We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good walk with nice views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queenstown Hill

Queenstown Hill
Book In Advance
More Info
US$157.94*
and up
Queenstown ATV Tour
Ranked #2 of 117 things to do in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good walk with nice views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I'm not that fit, so our walk up the hill was more strenuous than I'm used to - there were several steep sections that wreaked havoc on my calves - but it's really not that difficult on the way up, plus there are beautiful views at the Basket of Dreams. Just stop along the way whenever you need to, bring water and snacks (or lunch) to eat on the way or at the top, and you'll be fine. A good, FREE activity to do for an hour or so in Queenstown.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank emTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    744
    251
    24
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Queenstown Hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Brilliant walk. Really gets the heart rate up and the views from the top are fantastic. Took us about half an hour to get to the top and half that to get down again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Walk up Queenstown Hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

If you enjoy walking and the outdoors definitely do this walk. It is a 2+ hour round trip but with places you can stop if you don't want to go to the top. We thought it could have been better signed at the junctions.

No loos, cafes etc so be prepared.

At the top you can look across to Bob's Peak which is lower.

Walking up Queenstown Hill is a free activity which gets you off the beaten track, but beware lots of uphill sections, some steep. Notice boards along the way tell you something of the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank StellaCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I am not particularly fit, but managed this in 45 mins (up) and about 25 back down. Great walk, superb views from the basket of dreams, and I'd recommend it! You even have a choice of routes, from about 2/3 of the way up you can go right through the trees on a nice wide path, or left across rougher terrain and in the open - both great walks. Go up one way and down the other!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Steep ascent and amazing views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

The Queenstown Hill walking track is accessible from the CBD - although if you are walking from the CBD, the ascent starts pretty much from the end of Ballarat Street! As you are climbing a mountain, it is an ascent the WHOLE way. It's challenging but definitely well worth the effort! The views are fantastic! Photos don't do justice!

I also love how you can take photos with no interruptions, other people, etc as there are not many tourists around! Climb to the summit, you wont regret it!

The descent is all downhill (we jogged it down) and can be quite tough on the knees.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank coleen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Queenstown Hill also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Queenstown Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing