We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This medium size hotel complex is situated in a beautiful lakeside location outside Queenstown. A boat taxi from the jetty or five minute car ride takes you to the busy town. If you want quiet and tranquil surroundings this place was perfect. There's a choice of places to eat from a quick reasonably-priced deli meal, or a modern Asian-style cafe, to an award winning fine dining restaurant. We only stayed two nights and didn't have time to try all the amenities but thoroughly enjoyed the free de-luxe cinema on site. The rooms were small but modern and nicely furnished. There was some confusion at first in finding the Kawarau entrance since there are two hotels on site with the Hilton being the more luxurious - we advise you to check out the on-line map first. We had a good deal by paying ahead direct to the hotel and shall certainly stay there again. It is the most modern and quiet hotel we've experienced in Queentstown.

Room Tip: "mountain view" rooms at the back are quiet and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ursula901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Dear Ursula901

It was lovely to hear you enjoyed yourself during your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback.

We have now received our resource consent to allow signage within the village so this will make it easier for guests to find their way around.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to allow you to sample the remaining amenities.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,184 - 1,190 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in December and absolutely loved it. The hotel is outside of Queenstown which was fine as we had a car. The staff were so eager to help, from check-in to the cleaners they couldn't do enough to help.

The room is compact, but very well designed. The bedroom was great as at night it was totally dark and the bed was very comfortable. There isn't much cupboard space but just ask for more coat hangers. The kitchen has everything that I needed to cook breakfast and a few basic meals - helpful when travelling with kids. The room was also very clean.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Dear BAB88

Thank you for placing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I was delighted to see you enjoyed yourselves and found our team members very helpful.
I am pleased to see you would be happy to stay again and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Spent 4 nights at the Kawarau and it was most impressive.Only slight downfall was that there was nowhere to store small garments.( just left them in our suitcase). Ans dont forget to take your phone adapter as I didnt and their one was difficult to book! Beautiful setting, lovely rooms and well fitted en suite. And the weather was warm and sunny. Take the water taxi into Queenstown itself and organise a wine tour out to Gibbeston Valley.Or drive out, only about half an hour if that. All three of us had a lovely time.

Room Tip: one with a clear view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrkneygirlOratia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2012

Dear OrkneygirlOratia

Thank you for placing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I was so pleased to see you had a lovely time and were able to experience the local vineyards.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

After reading the online description "our deluxe rooms have stunning LAKE VIEWS and feature impressive guest amenities", I booked four nights in a deluxe room.
The website claim is misleading as the only view of the lake in our room was when we were standing near the window which was above my waist height. There was no view whatsoever when seated in the room.
I immediately wrote a note to the hotel manager and delivered this to the front desk reception.
However, I received no response at all from the manager or anyone else.
I was between a rock and a hard place as I had booked and paid in advance. Otherwise, I would have checked out on priniciple based on the misleading deluxe hotel room description.
Also, the hotel bed sheets remained unchanged for four nights and servicing of the room was as late as 7pm on some nights.
A four-star hotel - I think not.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear P Downey

Thank you for taking the time to place your comments on trip advisor regarding your recent stay in the Kawarau Hotel.
Firstly I apologise for the delay in response. I have been on annual leave and we do not have a contact address or number for you.
I am very sorry you were disappointed with your room. We are currently reviewing rooms and their online descriptions.
Thank you also for mentioning your housekeeping issues. It is housekeeping policy to change sheets every third day so it appears they failed to complete this with your room and I do apologise.
It is important for guests to receive a memorable experience at the hotel and we are continuing to train our team members to ensure we deliver consistency as our prime goal.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Lovely hotel, and staff were very accommodating, nothing was a hassle. Only stayed one night (1st of Jan) but could have stayed longer. Away from the hustle and bustle of QT (new years) .... very relaxing.
Had the relax room - with the outside spa. Lovely room with fireplace, and great views. Own deck etc. Bathroom was stunning, and the kingsize bed amazing.
The only comment would be this is something I would only go in at night (when it's dark) as you are at the front of the hotel facing the lake, and people walk by and can see you in the hot tub.

Room Tip: I'd choose a room on the lakefront as we did - the relax room with it's own outside spa pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank euro79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear euro79

Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your recent stay which was at the Hilton Queenstown - situated beside the Kawarau Hotel.

I was delighted to see you enjoyed yourself. I understand your concern relating to using the hot tub and being in view of walkers on the track. We currently have sail shades to put in place and the vegetation will soon grow so this will not be an issue.

Thank you again for sharing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton again in the near future.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Yes yes yes....so the rooms may be small, I found it more than adequate and had everything & more that we required. The staff were very professional and were extremely helpful always offering to assist in every way. The rooms exceptional and although we spent a few days at an apartment in town we wanted to get away where everything was at hand and the KH certainly exceeded our expectations. Close to the airport, Remarkables Shopping Centre, lovely lake walk/run/bike track, water taxi to town was cheap and fun.....the only downside which does not directly affect the KH was the very poor service at the Stacks Pub. We had to wait over an hour for our mains, of which one was sent back, the waiter was dropping chips left right and centre off my plate as he walked around the next table to deliver their long awaited meals. They complained rather loudly and he was in a tizz. They did offer free desserts but to get your meals at 9.35pm was not on. Try the other restaurants.

All in all we are going to book here again and I shall tell my clients to stay here as well, fantastic at $127 per night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabelMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear Isabel Mckay

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
I was delighted to see you enjoyed yourself and found the rooms and location to your liking.

I do apologise for the poor service you encountered at Stacks Pub. This is not acceptable and I thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Extra training will be given to team members to ensure this does not happen again.

Your satisfaction is very important to us and we strive to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.

It is wonderful to hear you will be back again and I look forward to ensuring it is a memorable experience.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Ate dinner with 7friends at their top class restaurant! Took a water taxi to and fro from Queenstown harbor!! Great fun!! Expensive place but worth every dollar!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Dear Ballard55

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent dining experience at the Hilton Queenstown.

I am delighted you enjoyed yourself.
Thank you again and hope you return to the village and experience some more of the many facilities available.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 58 in Queenstown
3,201 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 58 in Queenstown
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#11 of 58 in Queenstown
1,420 reviews
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 58 in Queenstown
1,476 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £95 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes’ drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 220 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room, boasting breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing