We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel. From the contemporary designed rooms with a fireplace, to the breathtaking views over the lake and mountains. The hotel offers several restaurants to choose from and a spa offering an extensive choice of treatments. An indoor pool is also available for those wishing to stay in. The staff was friendly, as well as informative and helpful. The hotel is not centrally located, however, water taxis and shuttle buses are available to take you to Queenstown- just book in advance, or better yet rent a car to explore the beautiful surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCS294229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario R, Director of Operations at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear CCS294229,

thank you for your fantastic review.

Great to read that you enjoyed the Kawarau Village and the facilities provided.

I hop eyou have a chance to visit us again.

Kind regards

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,534
    659
    251
    115
    61
See reviews for
462
1,491
99
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with lovely view located on Lake Wakatipu. The staff was extremely friendly. The hotel was full when I checked in. After one night the hotel had some open room open up and they upgraded me to a king room from a double. Both rooms I stayed in were clean and well appointed. Both included a fireplace and a waterfall shower as well as tub. The hotel offers 3 restaurants but they are not all open all the time. The hotel is located across the lake from the village of Queenstown. There are 3 ways to get across, Free hotel shuttle, water taxi and public bus. Each has its limitations. All run only sporadically throughout the day. The free shuttle gets booked quickly and if it does you will be out of luck. The water taxi only runs in the evenings. If you want to go to the village plan ahead and make reservations with the shuttle otherwise you will be left with only an expensive cab ride into the village. Overall a great hotel with lovely views but it can be challenging to get back and forth across the lake to visit the village of Queenstown.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamondHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario R, Director of Operations at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear diamondHH,

thank you for your review.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the Kawarau Village facilities and the service provided.

The remote location adds to the tranquillity of the village and with the transport options you poited out or a rental car Queenstown can be reached in 15min.

I hope you have another chance to visit us again.

Kind regards

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a relaxation room with private deck and hot tub overlooking the lake, which was beautiful. Great place to stay if you want to just indulge in a nice room. It had a small fireplace, large deep bath tub, double sink and a good coffee machine. But all the other things that make a great experience were lacking.

The room service menu was terrible and the night we arrived the main restaurant was closed for a private function. The staff didnt offer any apology or suggestion as to where else we might have dinner. We wandered around and found the Chinese restaurant which was closed as well. We kept wandering and found the 'deli' but that closed before 5.

We decided to to into town but the shuttle bus was fully booked all night and it was too cold for a water taxi.

The staff we encountered had plastered-on smiles (think Disney Land over the top) but made very little effort to actually help you with anything. You are told to call 'magic', your personal hotline - which is far from magic. It took us three attempts to get hold of anyone. When we decided to go into town, they didn't tell us that a flat rate of $50 applied to the taxis and even then they booked the taxi for the wrong time than we requested. They failed to mention that there is a Connectabus service and when we asked them about it they didnt know what time it ran or what route we needed.

So overall, if you're happy to fend for yourself with food and enjoy your outdoor hot tub, you'll be fine. But you are very isolated and i wouldn't recommend this hotel if you want to explore Queenstown.

Room Tip: Relaxation room is worth the extra, your own outdoor spa is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaB36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario R, Director of Operations at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear EmmaB36,

thank you for your review.

I'm happy to read that you enjoyed the comfort and features of your room.
Please accept my apologise for not meeting your expectations with the quality of service provided in the Village. Please rest assured this is not the standard we aim to offer. Your points have been addressed with the relevant departments to take actions accordingly.

I hope you have another chance to visit us again.

Kkind regards

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

If you are looking for a contemporary, stylish hotel with in room fireplace to take advantage of the lakeside location, then you can't go past the Hilton Queenstown.The atmosphere is relaxed, and the staff are friendly. Be aware that this hotel is located 20 minutes car ride outside of the main center but that was not an issue for us as we hired a car for our 4 night stay. I highly recommend the Hilton Queenstown for a memorable stay in beautiful Queenstown.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 769walterl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario R, Director of Operations at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear 769walterl,

thank you for your great review.

it's nice to read that you liked the design of the hotel and the atmosphere in the Village. The remote location definitely contributes to that and various transport option (taxi, water taxi, public bus, courtesy shuttle or rental car) are available to connect to town.

I hope you have another chance to visit us again.

Kind regards

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Beautiful Hotel right on the lake. Quality furnishings and excellent service. Very Clean rooms and bathrooms. The Pool, SPA, Sauna and steam rooms were above and beyond all other 5 star hotels. We had the 2 bedroom apartment which had everything a family needed for an extremely comfortable stay. To Enjoy Queenstown NZ, YOU MUST STAY at the Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank HBaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario R, Director of Operations at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear 418hamedb,

thank you for your fantastic review.

Great to read that you enjoyed the facilities in the village and the comfort of an apartment.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
181 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I had a lovely time at this property and HIGHLY recommend upgrading to Lakeview! Wakapitu Grill was tasty and had a gorgeous view, and the $10 water taxi is well worth jetting into Queenstown. Excellent wi-fi, great hot-tub and lap pool, and excellent service all-around. I hope to return someday soon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wandersmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario R, Director of Operations at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear wandersmuch,

thank you for your great feedback.

I'm looking forward to welcoming you back to the Kawarau Village.

Kind regards

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We had three awesome days staying two nights at the Hilton during our trip to New Zealand!

The Hilton was amazing. The staff are lovely and couldn't do enough for us. The valet, water taxi, shuttle, restaurants, facilities and the view were all fantastic.

We will definitely be returning to Queenstown and hope to stay at the Hilton! What a great experience.

Lauren from Sydney

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenPiggott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario R, Director of Operations at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear LaurenPiggott,

Thank you for your great review.

I'm you have another chance to visit as soon again.

Kindest regards

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 58 in Queenstown
3,096 reviews
3.3 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
4.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Property: Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you set foot inside the Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, you'll discover a place that not only celebrates the world-renowned beauty of this region, but immerses you completely in that beauty. Welcome to a new way to experience Queenstown. Welcome to Hilton. This is an exhilarating setting, and one without compromise. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa faces north, delivering full afternoon sun and showcasing panoramic views over an unspoilt terrain famed the world over. Watch the deep blue hues of the lake shimmer and glisten and savour this most intensely beautiful destination. In the heart of vibrant Kawarau Village and just 15 minutes via lake or land from Queenstown, you'll enjoy effortless access to all the excitement on offer in the region - and the closest accommodation to The Remarkables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing