We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #28 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Kawarau Hotel at the end of January for two nights. I booked a great deal months before and was expecting a decent stay based on the reviews I had read. I was pleasantly surprised to find a very attractively remodeled hotel. From the lobby to the room, this hotel was very nice, stylish and clean. The parking garage was convenient and easy to access from the room and lobby. The water taxi to Queenstown was a great bonus, allowing us to enjoy a few drinks in town and not drive. The ride was scenic and pleasant. We did not eat or drinking at the restaurants, but we did grab breakfast on the go at the small shop, which was convenient. Overall, excellent stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: We did not request a room type, but were at the end of the corridor, which meant that the room was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel Loving L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Travel_Lovin_Lady

I appreciate you taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
Yes we are a new hotel and have been open for less than 2 years.

I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves and I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    400
    145
    52
    28
See reviews for
173
627
71
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

£60 per night or roughly $90. We didn't have breakfast or meals included.

Hotel was brilliant and very classy. Rooms were incredible and if you are lucky enough to get a good view it makes it that little bit better!

Bedroom was the best part of the room - biggest bed I've ever slept in.

There are some good tracks near the hotel which were good for running on if you're into that!

Bad point was that it was far away from Queenstown - It was at the opposite side of the lake. Quickest was to get there was a taxi but it's ridiculously expensive. Bus is the cheapest way to get there but if you're getting a return the buses don't run very late at night. Water taxi is another option but it's $15 NZD for a return. Last return is 10pm so you can't stay there too late.

Also note that there aren't any grocery stores near the hotel, you have to bring stuff back from queenstown. There is a cafe beside the hotel which has some stuff in the fridge but literally all they sell is juice, milk and bread.. and cereal.

4/5, still a brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Dear Dan

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves. There is a small shopping center with a supermarket situated between the airport and the hotel. A 5 minute car ride or 15 minute walk.
our Lake Counter Deli has a full selection of foods including fruits, vegetables, eggs and dried goods.

Thank you again and I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

I could live in this place. Great location by the lake (though a commute from Queenstown), it was stylish, clean, quiet and comfortable. Good pub & bar food.
Water taxi was good for getting to Queenstown NZD15.00 return.
We got a room via Expedia for GBP40 which was outstanding value. Even turning up on the day at the weekend when travel plans changed a room was GBP70.
Apart from the distance from Queenstown, this place is great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wandojames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Dear wandojames

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Kawarau Hotel.


It was great to see you enjoyed yourself. Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
273 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We loved our stay here, especially the daily continental breakfast next door at the larger Hilton that even included a juicer so we could make your own fresh vegetable/fruit juice! The restaurant has a lovely view of the lake. We also enjoyed the pool and hot tub at the Hilton too. The Kawarau apartments have a small kitchen but no dining table so it really is best for just snacks or reheating leftovers. We didn't try to cook but did enjoy dinner twice at Stubb's pub across the street and once at Me & Mee's. This hotel is about a 15 minute drive from Queenstown - actually in Frankton - but if you have a car, that is really not a problem and we preferred being a bit away from all the activity in Queenstown. The Kawarau also has nightly complimentary movies in a comfortable seating venue. We will definitely recommend this hotel to friends. The other couple we were traveling with are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor rooms have a limited view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Dear Sandy817

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and were able to experience so many of our facilities within the village.

Thank you for recommending us and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2013. I was attracted here by the accommodations own website and a very good price, inclusive of full breakfast.

The accommodation is NOT in Queenstown itself. Kawarau Hotel's website does show that it is some distance from Queenstown, but also shows a Queenstown address. This COULD be misleading.

Unless there are several of you or you have a lot of heavy luggage, there is NO NEED to get an expensive airport taxi from the airport. Instead, get the airport bus, which requires one change. (The drivers are very helpful and will assist you).

Likewise, to get to and from Queenstown, you will need to use the local bus service, or a water-taxi service. The water-taxi service is a good way of having a tourist trip on part of Lake Wakatipu.

My room was very good - spacious and clean and well-furnished, and with a beautiful view of the lake. (I think all rooms have a beautiful view!) The bed was also extremely comfortable.

Breakfast was excellent: good quality with plenty of choice.

Internet access is a rip-off! NZ$29 per day, so forget it.

Some facilities are shared with the main Hilton Hotel beside Kawarau Hotel, including leisure facilities, but I think that most guests have to pay to use these unless they first pay for a spa treatment or something. I did not bother: I think that, if you are a hotel guest, basic leisure facilities should be inclusive.

There are a few places to eat and one place to buy groceries from here. But the maxim seems to be that, if you are staying here, you are a captive market, and prices - especially in the grocery - are inflated accordingly. AVOID - and go to the many shops in Queenstown itself for your supplies.

This accommodation has a lovely setting but I was left with the impression that, while trying to play-down its isolation from Queenstown proper, it then tries to maximise this isolation by charging too much to people stuck here with no other choice.

So, I probably wouldn't stay here again, and would advise other would-be guests to consider the above points before they do so.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GavBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Dear GavBelfast

Thank you for taking the time to place your review following your stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
As the Queenstown basin is so small a Queenstown address covers the whole area.

We do provide complimentary internet in the Hilton Business Centre. I appreciate your comment regarding the leisure facilities. As the Hilton is a five star hotel, the guests pay alot more to stay in the Hilton, therefore, the facilities need to reflect this.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed breakfast.
Thank you again and hopefully you will come back and stay again sometime.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Are the words 'managed by Hilton' meant to add prestige to this property? Even the person at the Hilton call centre in the US couldn't explain what's the difference between a regular Hilton and one 'managed by Hilton.' Regardless, I think this hotel can stand on its own. It's across the road from the Queenstown Hilton and share many facilities. Although not as flash as the one across the road, it's very clean, modern, very quiet and away from the crowds in town. An easy water taxi ride (NZ$15 return ticket) or Connectabus (NZ$8 return ticket) into town if you need to get a fix of town life. My room had its own kitchenette including an electric stove for simple meal preparation. There wasn't a bath but the whole bathroom was very disabled-friendly including an emergency cable over the shower recess to call fall help in case of a fall. My only complaint would be the extortionately expensive wi fi access fee of NZ$30 for 24 hr use which was about 25% of my room rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view. Otherwise you might end up with a room looking into rockwork/cliff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Alvin

Thank you for taking the time to place your review following your stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
The 'managed by hilton' means the Kawarau Hotel is not a brand hotel and is not part of the Hilton Worldwide family of hotels. Being managed by hilton enables the hotel to share many of the Hilton facilities.

We do offer complimentary internet in the Hilton Business Centre.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay next time you are visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

15 minutes out of town takes you to this wonderful area right by the remarkable s mountain range so if you do not mind the drive or water taxi(£) then this is perfect. The hotel itself consists of mini suites with cooking facilities (oven,microwave, fridge etc) and is next to the Hilton hotel were the facilities are such as the spa or swimming pool at a charge. There is a cinema that you can use at the kawarau, just ask the reception and you have a choice of DVDs. We loved our stay as we like space plus the choice of cooking facilities and although its compact you do feel comfy and the location is very pretty.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Dear H H

Great to see you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for sharing your comments.

Thank you for mentioning our many facilities within the village and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again next time you are visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#27 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pounamu Apartments
Pounamu Apartments
#13 of 57 in Queenstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#22 of 57 in Queenstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,998 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Savor our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie upon arrival and settle into one of our comfortable and inviting guest rooms. Ideally located in the heart of Kawarau Village, this modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes' drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Go skiing or snowboarding in the winter months or try exciting outdoor activities. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 190 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. Each room boasts breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a home cooked meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant, Wakatipu Grill, Stacks Pub, and The Lake Counter Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing