We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, classy, & great for nature lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Our experience here was nothing short of excellent. The lobby is elegant yet comfortable, modern yet inviting. The front desk staff was very friendly and helped us with not only a smooth check-in but also some helpful tips regarding parking and nearby hikes.

The suite we had was stunning -- spacious and luxurious. The bed was comfortable, the views were amazing, and the bathroom had two sinks and style to boot.

The breakfast buffet was a standout -- way above average. The pastry selection was nice, and we loved the self-serve juicer with a nice array of fresh ingredients, including ginger (which added a nice, unexpected zing to our drinks).

We also appreciated how the hotel was close to various hiking trails. A great stay!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA_Hiker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear CA_Hiker49

What a great review, thank you.

I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and thank you the breakfast comment, I agree it is a great buffet.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,090 - 2,096 of 2,968 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed in Jan 2013 and the rooms were perfect apart from Qtown having a hot summer and really needing aircon otherwise cannot fault the place! Mint pool and clean rooms and a wonderful view.

The SPA is amazing!! I went and had a pamper afternoon on my bday and the service was awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Myounger

Great review, thank you.

We are currently reviewing placing air conditioning units into the apartments, which will make the world of difference in the hot summers.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for a couple of days before we ventured on our 22mile Milford Sound Track adventure. We really enjoyed our relaxing atmosphere and ambience. The room was beautiful and with wonderful amenities.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Dave92024

Nice review, thank you.

I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the facilities.

Come back and see us in the winter, amazing scenery that changes so much

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was a gorgeous property located just outside of Queenstown in the town of Frankton and on the Kelvin Peninsula. Don’t be misguided to think this property is actually IN Queenstown, because it is not. But I actually preferred to be here than in Queenstown, it was peaceful and quiet and had gorgeous views of the lake and the towns directly across.
The Hilton does provide a shuttle into town, but at very long intervals. They should definitely improve this feature because so many people got angry at them when there wasn’t any room on the shuttle. I was told to book space, so I had to plan and did so…so I didn’t have a problem. You can also take the water taxi into town, though it costs money…and again, only comes at specific times. There is a running trail right in front of the hotel that connects all the way into Queenstown from the peninsula.
As for the room, we stayed in the two bedroom king suite with a lake view at The Hilton Residences. It was breathtaking. The room had all the comforts of home including a washer and dryer and fireplace!!! …I just wished could have stayed longer. The restaurants, the service, the views…everything was first class.
I would recommend this hotel to people who don’t mind paying the price, and who want a quiet alternative to the noisy and crowded Queenstown. It’s not for everyone, so do your research before booking this place.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get the Lakeview...it's breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeHeartTravel_143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear TraveLLady30

What a great review, thank you.

We are reviewing our schedule for the shuttle bus service, this will increase the services and reduce the time between them. We have had great feedback since we introduced the service as it makes it easier to get into town.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

yes it is out of Queenstown and you do really need a car, but on the upside it is quiet. we stayed 4 nights and used it as a base for the attractions Queenstown has to offer, the family used the pool everyday. it would have been helpful if we had been told of the underground access to the pool and carpark only found them by mistake! we made use of the kitchen in the apartment and the supermarket is only 5 min away so saved a lot on food costs. went to the lakeside restaurant one night, as to be expected at the Hilton it was expensive. one good find was the free Theatre, yes free! more like a big home theatre but most enjoyable. room cleaning was a little rushed each day and they usually missed something to be done, not a big deal and when we rang it was dealt with quickly. overall enjoyed the lake views and space of the apartment.

Room Tip: get a room on the lake, worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steamworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Steamworks

Thank you for a great review.

I will address your feedback regarding communication and quality of the room servicing with the team to ensure we are delivering the standards we all expect from a Hilton.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here a couple of days in 2013 and I did not find it the best.

I did not think it measured up to Hilton standards. Not surprisingly when it was constructed it did not start as a Hilton. Was told Hilton took it over for a good price off the developer when it went broke.

This hotel is very out of the way and transportation is very difficult if you don't have a car. Local bus into Queenstown involves two buses. You actually have to change buses. The service is also not the best. I went into Queenstown one night and had to ensure did not miss the last bus back as it would have been a very expensive taxi fare back. Probably as much as the room at the hotel.

The hotel also offered a water taxi into Queenstown and back but again the schedule was very limited.

From the Airport even the taxi fare was not cheap, I saw the Hilton from the plane and it only looked a stone throw away. The taxi driver wanted something like $32 and he even charged me for bags. Not just for a large bag but even a small day back pack and a duty free bag too!. Talk about a rip off but then again Queenstown in NZ is bit like that.

Like many other Hiltons around the world this hotel should include a Airport shuttle service.

Food at this hotel was over-priced. Seen better at other Hiltons and staying here unless you want to make the effort to get away you are stuck with this hotel's food and arrangements.

As a HH member I was not happy with this hotel. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear kiwia1

Thank you for sending in feedback regarding your stay.

Just to clarify the hotel is not owned by Hilton we are the management company, we had no dealings with the financial aspects of the development.

We have introduced a complimentary scheduled shuttle service into town. This alleviates the transport issues and makes the sense of tranquillity at the village more appealing.

I am sorry to read that you won’t be back, hopefully you have a change of heart and come back in the near future

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for four nights and booked a relaxation room which was right on the waterfront with its own hottub and great views. The hotel is not walking distance from Queenstown which was a bit of a pain though as the hotel's own transport was limited. The room was lovely and spacious and the staff were very friendly. Small bugbear - paying so much for a room and having to pay extra for wifi and breakfast not being included.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Nelly83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Nelly83

Thank you for sending in your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us during your Honeymoon.

We have various rate options that add breakfast into the rate and we are currently reviewing the Wi-Fi prices and looking at including it in the rate.

Thank you for the feedback

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
1,537 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,283 reviews
0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £129 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, the resort boasts famous waterfront and mountain views. Each of the spacious rooms and fully-equipped residence apartments offer a gas fireplace, separate lounge area and private balcony to satisfy any travel needs. Take the complimentary hotel shuttle bus into town, rejuvenate in the opulent onsite spa facility or simply relax by the 25-metre indoor heated pool with steam and sauna rooms. While the five bars and restaurants including the signature Wakatipu Grill provide sought-after dining options in magnificent settings to complete a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing