We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
Ranked #24 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great hotel, big room with separate bedroom even though it was a bit dark. Everything you could want in kitchen area. Location a bit out of way, and a lot of steps to get down to jetty . I didn't see wheelchair access ,but I am sure it must be there, I did see two elderly ladies struggling up steps!!!!!. Would go back .

Room Tip: If you can afford a lake view room, book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterx877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Peterx877

Great review, thank you.

Definitely wheelchair access to the lake front, thanks for pointing it out

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great Hotel and great facilities loved the tranquill area Staff very friendly Stacks bar was superb enjoyed every moment of our stay here. will be back another time. southern discoveries boat trip was awesome thanks captain Turgot we enjoyed

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwifernnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Kiwifernnz

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the stay and that you will be coming back.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This place is part of the Hilton complex and is managed by the Hilton Hotels. We have stayed at the Hilton and here a couple of times. Kawarau Hotel is cheaper, and the rooms are clean and well presented. There is free car parking underground, but it's on a first come first serve basis. On our arrival on this occasion, our room wasn't yet clean, and took an hour after checkin time to be available, which wasn't great! Still, there is something nicer about the Hilton hotels, and if you want to splash out or treat yourself, head there instead!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rscoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear rscoro

Thank you for a nice review. It is great to read you have stayed before and enjoy the Hilton hotel. I agree it is nice to pay a little extra and get a different experience.

Come back soon

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed at the Hilton Hotel for Christmas last year and it was awesome. The room was beautiful, spacious, modern, equipped and with an amazing view. The stuff is friendly, the restaurants are very good and everything is there to make you happy. The only bad thing about the Hilton is the location. It has an awesome lake side view and the whole place is quiet but unfortunately is a little bit far away from Queenstown. It would have been nicer if it was closer and it would have certainly got the 10 for me, but instead it only got a 9.5 :D. I would certainly come back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Masi2014

Thanks for a great review. Sorry about the hotel being too far away from Queenstown for you. We introduced a complimentary shuttle service for guests to try and ease the distance.

Come back and try again

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel staff were not only accommodating and helpful, but easy to talk with. The room was luxurious and comfortable with a beautiful view - which is what one would expect if staying in Queenstown!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Samantha O

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the nice comments relating to our team.

Come back and see us again

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Overall I was not happy with my stay, and I would not recommend the hotel for the following reasons:

- The room was nice and clean, and new, but it was small, especially considering we upgraded to a deluxe room.

- The fact that everything cost extra lent the hotel the feel of budget hotel - the easyJet of the hotel world. However, the price was certainly not budget. You can't have it both ways!

- Charging guests to use the swimming pool is absolutely ridiculous.

- Charging for internet is just such a bad idea and leaves a bad taste in guests' mouths. It makes them look old fashioned.

- Food was ridiculously expensive! Continental breakfast was so outrageously expensive - we just drove downtown and had an enormous, delicious breakfast for less than you charge for continental breakfast. Let's not even talk about other items on the room service menu.

- The straw that broke the camel's back was charging extortionate rates for local phone calls. Nowhere did I read that it would cost me $20 to make 3 local calls of less than 1 minute. Maybe it was in the smallprint, but just because you have something written down, it doesn't make it OK. I complained to the person on front desk, and they just said it was Hilton's rules.

It's a nice place, the room was clean, and the location was good, but I would definitely not stay there again. The hotel grounds felt like a ghost town - I assume this is because no one spends anytime in the hotel for the reasons above. We wanted to have a drink in the bar on our last night, but we just couldn't face the price of the cocktails (sure to be $20), and sitting in a deserted bar devoid of all atmosphere!

I'm not the kind of person to complain really, but charging for pool, internet, expensive breakfasts, and local calls just really pissed me off, as I'm sure it will other guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DouglasHauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear DouglasHauser

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read that you felt we over charging for certain items.

The swimming Pool is not part of the Kawarau Hotel and the rate differences between the Hilton and the Kawarau reflect the added benefit of staying at the Hilton.

We charge $10 per day for the internet, which we believe to be comparable with other hotels, some charge more and some charge less and some people believe it should be free. There is a possibility that one day it will be free to guests, unfortunately it will never be free to hotels and therefore the cost will be wrapped up in the price of a room.

I agree you can get a big breakfast in town that is cheaper than ours, I have tried them and I believe our quality far outweighs any breakfast offering in Queenstown plus the trip into to town.

The phone call charges should be clearly displayed by the phone, I will check that all rooms have this displayed to ensure we do not mislead any customers.

Rest assured we take all feedback seriously as we strive to improve the service we offer to our guests.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I wanted somewhere to escape from the queenstown madness as I am a local, the location is perfect and quiet, I surprised my partner with the booking, she was of course happy. Easy check-in/out, great options for dinner. Could not fault the experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Allan B

Great review, thank you.

Keep visiting.

Kind regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queenstown hotels
0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
4.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Queenstown
Mercure Resort Queenstown
#25 of 59 in Queenstown
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
#20 of 59 in Queenstown
3,275 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
Crowne Plaza Queenstown
#19 of 59 in Queenstown
1,534 reviews
4.3 mi away
Heritage Queenstown
Heritage Queenstown
#21 of 59 in Queenstown
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#21 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range: £105 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern Queenstown hotel boasts breath-taking views of the shores of Lake Wakatipu and is situated just five minutes’ drive from Queenstown International Airport. Central Queenstown is also just minutes away via water taxi or by our complimentary shuttle service upon availability. Surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, this Queenstown hotel presents the closest hotel accommodation to The Remarkables Ski Field. Hire a hotel bicycle and explore the local sites or simply relax in the hotel's 10-seated executive cinema. The hotel also offers an ideal setting for business meetings and special events, with over 2,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space for events with up to 220 guests. Feel at home in a stylish guest room, boasting breath-taking views and modern amenities including WiFi access and an LCD TV. Prepare a meal in the fully equipped kitchenette, complete with oven, microwave and fridge/freezer, or visit our onsite eateries such as Me&Mee Chinese Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing