We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't normally bother to leave a review but I'm really disappointed by some areas of service we received at a recent stay. When we checked in we were told by reception that we did not have a lake view and that our room was at the back of the establishment. If we wanted a partial lake view we could pay an extra $40 a night or for a full view $100 a night. We felt this to be a little much as we were only staying a few nights although we were disappointed that we wouldn't have any view. We went up to our room only to find that we did in fact have a view of the lake. We felt that we were only told this as to get more money from us. This is only one of a few disappointing incidences. The plug in our bath wouldn't work the bathroom cupboard door was falling off and the room service was ridiculously over priced. I wouldn't have minded paying for a decent meal but over $25 for a pizza that looked like it had just come out of the freezer and $22 for pasta that looked like it was out of a jar is a bit ridiculous. We actually had to go out later and get nandos. Also$40 for breakfast that's your only option you can't just have some toast or cereal it's $40 or nothing. The pool is like being in a dungeon and the spa isn't really a spa just a big hot dirty bath and the saunas which we couldn't find were male and female. One last thing don't take the concierges advice of renting your ski gear from browns. It is a complete rip off. They only tell you that because they have a store at the Hilton. You can get gear for half the price in town. Also they do have free shuttles but they only run at certain times and stop coming back by about 10. A cab ride from town is about 45 we ended up just hiring a car because it was cheaper. Don't waste your time and money. Stay somewhere in town.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Lili A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,732 - 1,738 of 2,879 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Our first trip to Queenstown and our room did not disappoint. 2brm resident suite overlooking the lake and mountain decor very tasteful. Kitchen design was a little hard to reach anything as all up very high. The hotel is very stylish in a dark decor way. Breaky included was good and dinner at the pub on the grounds also reasonable priced as the kids ate free was a bonus. The only disappointment is the hotel is about 10km form town. hilton offer a free shuttle every like 2hours but not very regular times and must book only 10 seats in van. There is a boat transfers but this is not included $10 each way to pricy for a family we did not use this option.
Would not stay here again felt like we were out of all the town action nothing is walking distance.

Room Tip: Anything looking over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Summa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed in one of the Lake Wakatipu Suite (1 bedroom suite) with our 1yr old. Included in our advanced rate booking was breakfast and dinner nightly. I won't cover location options wifi or grounds as that's covered quite well in other reviews, I'll touch on areas I haven't really seen on other reviews.

Room
The suite was very convenient and nicely appointed. It was quite convenient to have the separate living space as that meant we didn't have to go to sleep when the little one did. The fire place was a nice touch. The cot was already set up when we got there which was great as we have travelled to other resorts in the past and have had to ring a few times for a cot. The Fire place was relaxing on a winters evening. Our bed was two singles pushed together for a King which was slightly uncomfortable in the middle. Our balcony was also tiny! When looking from the outside it looked as if we had the smallest balcony. That was disappointing as we did book the highest room category and the room next to ours jutted out a few meters forward so blocked the view of the snow capped mountains. On the upside, the view we did have was nice and the afternoon sun on the balcony with a coffee from the inroom coffee maker was very relaxing.

Dining
As mentioned at the top of the review, we had breakfast and dinner included for each night. Breakfast was ok. I like my eggs cooked to order as I like my eggs runny and I found the batch prepared eggs overdone. The rest of the buffet was good, the pastries a nice indulgence. The coffee from the barista is a plus.

The dinner inclusion worked well for us as the drive to Queenstown and dinner at a restaurant would try the patience of our little one. We thought if he really cracked it we could have a quick getaway to our room. Thankfully that didn't need to happen. Dinner was available at all restaurants but we ended up eating at Stacks and Wakatipu Grill. At Stacks (and Me &Mee) you are able to order any two courses. At Wakatipu Grill there was a set menu you ordered from.

Food and service at both restaurants was faultless. Even when Stacks was busy we received our food promptly. The children menu was different at Stacks and the Wakapitu Grill, this was awesome as other resorts have the same kids menu in each restaurant on site and that gets quite repetitive. At Wakapitu Grill our son received a similar fish dish that his dad ordered which the little one loved it. That's the fanciest dinner he has had and he polished ever morsel off.

We did find that the breakfast and dinner option was a lot of food, but also gave us great value. I think it was an extra $100 a night for breakfast and dinner... I can't remember the exact difference. You can only book this package on the Hilton site or through the hotel. Oh drinks aren't included with the pre pay option, but that did not bother us.

Service:
We found the service to be great at the Queenstown Hilton.

I have been a Hilton diamond member in the past, but my rating has dropped to blue as I don't travel as much as I used to, but I didn't find the level of service to be too different. All of the staff we passed in the halls or grounds gave a friendly hello or greeting. My other half had his birthday here and I organised a cake to be delivered to the room (from an outside vendor) on our arrival day and everything went smoothly (thank you MAGIC team). We were given glasses of champagne when we had dinner at Wakatipu Grill. Valet always had our car delivered promptly and they packed our bags in the car when we left.

Booking
I tried to book for 2 adults and 1 child via the Hilton website and via Hilton Honors phone line and neither would let me book the 1 bed suite stating over occupancy even though the Queenstoen Hilton website clearly states that this occupancy is allowed. I rang the hotel directly and they were able to book the room.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hilton and we will be back. Hopefully we can try the 2 bedroom residences :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denise_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is our second stay at this hotel and just like the first time, everything about it is faultless! The rooms are clean, staff friendly and the views are simply amazing!! The bed is comfortable although pillows seem a little uncomfortable. We had Buffett breakfast as part of our package which had a great variety and was tasty. The only suggestion for improvement is to allow free internet access to all rooms as the price charged is a little pricey. Great job guys- look forward to coming back for another visit soon!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeNed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed in August and was upgraded to Deluxe Lakeview two bedroom apartment style room on the ground floor where you can easily access to outside and breakfast venue. You will find all staffs have good hospitality skills.

Pros: a fireplace, modern clean room, mountain view, good Wifi, staffs, variety of restaurants, free shuttle bus Cons: Variety/quality of Breakfast menu is not as good as other Hilton properties, Spa next to a pool is not working

It would be good if there's more courtesy shuttle service during a peak hours (especially at night) but we were lucky to book a seat every day during our stay. A drivers were so helpful and comes on time. I will be back again next year and will stay at Hilton Queenstown.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yux2Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel is close to the airport so its out of town but has good cafe's etc. close by, some in the complex. Great room with gas fire, staff helpful, excellent bar food and a really good vibe to the place

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed in Deluxe Lakeview rooms. The hotel was located conveniently, close to the airport and ski fields (and Remarkable Shopping Centre). We had rental cars but you can easily do without cars as the hotel provides courtesy shuttle service to/from Queenstown every two hours, and water taxi ($10pp each way) from the hotel's own private jetty every two hours. North facing location was perfect to enjoy warn winter sun a bit longer than other accommodations on the other side of the lake. (When we were in town the sun started setting around 3:30pm but at the hotel we got to enjoy the sun until after 5pm) The rooms were clean, warm and cosy, was worth every money. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, we felt right at home throughout our stay. Reception was warm and welcoming. The lounge area was cosy and warm near the fire place, good place to chill with a glass of wine. We found out the internet was only complementary in the lounge area and available to rooms at an extra cost. However, we didn't have problem with this at all as it has given us a real chance to get away from daily habits and have a truly relaxing holiday. The hotel has everything you would need for a true getaway. We loved staying at Hilton Queenstown. We won't stay anywhere else next time we come back here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Freespreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
1.9 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
3.2 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,233 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £127 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, the resort boasts famous waterfront and mountain views. Each of the spacious rooms and fully-equipped residence apartments offer a gas fireplace, separate lounge area and private balcony to satisfy any travel needs. Take the complimentary hotel shuttle bus into town, rejuvenate in the opulent onsite spa facility or simply relax by the 25-metre indoor heated pool with steam and sauna rooms. While the five bars and restaurants including the signature Wakatipu Grill provide sought-after dining options in magnificent settings to complete a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing