the team to ensure we are delivering the standards we all expect from a Hilton.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,461
    636
    241
    112
    59
See reviews for
436
1,425
91
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here a couple of days in 2013 and I did not find it the best.

I did not think it measured up to Hilton standards. Not surprisingly when it was constructed it did not start as a Hilton. Was told Hilton took it over for a good price off the developer when it went broke.

This hotel is very out of the way and transportation is very difficult if you don't have a car. Local bus into Queenstown involves two buses. You actually have to change buses. The service is also not the best. I went into Queenstown one night and had to ensure did not miss the last bus back as it would have been a very expensive taxi fare back. Probably as much as the room at the hotel.

The hotel also offered a water taxi into Queenstown and back but again the schedule was very limited.

From the Airport even the taxi fare was not cheap, I saw the Hilton from the plane and it only looked a stone throw away. The taxi driver wanted something like $32 and he even charged me for bags. Not just for a large bag but even a small day back pack and a duty free bag too!. Talk about a rip off but then again Queenstown in NZ is bit like that.

Like many other Hiltons around the world this hotel should include a Airport shuttle service.

Food at this hotel was over-priced. Seen better at other Hiltons and staying here unless you want to make the effort to get away you are stuck with this hotel's food and arrangements.

As a HH member I was not happy with this hotel. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear kiwia1

Thank you for sending in feedback regarding your stay.

Just to clarify the hotel is not owned by Hilton we are the management company, we had no dealings with the financial aspects of the development.

We have introduced a complimentary scheduled shuttle service into town. This alleviates the transport issues and makes the sense of tranquillity at the village more appealing.

I am sorry to read that you won’t be back, hopefully you have a change of heart and come back in the near future

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for four nights and booked a relaxation room which was right on the waterfront with its own hottub and great views. The hotel is not walking distance from Queenstown which was a bit of a pain though as the hotel's own transport was limited. The room was lovely and spacious and the staff were very friendly. Small bugbear - paying so much for a room and having to pay extra for wifi and breakfast not being included.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nelly83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Nelly83

Thank you for sending in your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us during your Honeymoon.

We have various rate options that add breakfast into the rate and we are currently reviewing the Wi-Fi prices and looking at including it in the rate.

Thank you for the feedback

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A lovely lake front apartment, great pool and wonderful spa. We really enjoyed our stay. The location is out of town - we had a car so it was no problem. If you did not have a car but I think it would be preferrable to have a car for this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Jo M

Great review thank you.

If you don't have a car we have a complimentary shuttle service that takes you into town.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great Hotel in a good location, bit far out of town but the facilities, surroundings and atmosphere make it worthwhile and it's easy enough to get in to town (there's a quick water taxi as well). Earlier we stayed at the Copthorne, the Hilton is lightyears better. My wife had a fantastic experience in the spa. Didn't use the restaurant for dinner (we had our first meal at Rata which was excellent, so went back) but it looks OK. Nice walking/cycling path in front of the Hotel along Lake Whakatipu.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gaven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Gaven M

Great review, thank you.

I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the stay and that your wife enjoyed the Spa treatment.

Come back and see us again, you can then have a great dinner in the Wakatipu Grill.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My husband and I took my parents to Queenstown for 4 nights over New Years. We had really high expectations for the Hilton, and this was our splurge for the trip. We had a 2 bedroom apartment booked. When checking in the woman on the reservation desk was very lovely. Knowing that New Year's Eve is a crazy night, I asked at this time what would be the best way to head into town, I was advised that the hotel ran a shuttle and I could book that the day before. So on the 30th I called the front desk to book the shuttle and was told that if we wanted to take the shuttle then the only time available was 3:30 in the afternoon, well that didn't quite work with our 8:30pm dinner reservation. Once we got to our room we were a bit disappointed. A two bedroom apartment turned out to be a 1 bedroom and one room that had two walls and two sliding doors that closed it off from the lounge, but was obviously not big enough to be a room of its own. The 2nd bedroom with the sliding doors was exceptionally stuffy as it had no windows nor did the whole room have any air flow or air conditioning. My husband and I ended up having to sleep with the sliding doors open and open a window in the lounge just to be able to breath. There is only free WIFI in the hotels public areas, which meant that my parents traveling from overseas needed to either pay extra for it in our room or anytime we went for a meal at the hotel they would spend the first bit of time checking emails etc instead of socializing. All in all the hotel is fine, but it feels like it things were just never finished and that they are trying to make money back at every turn instead of providing the guest with the best experience possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear vsolley

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed that there were aspects of your stay that did not deliver on your expectations. Rest assured we take all of the feedback on board and will be looking to see where we can improve the experience.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My family of five stayed here the week after Christmas. We picked this hotel based on the trip advisor reviews (which never let us down!) At first driving into Queenstown we went to the "downtown" area and walked around and had dinner on the waterfront. We were not sure what to expect since this hotel sits on the other side of the lake and in the dark we felt we were leaving Queenstown. However when we arrived it did not disappoint. Our rooms had views of the lake (third floor). You can lay in bed and see the lake. There is a trail(bike, walk) that goes around the lake (bridge) where there are plenty of places to stop and jump in the water(cold for a Floridain)! You can even swim right out the back of the hotel which was steps from our room. There is a water taxi- 20NZ that picks up/drops off right at the hotel dock. We drove most of the time over to the "town" area and never had trouble finding parking- even if you walk a bit the whole area is beautiful and worth it! They have a few restaurants including a mini cafe(quick bites/coffee on site. The staff is beyond friendly (as was our exerience with all Kiwis!) Wait time at the restaurants/cafe was a bit too long for our liking, but had been fore- warned and decided to just relax and go with the slow flow! Rooms had nice size bathrooms- double sinks, shower, bath. Nice size sitting area down a step of two from where the bed is placed. Balcony could of been a bit bigger, but nice to stand. There are other rooms that appear to have much bigger balconies. Housekeeping is excellent never came knocking too early and if we left for breakfast they were done by the time we came back. Very clean- and I am a clean freak! The complex has timeshares/ownership sections and parking can get crowded. Two nights there was not enough parking available, but hotel staff made quick decisions and allowed people to park near entrance on street. Very safe. This hotel is near the airport and a small shopping plaza that had grocery/restaurants/retail. After visiting the "town" area and seeing all the other hotels we had considered we were very happy we choose to stay at the Hilton. We actually acheived a state of "relax" instead of that constant tourism state.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threecharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear threecharm

Wow, great review. I am sure our Trip Advisor friends will find this a really useful review, thank you.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#12 of 57 in Queenstown
1,356 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kwarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing