We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I wanted somewhere to escape from the queenstown madness as I am a local, the location is perfect and quiet, I surprised my partner with the booking, she was of course happy. Easy check-in/out, great options for dinner. Could not fault the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Allan B

Great review, thank you.

Keep visiting.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I had hard time getting to this place as my Gps couldn't locate the address that was given in the hotel's website. Managed to reach the hotel by asking around.

Check in was brisk but no one helped us with our luggage and it was pretty annoying as it was during normal hours.

The hotel is pretty new and looks contemporary with floor to ceiling glass panels, living room and bedroom with sliding doors. It also has a kitchenette which will be helpful if you decide to cook your own meals. There is a small cinema with in the hotel where they screen two movies per day, at 3pm and 8pm. I'm not sure if they're complimentary or chargeable though. The bed and bath were good but the living room feels cramped. We dined at Hilton's main restaurant for a discounted price ( vouchers can be purchased at the front desk) and it was good.

Overall, it was a comfortable stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Laksh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Laksh85

Thank you for your review. I am sorry the GPS coordinates did not work, I will review with the IT team to ensure all information is accurate and usable.

I was pleased that this did not had an adverse effect on your overall stay.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Good location out of town, nice rooms, free bus or $10 water taxi across to town which is handy. Thing we were caught out by was the $20 per person per day which they try and charge for using the pool in the complex.
Rooms are nice although there is a strange step into the bathrooms which is a bit of trap.
Would stay again

Stayed: January 2014
Thank SMWelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear SMWelli

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that it was not clear that there is a charge to use the pool and gym area in the Hilton. I will review this on the confirmation e mail and web sites

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Room was great. It was in front of the lake and quiet, perfect for those who want to rest. But everything else was meh. Dusty couches, far off from the main city, service is sloooow, food wasn't as good as we expected, just meh compared to the 12$ burgers and dinners we've had in the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annalee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Annalee N

Thank you for sending in your review. I was sorry to read that you found various areas not to your satisfaction.

I will review with the team to ensure we are focussed on delivering great experiences.

Thank you for the feedback

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Incredible lake view from our room... The room had a little kitchenette also which was handy. Couldn't fault the hotel at all... Very clean, great facilities (at the hilton) next door.

Recommended: book on the free shuttle early or miss out.. There is also a water taxi which is $10 per person one way but you will need to come back at 10pm. Taxi's are $50 from the town so plan ahead or consider having a designated driver if you don't want to be stung with the taxi fare

Loved he cappuccino at the hilton breakfast buffet - the little things ey :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear David R R

Great review, thank you.

I was also pleased to read you enjoyed the breakfast Cappuccino, I agree little things are important

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed three nights in a regular room (no lake view, just the mountains on the side) and we really enjoyed it. The bed was really comfortable, kitchen was well equiped, everything was clean, and we had free indoors parking that was very convenient. The wifi Internet was not free but the signal was very good. I enjoyed the location: we didn't want to be in the middle of the action in Queenstown so this was 5-6 minutes away and was perfect for us. There is also a big grocery store 3 minutes from there.

The staff was very nice and friendly. Exemple: the Internet portal encountered an error and I was charged twice. When I got to the counter, they had already noticed it and I was refunded without asking! All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NebuCad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear NebuCad

Thank you for a wonderful review. I was particularly pleased to read that the team had dealt with you issue efficiently.

Come back and try a winter visit, truly amazing

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I have very happy with my stay in this hotel, it has everything I want. It has a kitchen where you can do some simple cooking. The room is new and clean. It is only about 5 mintues driving to Queenstown, it is OK if you have a rental car. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear David L

Great review, thank you.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and even more pleased to read you will be coming back.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#26 of 59 in Queenstown
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
3,233 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#18 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £99 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes’ drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 220 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room, boasting breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing